Happy Raam Navmi to all

Ravan is supposed to become one of the next Jain Thirthankar! Whats his story before the curse?

Dont know much but Ravana was Jai who was one of the dudes who was a security person in Vishnu's Bungalow i.e Vaikuntha. He along with another of his colleague stopped the Rishi and the Rishi got angered and cursed them.

thank god i am born is kalyug else these sages would have cursed me every third day........... especially the kind of relations i have served with my teachers I am sure i would have broken all records of getting cursed.:lol:

In hinduism it is somthing like newtons third law like soul cannot be created nor destroyed total no of sould remain constant but they change from one body to another.

As per the deeds done by one person after his death his fate is decided there is a time frame in which he is sent to heaven and hell according to his deeds. But after completion of his time there he has to come back to earth to continue up with his course as a living forms. This cycle continues till one does not achieve nirvana or moksha where your sould gets to the ultimate being. your deeds from the past life follow you and your deeds in present life will follow you in next life.

Like there are people which are too smart since the start and dont have to work way around. As per hinduism these are people whose souls have grown up to be smart.

but sometime people question why dont we remember things from past life. Bhai ek life ki tension sambhalti nahi hai pichle 100 life ki tension de di to kya hoga. :lol:

:)

Expanding on Adwitiya's post a bit

The concept of Judgement day in Hinduism is a little different. Its not a one time activity but a cycle which Adwitiya refered to earlier.. Begins with Satya Yug where every one is pure of body and mind followed by Treta yuga,Dwapara yuga and then Kali Yuga, and each subsequent Yuga is a little worse that before.. Throughout these, God sends His avataars to Earth to erradicate evil when it grows beyond a given threshold (the assigned tasks that were talked about earlier in this thread)..

"Yada Yada Hi Dharmasya Glanir Bhavati Bharata, Abhyuthanam Adharmasya Tadatmanam Srijami Aham". Bhagavad Gita (Chapter IV-7)

"Whenever there is decay of righteousness O! Bharatha And a rise of unrighteousness then I manifest Myself!"

This threashold of tolerence for evil grows higher and higher in each subsequent Yuga. Hence you see lesser number of avaatars in subsequent yugas.. 4 is satya, 3 in Treta, and 1 each in Dwapara and Kali Yuga. The 10th avaatar will actually result in destruction of all life and recycle back to the begining of Satya Yuga.

Not really, these are as you mentioned just sects. However there are more specific sects which try to relate humans and living beings to Brahman. They are:
1. Advaita
2. Dwaita
3. Vishishtadwaita

Please ellaborate... so how do they relate to the divinity of shiva and vishnu in terms of vaishnavs and shivaites. please enlighten

As for Shiva and Vishnu, they don't come in the picture at all. These are concepts directly related to the Super Conscious/Brahman. Unfortunately I cannot explain as I myself dont know much about them....they are very complex and extremely difficult to comprehend. Atleast I found them to be difficult. Only thing I know is that:
1 Adi Shankaracharya's teachings are based on Advaita.
2. Shri Madhvacharya teachings are based on Dvaita.
3. Shri Ramanuja's teachings are based on Vishishtadvaita.
However, I do realize that people often associate Advaita with Shaivism, Vishishtadvaita with Vaishnavism and Shakta with Dvaita which according to me is incorrect. But this is based on my understanding and I might be wrong.

As for Shiva and Vishnu, they don't come in the picture at all. These are concepts directly related to the Super Conscious/Brahman. Unfortunately I cannot explain as I myself dont know much about them....they are very complex and extremely difficult to comprehend. Atleast I found them to be difficult. Only thing I know is that:
1 Adi Shankaracharya's teachings are based on Advaita.
2. Shri Madhvacharya teachings are based on Dvaita.
3. Shri Ramanuja's teachings are based on Vishishtadvaita.
However, I do realize that people often associate Advaita with Shaivism, Vishishtadvaita with Vaishnavism and Shakta with Dvaita which according to me is incorrect. But this is based on my understanding and I might be wrong.

Same here mate. Actually i tried avoiding advaita dvaita and other because i had doubts about that. But at the end they are related to vaishnavs and all. SO actually i tried to as simple as possible.

Hinduism is quite complex. even the astronomical values and astrological figures are very complicated when the time is divided into kalp mahavrata, mahakalps.

Mahakalp is the biggest unit of time present in whole of this world.

all are Hindu god are are part of same devine power 'para brahman'...

Ramayan mention that ,,Rama (the avatar of vishnu) was the devotee of Shiva...he establish Shiva temple before conquering Lanka...he establishished Ramanathaswamy Temple of shiva in Rameswaram which means 'lord of Ram'

It is also mentioned that Shiva also worships Ram ,,Hanuman the avatar of Shiva,,was no doubtedly the biggest devotee of Rama

thank god i am born is kalyug else these sages would have cursed me every third day........... especially the kind of relations i have served with my teachers I am sure i would have broken all records of getting cursed.:lol:

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

good discussion going on..will contribute something tomorrow (if not closed by mods)...

:)

God sends His avataars to Earth to erradicate evil when it grows beyond a given threshold

first of all, thanks for elaborating on this. now the question arises, why does God have to send His Avatar to eradicate evil when it grows beyond a given threshold? i mean He is the ultimate power, so why does He even create evil (if He is the creator of everything) at first place.

See the thing is god never influnces us to do something good or bad. It is the choice which we make. as i gave the example for nuclear power in the other post. god gives power to both good and bad because both of them are his beloved sons. But when the good guy uses the same power to make energy and the bad guy uses it make bombs and threatens good guys then god has to take sides to maintain the balance of nature.

who can forget those days when you were a small boy of 6 or 7 and you were sitting next to more than 9 girls God! and then being served the halwa and chane with puri as if you were truly hanuman God i wish they could compromise a bit with the age.