Govt eyes over $12 billion remittances

Devil Soul

Govt eyes over $12 billion remittances
By: APP | January 24, 2012
ISLAMABAD - The country has received an average of $1.054 billion per month so far during the first six months of the current financial year (2011-2012) as workers remittances from abroad.

“If this healthy trend continues during the remaining half of the current financial year then the target of $12 billion would certainly be surpassed”, Rana Asad Amin, spokesman of Ministry of Finance told APP here on Monday. The spokesman said that the amount of remittances sent home by Pakistanis living abroad crossed the `billion dollar’ mark yet again during the month of December 2011.

Last month, he said overseas Pakistanis sent home $1.085 billion, providing a vital boost to the economy. Rana Asad Amin further said that in the comparison, the amount of remittances received during December 2010 was lower by a significant 25.75 per cent, however the monthly average of workers’ remittances has remained above the $1 billion mark since March, 2011.

“The $1.085 billion that arrived last month maintained the momentum that has been built up since March 2011”, he remarked. The spokesman added that the remittances made up a sizeable portion of the GDP of Pakistan. “It is one of the major components of non-debt-creating inflows that increase consumption liquidity in our economy”, he remarked.

Remittances, he said, also impact the health of the Current Account of the Balance of Payments.

They build the country’s foreign exchange reserves and thereby lend stability to the Exchange Rate. In addition, he said, foreign exchange coming in as remittances is viewed with a more positive eye in comparison to funds being lent from International Financial Institutions (IFIs). Remittances, he further explained contribute to our economic sovereignty since this source of foreign exchange is not linked with strings or conditionalities and is not in the form of loans. The high inflow of remittances, he said owes itself to some important policy measures taken by the government.

He highlighted that the foremost in this regard is the `Pakistan Remittances Initiative’ (PRI), which was designed to remove barriers to the flow of remittances and improve access to banking facilities to overseas Pakistanis and their families.

“This joint effort of Ministry of Finance, State Bank of Pakistan, and Ministry of Overseas Pakistanis is an efficient, transparent, and reliable transaction system that has proved its effectiveness”, he remarked.

The second major factor, he said was the increase in the amount of remittances is the increasing number of Pakistanis going abroad for work. According to the Bureau of Emigration and Overseas Employment, there has been significant increase in emigration during the last four years. Predominantly, this increase of Pakistanis is in countries like Oman, Qatar, Lebanon, Jordan, Brunei, Bahrain, Japan, Sweden, and UAE.

He said “If we analyze the country-wise data of workers remittances given by the State Bank of Pakistan, the largest chunk comes from the Middle East. The shares of Saudi Arabia, UAE, and other GCC countries add up to more than 60 per cent of the total workers remittances being sent to Pakistan”.

He said that it is an important consideration that needs to be kept in mind by policy and decision-makers. He further said that to attract and facilitate Pakistanis living in Europe, East and Southeast Asia the government has taken a number of steps to enhance the flow of remittances through official channels.

In this regard, he said Formulation of Exchange Companies authorized to deal in Foreign Currency notes, postal notes, money orders and traveller cheques.

He informed that at present, twelve Exchange Companies have commenced operations.
Similarly, he said the Establishment of centralized Home Remittances Cell has been introduced in 5 major banks namely HBL, NBP, UBL, MCB and ABL. The Cell reduces the transmission time of remittances, he remarked.

The spokesman said that SBP has also taken steps to control remittances through undocumented channels.

“In the current economic scenario, workers’ remittances provide the much required support to our economy as a whole”, he remarked. He said the evidence of that is the turning of the Current Account deficit into a surplus during the month of December 2011.

He added that to maintain the monthly average of remittances above $1 billion for the last 10 months a lot of effort has gone in at the State Bank and the Ministry of Finance.

---------- Post added at 03:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:12 PM ----------

To Rana Asad Amin, spokesman of Ministry of Finance, this is bcoz of policies of the Gov? MY FOOT

why should it be ashamed of itself?
those people are working hard for this money..

And then people say overseas Pakistanis are betraying their country by staying outside.

why should it be ashamed of itself?
those people are working hard for this money..

Because there should be more earnings from exporting/selling your goods to foreign countries rather than relying on remittances. But anyways as zardaria is most corrupt & didn't work for the increase of Pakistani exports so remits are a must too for Pakistan but 12billion $ is nothing if compared to india's 55billion $.

No need to bring India in this thread, you can compare with Bangladesh which have got US$ 12 remittance in same period.

Did you bother to check how many times is Indian population to Pakistan population ?

We are doing far better than you think we are...

Instead of competing with India, it is best we try and stop the politicians from sending that money back to swiss banks and hand our families Rs from the printing press.

Abb aesa tau nahi kero na yaar.......:tongue:

What do you mean? I have my own fair share of the remittances that are the topic of this thread; any comment beyond that would be off topic. :D

The reason for such big growth in remittances in last few years, is the black money which was siphoned off from Pakistan by the corrupt and now they are bringing it back in shape of white money.

Hey those were my words... just kidding.. but kind of same thing is happening in India in name of investment .. all those black money is coming back with tag of foreign investment in property and share market, totally tax free. For many things you can't provide proof but you device facts from your surrounding .. this is one of this

And what do the overseas poor worker get in return?

I will just give you a small example. The Pakistani Embassy/Consulate is one of the top 3 income generating Embassy/Consulate in UAE if we take into consideraion the number of Pakistanis residing in UAE. They are around 1 million (3rd in UAE, first being Indian and i suppose 2nd being Bangladeshis).

You should just see the consulate of Yemen, Egypt, Syria, Lebanon and any other consulate which do not have much source of income thru the services provided to their citizens residing in UAE as none of them cross 1 million.

renewal, Ordinary 36 Pages Passport is charged at AED 155.00

In one day the Consulate accepts 450 applications and almost over 90% of this is passport renewal related. So let us assume 80% for the sake of calculation. 360 (passport renewal) x AED 155 (normal renewal charges per passport) = AED 55,800.00.

55800.00 (per day) x 22 (days) = AED 1,227,600.00 (12.27 lacs)

P.S. The 360 applications are not all normal renewals but there are also many applications for urgent renewals. But i am jsut calculating as per normal renewal charges. Also i am not counting the new applications for NICP cards or for passports for new borns adn other consulate related services.

And after earning all this amount our consulate is still worse than the Consulate of Egypt, Yemen, Syria, Lebanon in respect to the servies and the staff number and consular services for poor nad needy Pakistanis. None of these consulates earn as much as we do.