IHC orders federal not to interfere with the transportation of containers

lols again you are talking without knowing ground realities i sell fodders to an exporter who ships them to kuwait every week and now our shipments have stopped because of non availability of containers. so yeh contianer issue is real even during pti dharna we faced the same issue!
Then what is your solution?
Saray protesters ko goli mardain most of the people won't like it but it's most economical and my favorite solution
Thousands of police walas are deployed in Islamabad agar saray 1 fire bhi kardain dharna choro dharnay walay bhi khatam hojain ga

Let judge keep passing the orders as this is what they are good at while govt should do whatever is right to keep calm in Islamabad later do sorry in court mafi nama lol

Tumharay ghar sai akai saman laijai, u will be fine with it?
They are doing this to protect public
Containers Ghar sa nhi lagaye wo road par chaltay hain containers car ya bus sa bhi comparable nhi Hain

DC Islamabad already submit their statement in High court regarding containers and also submit documents about hiring of containers through a security firm of Lahore and FG allocated 60 Million for this purpose so in atleast Islamabad there is no confiscated containers used for blockage.

ISLAMABAD: Islamabad High Court (IHC) on Thursday directed the federal government not to obstruct lawful business of traders for maintaining public order during the Azadi march.

Chief Justice Athar Minallah issued the direction after taking up a petition filed by a private goods transport company against detaining of its containers to block roads.

He observed: “The state can only control and regulate trade for the purpose and object of ensuring safety, peace, health and good moral of public.”

Plea disposed of after chief justice was assured that traders would be compensated

The court added: “There is no regulation nor any restriction imposed by law that citizens who are engaged in lawful business can be obstructed to carry on their business or empowers the authorities to detain their containers in which commercial goods are being transported for the purpose of maintaining public order.”

Justice Minallah disposed of the petition with the observation that “in case the transportation of goods in containers by the petitioner company or any other trader have been obstructed or interfered with, they would be at liberty to approach the competent authorities for seeking compensation.”

The court also asked the federal government to nominate an authorised officer to receive complaints from traders who may have been affected on account of their fundamental right guaranteed under Article 18 of the Constitution having been violated.

Deputy Commissioner Islamabad Hamza Shafqaat informed the court in an undertaking that “no container loaded with commercial goods has been detained or obstructed within Islamabad Capital Territory.”

He said the federal government had allocated Rs60 million for maintaining public order during the Azadi march and assured the court that the traders would be compensated for detaining the containers. Justice Minallah appreciated the deputy commissioner and remarked that provincial governments should follow the same as well.

The chief justice observed that detention of containers loaded with commercial goods without the consent of the owners was a violation of Article 18 of the Constitution.

The court noted that “freedom of trade, business or profession is a right guaranteed under Article 18 of the Constitution. The constitutional provision provides that subject to such qualifications, if any, as may be prescribed by law, every citizens shall have the right to enter upon any lawful profession or occupation, and to conduct any lawful trade or business.”

The court asked the federal government to “ensure that there is no obstruction or interference with transportation of loaded containers otherwise than as provided under law.”

The court said public authorities acting on behalf of the state would ensure that the fundamental rights of the public were safeguarded.

Published in Dawn, November 1st, 2019

Govt renting 500 containers to seal off capital
Ikram JunaidiUpdated October 31, 2019
Facebook Count6
Twitter Share

5dba616a7924a.jpg

Under agreement with contractor, govt will pay for any damage or theft of containers. — Online/File
ISLAMABAD: Rather than confiscate shipping containers to seal off the city during protests, as the police did in the past, the government is renting 500 containers that will be used to seal the capital and contain the flow of participants of Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl’s (JUI-F) Azadi March.

The company providing the containers has said it won the tender to do so by submitting the lowest bid. According to the contract, the government will pay a daily rate to rent the containers and will be responsible for any damage or theft.

“Although I cannot share the per day rent of the containers since it is our business secret, I can say that all the containers are empty and can be checked by anyone. They have been placed in different places across the capital and will be there for an unlimited period. We will remove them the day we are directed by the police that the containers are not required anyone,” Rana Habibur Rehman, the owner of the logistics company M. Bilal Brothers, told Dawn.

Under agreement with contractor, govt will pay for any damage or theft of containers

He said the government floated a tender for required shipping containers and a number of companies filed bids.

“Our company has around 1,000 containers, of which 500 have been placed in the capital and the remaining are placed in various cities such as Peshawar and Lahore,” he said.

“Being a company, we have trailers, lifters and cranes, staff etc. We can place the containers anywhere in the city and shift them from one place to another. We are official contractors, so we can handle the situation comfortably and more professionally. Once the crowd is dispersed, we will remove the containers,” he added.

Mr Rehman said the containers are not insured, but under the agreement the government is responsible for paying for any damage or theft of the containers.

