Hazare's team making a mockery of our democracy

You feel Hazare is a foolish village idiot?

He is an Army Naik, who when discharged from service voluntarily, spent his own savings and gratuity to uplift his village Ralegan Siddhi, which was a barren area into a cultivators' delight.

He has campaigned relentlessly against corruption in his own state of Maharastra.

Therefore, it would be wrong to feel that he is merely a village idiot.

Let us look at this issue dispassionately.

Are we for or against corruption?

If we are to fight corruption, which has reached a zenith, what is the answer?

Wait till the Parliament passes a Bill?

If that is so, then how is it that even after 42 years, the Bill has not been tabled even though much has been said and little done?

Today, all the inquiries and action that we see against the major scams in our country is because of the activism of the Supreme Court. But will we get a Chief Justice like Kapadia again? What if we have thieves like ex CJI Balakrishnan, who is actually a Christian but but took advantage of pretending to be an SC and who has assets disproportionate to his income?

Hazare's intellect maybe questionable, and that is why there are lawyers to include Justice Hedge, Magasaysay Award winner, Kejriwal and so on, whose intellect cannot be doubted.

On the other hand, the Ministers on the Panel, eminent that they are in their fields, are hardly icons of honesty and having tenacity of purpose.

One by one, the so call civil society representatives are being subjected to a smear campaign.

The answer is simple.

If there is a tough Lokpal Bill, crooked politicians will be a thing of the past and without being crooks it is difficult to win elections since you have to have money and muscle power and an honest income hardly allows a person to save his 'deposit'.

That is why honest people like Capt Gopinath, Mrs Sanyal (the Head of the ABN Amro) etc lost their election.

Democracy is the only answer to live like a free man and tough laws ensures a vibrant democracy so that no one can steal this freedom from the people.

Have you heard him speaking? Village idiot may be too harsh, but certainly he does not have the intellect to understand the nuances of drafting a bill which will fight corruption. I agree that he has earned goodwill of people by doing wonderful work, and will have a positive influence on the team.

What is special about being army lance naik?

I am not saying anybody has to be intelligent of highly educated to fight corruption. We all should do. He deserves the credit for doing what he has done.

The manner in which he did the whole fight is questionable. Govt relented because it had no option. But please dont tell me it is will of people. The only will of people that is statistically proven is through ballot box. Rest all( including Raj thakrey's goons) are will of a section of people.

Everybody is against corruption, but one cannot undermine the democratic process to fight corruption. It will hurt everybody in long run.

I am against judicial activism too. It is encroaching upon sovereignty of parliament. The problem with having too powerful judiciary/army/lokpal/cbi/raw is they are not accountable. You cannot change them if they turn out to be bad, every 5 years. It is nearly impossible to change a bad supreme court judge now, even if you know he is corrupt. Nearly 3 ministers have resigned just on the allegation of corruption.

Take the case of bhushan duo. Even if it is smear campaign against them(lets agree for sake of argument, but credible people have written against them in newspapers since long), propriety demands that they resign from team, and help from outside.
But you see all so called eminent civil society ganging up, and supporting them. Why not apply same rule that has been applied for ministers.
Just because we have different perception about ministers they need to pay, and others can get away?

Sorry to ask you this, but it appears that you know a Politician and on his behalf you are trying to spread rumors about Lokpal bill so that it does not get passed. None of your points make any sense and the Sharma is definitely paid by congress.

I have to digress here. I agree with Desioptimist's pov. One needs to think critically before we all celebrate this 'phyrric' victory.

It is indeed a shame that a group of civilians bypass the 'chain of command', if I may, their elected representatives and hold higher ups at ransom. Make no mistake, I am all for the Lokpal bill, but this method of getting the government to bow down to 'people's wishes' is downright mockery of the democratic system. We pride ourselves on being a democracy, then why are we celebrating its subversion? Like ML Sharma says, there is indeed "no alternative to electing better leaders and making them accountable."

