High costs stall Army's plans on China border

angeldemon_007

NEW DELHI: The massive military modernization along the China border, including the setting up of the country's first Mountain Strike Corps, has run into a new hurdle with the government raising questions about the high capital expenditure involved in it.

Sources said the defence ministry has returned the Army proposal to set up the strike corps, and two independent brigades along the China border. The MoD has raised detailed queries about the high capital costs projected by Army headquarters. The Army has projected an expenditure of over Rs 12,000 crore for the entire proposal, which is part of New Delhi's efforts to catch up with China which has steadily built up outstanding military capabilities and infrastructure along the disputed Sino-Indian border.

The Army had sent the proposal to the MoD sometime in early 2010, for putting it up to the Cabinet Committee on Security for approval. In April, the PM had offered all government support for Army modernization along the China border during a presentation to him by the Army top brass. The Army leadership appraised the PM about the overwhelming capabilities of the People's Liberation Army along the border with India during the presentation.

Despite the PM's assurance, the MoD has now raised questions about the Army's assessment of Rs 12,000 crore needed to set up the new formations, and sent back the file to Army headquarters. "The concern is about the high capital expenditure projected by Army headquarters," senior sources said.

The Army proposes to set up the country's first Mountain Strike Corps and two independent brigades along the border with China. The corps would be India's fourth strike corps, and the first one for dedicated offensive operations in mountainous terrain. This is besides the two mountain divisions already being raised along the China border.

One of the independent brigades is to be stationed in Ladakh while the other would be based in Uttarakhand. The proposed corps could be headquartered at Pannagarh in West Bengal, a recent report said.

Sources said once the Army headquarters replies to the MoD query and other clarifications are settled, the file would be processed for final approval. "We are hopeful that it can be cleared this financial year," a senior source said.

Since the humiliating defeat in 1962, India has been on an extremely defensive posture along the China border, including a deliberate decision not to develop border infrastructure. In the process, as New Delhi stood by, China built up an impressive border infrastructure and capability to mobilize almost 500,000 troops in a matter of a few weeks to the Line of Actual Control with India.

High costs stall Army's plans on China border - The Times of India

I think the Indian Army is trying to scare the Indian Government into taking some action.

While the government is tight-lipped about the presentation, the military brass told the PM that Chinese PLA has acquired the capability to deploy 34 troop divisions (one division has 23,000 troops) along the LAC in case of a high threat scenario by pulling out troops from Chengdu and Lanzhou military regions. When compared to the Indian strength of nine holding divisions along the northern borders, the PLA with a defence budget estimated at $150 billion holds overwhelming advantage.

Army warning to PM: China can deploy half-a-million troops on LAC - Express India

we got slapped in 1962 because we were unprepared put at least 300,000 reserve troops and 12 air force squadrons in the NE to deter any monkey business as long as we are prepared we won't get punked again hell just go for a north eastern command for IAF and IA but this monkey underfunded bureaucracy will take some time to deal with army's proposal

These a**holes... I mean the 2g corruption was alone around 40 billion $ worth and these a**holes can't spare around 2-3 billion $ so as to protect this country ? I mean why these idiots don't think that if we won't have the country how are they going to rule. Congress should think like they will lose a state to rule. I mea n they take the election more serious than national security.

Rome was not build in a single day, chinese have devoted huge funds for their defence for last two decades and even this day they spends US$ 150 billion per year on the other hand our politicians and babus neglected defense for last 2 decades and even this day they are not ready to listen to reasonable voices.

We need to kept a defense modernization budget of US$ 20 billion per year for next ten years to safeguard our country and its interests and also to play bigger role in world arena.

we got slapped in 1962 because we were unprepared put at least 300,000 reserve troops and 12 air force squadrons in the NE to deter any monkey business as long as we are prepared we won't get punked again hell just go for a north eastern command for IAF and IA but this monkey underfunded bureaucracy will take some time to deal with army's proposal

So funny, you guys always use 1962 war as excuse to built up the military in Chinese border. One thing for sure Indian military will never satisfy with the built up..wait until Chinese strategic transportation core is form with Y-20 as main transporters, then we can pick and deliver any military division from any location to Tibet within 24 hrs or even less if start with Chendu military region.

well why not since you guys are belligerent and hellbent on attacking us first we were stabbed in the back in 1962 however in 1967 when we were prepared the result was different a military build up against a belligerent neighbor is justified besides we are just beefing up defenses this is just the tip of the iceberg broski

and wtf is Y-20? we are getting C-130J, C-17, and the HAL MTA transport aircraft we already have a good heavy lift capability that is greatly expanding

well why not since you guys are belligerent and hellbent on attacking us first we were stabbed in the back in 1962 however in 1967 when we were prepared the result was different a military build up against a belligerent neighbor is justified besides we are just beefing up defenses this is just the tip of the iceberg broski

and wtf is Y-20? we are getting C-130J, C-17, and the HAL MTA transport aircraft we already have a good heavy lift capability that is greatly expanding

I'm not gonna debat again of 62's war:hitwall:...and about 67??? --> I don't have reccord but most likely PLA soldiers sit on other side of fence were eating icecream and watching BOLLYWOOD movies...

and yes Y-20 is our "DREAM" strategic transportion..still on paper I guess...but it doesn't matter, i can still bring it up for discussion:D

Y-20.jpg

I'm not gonna debat again of 62's war:hitwall:...and about 67??? --> I don't have reccord but most likely PLA soldiers sit on other side of fence were eating icecream and watching BOLLYWOOD movies...

and yes Y-20 is our "DREAM" strategic transportion..still on paper I guess...but it doesn't matter, i can still bring it up for discussion:D

Y-20.jpg

notice how there hasn't been a repeat of 1962 because we learned and are prepared now so i guess 1962 was a wake up call for us it also resulted in us making nukes but w.e... Chola Incident read about it ;)

these transport aircraft can carry 100 troops more or less how you plan to airlift divisions in 24 hours?

800px-Hal_MRTA.JPG

notice how there hasn't been a repeat of 1962 because we learned and are prepared now so i guess 1962 was a wake up call for us it also resulted in us making nukes but w.e... Chola Incident read about it ;)

these transport aircraft can carry 100 troops more or less how you plan to airlift divisions in 24 hours?

You really believe that gonna deter China from repeating 62's with India's build up? Believe me if India is trying to implement the forward policy again...then there will be another 62's war...you can gamble that the Evil China will be defeated this time :D

by the way..nice airplane..sound like Antonov to me.

You really believe that gonna deter China from repeating 62's with India's build up? Believe me if India is trying to implement the forward policy again...then there will be another 62's war...you can gamble that the Evil China will be defeated this time :D

by the way..nice airplane..sound like Antonov to me.

this isn't a military build up we are just boosting defenses, if you are thinking India will attack first into Chinese territory you are a crazy person our policy is defense, and ask yourself why China has not been able to pull of a 1962 on us again? i'll answer for you it is because we are prepared this time, 1967 is an example of this and that forward policy was created by the pacifist naive Nehru's gov't like i said we learned from our mistakes

and its actually a JV between Ilyushin and HAL