The Islamabad police confiscated a number of containers during PTI’s 2014 sit-in. At the time, trailer drivers protested and reached the PTI Secretariat in G-6; Imran Khan had expressed solidarity with them and condemned the confiscation of containers.

Deputed at a check-post on Faqir Aipee Road, Sabzi Mandi police official Muzaffar Ali said the police have not confiscated any containers this time.

“The government has arranged containers and all of them are empty. We are not forcing any trailer drivers to place containers,” he said.

Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Police Headquarters Mohammad Saleem said the company was hired in June according to Public Procurement Regulatory Authority rules.

“As per the agreement the per day rent of a large container will be Rs35,000 and for a small container Rs20,000. Although the company has been claiming that 500 containers have been placed in the capital, we have decided to mark all the containers because [if fewer containers are used] it will be a loss to the exchequer,” he said.

“We have not confiscated any containers and this time we have done everything as per the law,” he added.

Khurram Shahzad, an official with the logistics company in question who was on the Expressway near Iqbal Town, said he was deputed by the company to place containers in the limits of the Khanna police station.

“However, we are hearing that some containers were also confiscated by the authorities,” he said.

“The police station’s muharrar directs us from time to time to place containers at different locations, and we have been directed by the company to follow the directions,” he added.

Muzammil Shah, who was driving a trailer on which a shipping container was placed, told Dawn he would move with the containers.

“I belong to Mianwali and I have a family, but I am not worried because the company will pay me my salary even if I remain in the capital for weeks,” he said.

Another driver, Kashif Hafeez from Toba Tek Singh, said drivers spend most of their time on the road so he was not worried about staying there.

“We even sleep on the dusty ground; here at least there is grass throughout the city,” he said.

Published in Dawn, October 31st, 2019

if govt hinders containers transport it hurts export and import business which is not good for economy so it s good decision,govt can control protests without containers of businesses
Where were this decisions when PTI was marching in 2014 and government of Nawaz was using containers to block roads? Tab yad nahi aya. We all know where this is coming from, lets not give cover of rule of law that IHC and LHC have started to feel in this government.

This judge is a patent supporter of all the certified thugs and criminals.
Now that IHC and LHC have openly come up in their support to molvi fasadi and thugs, what are governments options? Can SC be reached over this?

govt can approach sc to revoke this decision it is not bigger matter for them but what bad happened in past should not be repeated again and containers never save any govt otherwise nawaz would have avoided jail and disqualification by using containers
Where were this decisions when PTI was marching in 2014 and government of Nawaz was using containers to block roads? Tab yad nahi aya. We all know where this is coming from, lets not give cover of rule of law that IHC and LHC have started to feel in this government.

Now that IHC and LHC have openly come up in their support to molvi fasadi and thugs, what are governments options? Can SC be reached over this?

Government is run by anarchists mafia who treats every bearded person as security threat and allows ethno fascists space in running of affairs in the country.

Government has pressurized every state institution to hide corruption and incompetence.

What do you mean weird decision.

It's an open and shut case, who is the Government to forcefully take away containers and properties of company causing damage to Company goods, and profits, as well as shooting itself in the foot by stoping trade.

Idiots. Tell Khan to buy his own containers. Hakoomat mein akai tou bari baatein chor raha tha: "opposition protest karai, containers hum dein gai."
Mouth runner, nothing else.

Good. Get their own containers then. It isn't the property of Government.

Oh please. Don't harp about open and shut case. For Pakistani judiciary if the evidence is looking right in to their eyes, they would still let the criminals get away with the loot, for one reason or another.
That BS looks good in a country where there is law and order and people stick to the ethics, honesty and merits in deciding cases.
Pakistan is a country where Shahbaz Butt caught red handed calling Justice Qayyum on behalf of his elder brother
Nawaz Butt, then PM of Pakistan.
2 justices got punished, lost their jobs. But nothing happened to the Butt brothers, they were allowed to loot the country further and make a mockery of the laws.
The judges were so corrupt that they purposefully decided the case on the basis of other excuses/evidence in the case, and not on the basis of the "Perjury" and "Perverting the Justice" committed by the Prime Minister and CM of Punjab province. The only reason they didn't include the phone calls purposefully in deciding their judgement because if they did, then they had to take actions against both Butt crooks.

As a result, both Butt brothers got away scott free and continued their political careers.
This could have never happened in another country. Only in Banana Republic of Pakistan.

The history repeated itself recently.

Butts, the whole cabal, including the "Princess of Darkness" Ms Safdar Awan got away with the latest episode of perverting the course of justice, by trying to bribe and threaten Judge Arshad.

Pakistani judiciary is a blot on the men's conscious, don't even try to defend them.
This Judge "Khatar min Iblees" is a biased criminal who should have never been made a judge.