Instead of getting our elected reps to talk or act on our behalf, people subverted the system to achieve their goals. This is nothing but Anarchy. Its not that India or her laws cannot deals with corruption, its the enforcement of those laws that is the problem. Why create another bureaucratic behemoth when we already know how the babus function?

Talk of Lok Pal Bill is making politicians in their pants, just like unprepared students react when they hear the announcement of exam days.

Instead of getting our elected reps to talk or act on our behalf, people subverted the system to achieve their goals. This is nothing but Anarchy. Its not that India or her laws cannot deals with corruption, its the enforcement of those laws that is the problem. Why create another bureaucratic behemoth when we already know how the babus function?
Lesson has been learnt.
Coming june, you would see a fresh wave on nationwide movement, a wave that would be much stronger that we saw last time.
And this time, everything will be done with proper planning.
We underestimated bad people this time, but as I said, lesson has been learnt.

---------- Post added at 11:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:56 PM ----------

Talk of Lok Pal Bill is making politicians in their pants, just like unprepared students react when they hear the announcement of exam days.

Bakre ki amma kab tak khair manaegi.

We point out finger to politicians, but we don't realise that three fingers are towards our own self. The difference is they have CHANCE, but we haven't.
Everybody in his/her life must have done something that was ethically or legally wrong. Something that should not have been done.
But that doesn't mean we are corrupt or we dont love our motherland.
I wont talk about others. I will talk about myself. I myself have spent time into Tihar jail for cheating charges. But that doesn't mean i dont love my country.
Those who say Bhushans should resign only because in their past, they might have done something that was not ethical. I dont agree with this.
Yes they might have done something that an ideal honest person should not do, but that doesnt mean they dont have good intentions today.
Im not giving any clean chit to Bhushans, but i do believe what they are doing today, they are doing only for the good of this country, and for that I will support them.
Our goal should be to somehow get this Jan Lokpal bill passed in the parliament, and till that is not done, we shouldnt let our attention get diverted.
After-all, this is what the bad people want.

Have you heard him speaking? Village idiot may be too harsh, but certainly he does not have the intellect to understand the nuances of drafting a bill which will fight corruption. I agree that he has earned goodwill of people by doing wonderful work, and will have a positive influence on the team.

I wonder if educational degrees are the sign of intellect.

Quite a few of our politicians are practically illiterates and yet they are taken to be the 'voice of the people'

What is special about being army lance naik?

What is special is that he would have got a pittance in pension and gratuity. Yet, he spent all that to uplift is village. How many of us are so selfless?

Sachin Tendulkar earns in crores, and he is an icon, has he given anything to charity? Yes, he has lent his name to charities, but his own money?

That is the difference.

Genuine concern for helping the people.

I am not saying anybody has to be intelligent of highly educated to fight corruption. We all should do. He deserves the credit for doing what he has done.

The manner in which he did the whole fight is questionable. Govt relented because it had no option. But please dont tell me it is will of people. The only will of people that is statistically proven is through ballot box. Rest all( including Raj thakrey's goons) are will of a section of people.

What is the manner which is questionable?

Govt did not have to relent?

Govt was not ready to do so, till they read the tea leaves. When they saw the groundswell of anger amongst the Indian people, they realised that in votes they will come a cropper next time around. So, they scurried to save their bacon. Did you not observe the difference in the facial expression of the Cheshire Cat Kapil Sibal?

Everybody is against corruption, but one cannot undermine the democratic process to fight corruption. It will hurt everybody in long run.

What is the democratic process that has been subverted or undermined?

They are only drafting a Bill. It does not mean that it is the law.

It will be Law if only it is passed in the Parliament.

Therefore, democracy is alive and kicking.

However, what irks the politicians and the business houses and chaps like Amar Singh, is that if the law is tough, then they will not be able to get rich quick or manipulate the system to their and their families advantage or fill the coffers of their family fortunes,

I am against judicial activism too. It is encroaching upon sovereignty of parliament. The problem with having too powerful judiciary/army/lokpal/cbi/raw is they are not accountable. You cannot change them if they turn out to be bad, every 5 years. It is nearly impossible to change a bad supreme court judge now, even if you know he is corrupt. Nearly 3 ministers have resigned just on the allegation of corruption.

How is the sovereignty of the Parliament encroached.

Are bill drafted by Parliamentarians or by the bureaucracy or by special committees set up?

What is Sonia Gandhi's National Advisory Council? Part of the Parliament?

What about Sam Pitroda and the IT policy that he has drafted and implemented? Part of the Parliament?

Why do you think the Police Reform Bill that aimed at taking away the power of the politicians to influence promotions and posting still not passed? Police out of their hands means they will become impotent!!

In so far as not being able to change the Parliament, the electoral reforms are addressing the issue of
'recall' of useless Parliamentarians by the constituents. Do you think such a bill will ever be passed by the Parliament?

Have you seen the 14 drafts of the Jan Lokpal Bill? What makes you feel that the Lok Pal shall be supreme? Can anything be more supreme than the Parliament and the Supreme Court?

Three Ministers resigned. Who are they? Raja had no options. Did you notice the fraud that Kapil Sibal tried to state that there was no loss to the exchequer? That means an independent body like the CAG is bogus, the Supreme Court is bogus and old Cheshire Cat is the only one who is correct. If he is indeed correct then, why is Raja where he is?

Take the case of bhushan duo. Even if it is smear campaign against them(lets agree for sake of argument, but credible people have written against them in newspapers since long), propriety demands that they resign from team, and help from outside.

Bhushans are not Lok Pals and have immense experience from the PILs they have fought over they years. They have drafted the Bill and so they will have to thrash it out with the Committee that has four Ministers of the five who are eminent lawyers. You can't change horses midstream.

Did you see the news today? Digvijay singh, the small time Raja of MP, has attacked Justice Hegde. He said that Hegde could not do anything in Karnataka as a Lokpal and undertook a smear campaign against him. The poor man Digvijay Singh is so definite in intelligence and logic failed to realise that it is for the very reason why he is on the Committee so that the Lokpal gets some teeth through this Bill.

You bring anyone on board and he will be will be at the receiving end of a smear campaign run by the Congress Party politicians and their business friends who prop up their finances through illegal funds.

The aim is to derail the drafting of the Bill and let it go beyond the date set with such fanfare by Moily, the Law Minister. You think Moily is clean? Many years back he was involved in what was called the 'Moily tapes'!

No one is clean. Only God is. Sadly, God cannot be coopted to draft this Bill.

Even if Mahatma Gandhi was on this Committee, he too would be subject to a smear campaign because after all, he is human.

But you see all so called eminent civil society ganging up, and supporting them. Why not apply same rule that has been applied for ministers.
Just because we have different perception about ministers they need to pay, and others can get away?

Which Minister has paid? Raja? He was nabbed red handed.

Every other Minister has escaped and so have bureaucrats!

Balwa will sing, if the CBI inquires correctly. Heard of the Stamp Duty case and Telgi? As the court was about to finalise the verdict, the Judge has been transferred! So, the whole story will start again and it will take another 6 years. You talk of democratic institutions being subverted? I say, the very concept of democracy is being subverted, violated and crushed underfoot by the very custodians of democracy in which you lay so much of faith!

You may well say honest people should stand for elections and clean the system, They have stood and lost. The reason is that you require money and goon (muscle) power and no honest man can afford to spend since he does not have the money and no honest person should have goons!

I am sure you must have heard what Kumaraswamy, the ex CM of Karnataka said. He spoke the truth and so the vested interest came down on him like a ton of bricks!

I believe in democracy and this rape of democracy under the cloak of 'saving democracy' is not the democracy that I think is what is meant by democracy.

However, I would surely be delighted with any means to save our democracy since the very institutions of democracy has has been ruined. I wonder if you heard what the Chief Justice of India, Justice Kapadia had to say.

No politician, be it from any party, will want the Lok Pal bill. Be it the Congress or the BJP or any other. It is like they would be committing suicide!

Have you noticed that they are using third parties like Amar Singh and one Vinit Narayan and the Hindustan Times chamcha of an editor?

Is the BJP up in arms as they usually are?

Any political party is up in arms?

If you check the assets declared in the one before the last election and the last election, you will find that some MPs have trebled their assets in 5 years and it is in multiple of crores.

Check Jaganmohan Reddy's, son of YSR, asset declaration.

Guess why all sorts of excuses are being trotted out for not getting to the bottom of the black money in Swiss Banks?

Why have they suddenly taken interest in the Hassan Ali's case and yet playing tricks so that nothing incriminating comes out?

Hassan Ali's overseas bank accounts were known years ago and the ED had filed cases, but nothing was done. Guess why?

If you check the assets declared in the one before the last election and the last election, you will find that some MPs have trebled their assets in 5 years and it is in multiple of crores.

Check Jaganmohan Reddy's, son of YSR, asset declaration.

Guess why all sorts of excuses are being trotted out for not getting to the bottom of the black money in Swiss Banks?

Why have they suddenly taken interest in the Hassan Ali's case and yet playing tricks so that nothing incriminating comes out?

Hassan Ali's overseas bank accounts were known years ago and the ED had filed cases, but nothing was done. Guess why?

Incase you missed this video...

I wonder if educational degrees are the sign of intellect.

Quite a few of our politicians are practically illiterates and yet they are taken to be the 'voice of the people'

What is special is that he would have got a pittance in pension and gratuity. Yet, he spent all that to uplift is village. How many of us are so selfless?

Sachin Tendulkar earns in crores, and he is an icon, has he given anything to charity? Yes, he has lent his name to charities, but his own money?

That is the difference.

Genuine concern for helping the people.

What is the manner which is questionable?

Govt did not have to relent?

Govt was not ready to do so, till the read the tea leaves. When they saw the groundswell of anger amongst the Indian people, they realised that in votes they will come a cropper next time around. So, they scurried to save their bacon. Did you not observe the difference in the facial expression of the Cheshire Cat Kapil Sibal?

What is the democratic process that has been subverted or undermined?

They are only drafting a Bill. It does not mean that it is the law.

It will be Law if only it is passed in the Parliament.

Therefore, democracy is alive and kicking.

However, what irks the politicians and the business houses and chaps like Amar Singh, is that if the law is tough, then they will not be able to get rich quick or manipulate the system to their and their families advantage or fill the coffers of their family fortunes,

How is the sovereignty of the Parliament encroached.

Are bill drafted by Parliamentarians or by the bureaucracy or by special committees set up?

What is Sonia Gandhi's National Advisory Council? Part of the Parliament?

What about Sam Pitroda and the IT policy that he has drafted and implemented? Part of the Parliament?

In so far as not being able to change the Parliament, the electoral reforms are addressing the issue of
'recall' of useless Parliamentarians by the constituents. Do you think such a bill will ever be passed by the Parliament?

Have you seen the 14 drafts of the Jan Lokpal Bill? What makes you feel that the Lok Pal shall be supreme? Can anything be more supreme than the Parliament and the Supreme Court?

Three Ministers resigned. Who are they? Raja had no options. Did you notice the fraud that Kapil Sibal tried to state that there was no loss to the exchequer? That means an independent body like the CAG is bogus, the Supreme Court is bogus and old Cheshire Cat is the only one who is correct. If he is indeed correct then, why is Raja where he is?

Bhushans are not Lok Pals and have immense experience from the PILs they have fought over they years. They have drafted the Bill and so they will have to thrash it out with the Committee that has four Ministers of the five who are eminent lawyers. You can't change horses midstream.

Did you see the news today? Digvijay singh, the small time Raja of MP, has attacked Justice Hegde. He said that Hegde could not do anything in Karnataka as a Lokpal and undertook a smear campaign against him. The poor man Digvijay Singh is so definite in intelligence and logic failed to realise that it is for the very reason why he is on the Committee so that the Lokpal gets some teeth through this Bill.

You bring anyone on board and he will be will be at the receiving end of a smear campaign run by the Congress Party politicians and their business friends who prop up their finances through illegal funds.

The aim is to derail the drafting of the Bill and let it go beyond the date set with such fanfare by Moily, the Law Minister. You think Moily is clean? Many years back he was involved in what was called the 'Moily tapes'!

No one is clean. Only God is. Sadly, God cannot be coopted to draft this Bill.

Even if Mahatma Gandhi was on this Committee, he too would be subject to a smear campaign because after all, he is human.

Which Minister has paid? Raja? He was nabbed red handed.

Every other Minister has escaped and so have bureaucrats!

Balwa will sing, if the CBI inquires correctly. Heard of the Stamp Duty case and Telgi? As the court was about to finalise the verdict, the Judge has been transferred! So, the whole story will start again and it will take another 6 years. You talk of democratic institutions being subverted? I say, the very concept of democracy is being subverted, violated and crushed underfoot by the very custodians of democracy in which you lay so much of faith!

You may well say honest people should stand for elections and clean the system, They have stood and lost. The reason is that you require money and goon (muscle) power and no honest man can afford to spend since he does not have the money and no honest person should have goons!

I am sure you must have heard what Kumaraswamy, the ex CM of Karnataka said. He spoke the truth and so the vested interest came down on him like a ton of bricks!

I believe in democracy and his rape of democracy under the cloak of 'saving democracy' is not the democracy that I think is what is meant by democracy.

However, I would surely be delighted with any means to save our democracy since the very institutions of democracy has has been ruined. I wonder if you heard what the Chief Justice of India, Justice Kapadia had to say.

Yes, there is high degree of correlation between your education and intellect. One can have excellent common sense, and be street smart without education, but a human endeavor of high complexity requires adequate education in this age.
You very well understand what I mean when I said he lacks in that capability, however I conceded that due to his track record in fighting corruption, he may have good influence on team.
If you have any doubt about whether he is capable of debating with others regarding nuances of a bill, please hear him speak.

A minister or MP, who is illiterate have army of people to explain, draft and redraft and many more people to discuss in parliament. An illiterate can be elected as MP, there is nothing wrong in that, because he represents the people, Anna Hazare does not. Dont show me candle march to show support of people. The only method is ballot. The same reason I do not accept Gilani to be representative of kashmiri people.

However if you want to bring unelected specialist in a field to help draft policy documents, we should know their credentials. Especially those who basically gatecrashed and appointed themselves as part of a committee.

I would have oppsed pitroda if either
1. He had no known background in which he was asked to help, govt needed to explain why it would need help from such people.
2. Pitroda blackmailed govt into appoint him as person who would draft IT policy.

There are other things like constant shifting of goal post during the fast campaign. I am more scared of non corrupt self righteous men who does not listen to others, than a corrupt man.

The issue of recalling parliamentarian is not adequately discussed. Why do you think it is good? Are you saying there is a consensus around it, and govt is not listening?

I am not against fighting corruption, but against the way it is being fought. I am more about policy, process, method than heroism, sacrifice, crusade.
In any complex and large project heroism hardly changes the outcome, it may make things worse.

A super power lokpal is not a good idea at all. Why is it being made the be all and end all. If he does not have super power he can be subverted too, so what is special about him.

One thing you guys fail to understand is, its not because of Anna Hazare that this bill is seeing light. Its because of people of India who came out to streets to support him. We elect our leaders to do good for our society. Yet the same leaders have been postponing (in some cases opposing ) the lokpal bill for 42 years. I am sorry this is not a subversion of democracy but upholding of the same. There could be procedures in Parliament but none of them is greater than will of the people. Our constitution allows bandhs in our society to show opposition. I think what Anna Hazare did was much better than that. There was no bloodshed, property loss,none.

Yes, there is high degree of correlation between your education and intellect. One can have excellent common sense, and be street smart without education, but a human endeavor of high complexity requires adequate education in this age.
You very well understand what I mean when I said he lacks in that capability, however I conceded that due to his track record in fighting corruption, he may have good influence on team.
If you have any doubt about whether he is capable of debating with others regarding nuances of a bill, please hear him speak.

A minister or MP, who is illiterate have army of people to explain, draft and redraft and many more people to discuss in parliament. An illiterate can be elected as MP, there is nothing wrong in that, because he represents the people, Anna Hazare does not. Dont show me candle march to show support of people. The only method is ballot. The same reason I do not accept Gilani to be representative of kashmiri people.

However if you want to bring unelected specialist in a field to help draft policy documents, we should know their credentials. Especially those who basically gatecrashed and appointed themselves as part of a committee.

1. He had no known background in which he was asked to help, govt needed to explain why it would need help from such people.
2. Pitroda blackmailed govt into appoint him as person who would draft IT policy.

There are other things like constant shifting of goal post during the fast campaign. I am more scared of non corrupt self righteous men who does not listen to others, than a corrupt man.

The issue of recalling parliamentarian is not adequately discussed. Why do you think it is good? Are you saying there is a consensus around it, and govt is not listening?

I am not against fighting corruption, but against the way it is being fought. I am more about policy, process, method than heroism, sacrifice, crusade.
In any complex and large project heroism hardly changes the outcome, it may make things worse.

A super power lokpal is not a good idea at all. Why is it being made the be all and end all. If he does not have super power he can be subverted too, so what is special about him.

Well for one thing, man was willing to die for India..So what were you doing again? What were your nethas doing?

Do you understand and speak Marathi?

If you do, then you might as well listen to him and then judge.

Education and intellect go hand in hand?

Have you heard Digvijay Singh, Mamta Bannerjee, Rahul Gandhi, Pratibha Patil?

The civic body is composed of experts to help Anna Hazare.

Anna Hazare is but only an icon - the focus of national ire.

As I have been saying all along, getting elected is not a sign that he is the representative of the people. There are many ways to get elected. Use it correctly and one can get elected. Ask Pappu Yadav or Gawli.

Compare him to Lally Pershad.

The educated know the credential. This might help about Anna Hazare since you feel he is an illiterate and knows nothing:
Short Biography of Anna Hazare – Story of Army Driver becoming the Father of Nation Bigger than Bharat Ratna

Check his selflessness, his fight against corruption irrespective of the political party in power, and his awards including international one. A village idiot cannot be just recognised because he is a village idiot and nothing more!

If they had gatecrashed, would anyone bother if they were not recognised by the masses? Many people go on hunger strike, but how many bother about such people? Yet, Anna Hazare mobilised the Nation. Saw the TV? Well, let us assume that he had gatecrashed. The nation too gatecrashed with him!

No one blackmailed the Govt. The Nation blackmailed the Govt and the politicians who have blackmailing the Nation all through.

Just because you have not heard of Anna Hazare, Justice Hegde, the Bhusans, the Magsaysay Award winner Kejriwal, it does not mean that the Nation shared your knowledge deficit.

To be frank, they did not require the Govt to inform about their credentials. The nation knew about them, at least those who were in the know of their activities and the Nation appears to have known.

Was Sam Pitroda known?

Rajiv Gandhi made him known.

Are you aware that his name is Satyanarayan Gangaram Pitroda?

Do let us know of the 'shifting goal posts'.

If you are scared of self righteous non corrupt chaps, then you would have been equally scared of Mahatma Gandhi. He was also a self righteous non corrupt chap.

Telgi, Hussain Ali, Koda, Shibu Soren, Pappu Yadav, Gawli are corrupt chaps. They should be safe bet for you to leave the governance of the Nation to them!

Guess!

With the rampant corruption around, we, Indians are magnanimous chaps and so let them have a rollicking time for 5 years to feather their nest!

You are merely using words.

Please explain each the way you think each should be implemented to fight corruption. It means nothing I am more for A, B....

Good point.

There are Lokpals in some States.

Have they been successful?

Are you aware that they cannot investigate politicians as per the Lok Pal Bills in vogue in those States and that no bureaucrat can be prosecuted unless the Govt gives the clearance, which the Govt never does since it will open a can of worms and the Ministers and politicians will be exposed?