Goodbye ‘India Shining’

But we are not a shining incredible supa dupa powah!
No you aren't...You are a nation that cant even produce a decent bike or car or mobile phone,with pathetic 2.2% growth in $200 billion economy..As such,you shouldn't be making fun of indias 5.5% growth of $2 trillion gdp.

Middle class India has few heroes. Once in a while we find someone. But even before he can settle in, we are disenchanted. Either he fails to live up to our high expectations after the first burst of success, like those guys who win crores on KBC and then vanish into the woodwork. Or worse, he swiftly morphs into monstrous money making machine. Like some of our sportsmen and movie stars.

We like our heroes to excel, stay humble, respect the stature given to them and even if they make lots of money (as some do) not to boast about it in public. A good example is Abdul Kalam. He is a typical middle class icon. So are people like Vishwanathan Anand, Rahul Dravid, Aamir Khan, Mary Kom. Politicians are rare in this pantheon. The middle class has long stopped trusting them.

Luckily, Manmohan Singh was different. He was a respected economist, a finance minister by happenstance who did his job well. No controversy ever singed him. He became Prime Minister by accident, sidestepping all the ugliness, corruption, lies and chicanery that go with everyday politics. It also helped that he was gentle, soft spoken, accessible, and down to earth. For middle class India, he was the perfect choice.

He was not a typical, old style, cow belt neta breathing fire and brimstone, and bursting with clichés about equality and social justice. Singh made no tall promises to Hatao Garibi. Nor did he talk about India Shining even when India was actually shining during his tenure. He was able to artfully manage the contradictions of his coalition and keep it going. Never once did he mention The Foreign Hand. In fact, he reached out his hand in friendship to the world, and our neighbours. The media saw him as a wise and capable man. We were proud of him and even though we knew he was no great achiever, we saw him as a decent guy trying to do a decent day job. To the best of his ability.

That was a while back. Today he leads what is arguably one of the most corrupt, arrogant, inept Governments this nation has ever seen. It appears almost as if he can do no right. Even those who once swore by his personal honesty are no longer all that sure. The latest bunch of scams lie, like a huge dung heap, outside his office and it’s no longer easy to believe he never got a whiff of it.

Singh's reaction to crises around him is also peculiar. This week's arrest of cartoonist Aseem Trivedi on grounds of sedition is the most sinister among a series of strange occurrences under his watch. Almost every other morning, some halfwit or the other in his Cabinet gets up and threatens to block the internet or shut down social media. Singh himself recently told a bunch of senior cops to take steps to curb this malaise. What malaise is he talking about? The right to free speech? Twitter has been ordered to take off parody IDs, including those that spoof Singh and the PMO. Never since the Emergency has anyone reacted like this. No cartoons, no jokes, no parodies, no humour. No free press either if his henchmen have their way. Can you imagine the Washington Post being threatened for writing a critical article on him? Earlier, they were furious with TIME for calling him an under achiever.

That the Prime Minister is clueless about the role of social media is obvious to anyone reading his tweets. His must be the single most boring twitter ID in the world, putting out official press releases and texts of his speeches. It shows how totally out of touch he is with the media, how little he understands its role. But the charge of sedition against Trivedi lends a macabre touch. UPA2 has finally crossed the line and Singh’s silence has revealed his true character. It is time someone reminded him that this is India. Free, democratic India. Not Idi Amin’s Uganda nor Gaddafi’s Libya.

The middle class has lost yet another hero. But what's worse, Manmohan Singh has finally lost the plot.

Extraordinary Issue : Pritish Nandy's blog-The Times Of India
There is a difference in both situation of MMS as FM in 1991 and MMS as PM in 2004.MMS is no leader he can deliver only when the leader who is supporting him is strong enough to implement decisions.MMS as FM got the able leader as PM in 1991 to back his every economic decisions.Today MMS as PM is being burdened by the Sonia Gandhi and her kitchen cabinet of NAC and sycophant coalition partners.even in all this People still trust MMS on his honesty there is no question about it.What MMS needs is a capable leader to back him up not some waitress acting as chef to spoil the food.

No you aren't...You are a nation that cant even produce a decent bike or car or mobile phone,with pathetic 2.2% growth in $200 billion economy..As such,you shouldn't be making fun of indias 5.5% growth of $2 trillion gdp.

We are in a war son. You may have a excuse since 70% of your country is in poverty

Pakistan did make a car named revo by adam motors long ago if i'm not wrong.
revo52yp.jpg

Firstly, it is not $2 trillion, it is less than that.

You guys have a habit of creeping forward since before 1962.

Our economy is gradually growing. We are a small nation and even small growth is visible and makes a difference.

I agree with you we can't make much - but you see we have over 100 nuclear bums.

Don't take panga with us.

LOl you were not in war before, still I yet waiting for a Pakistani car...

You have a Tata Car - do I need to say more.

Firstly, it is not $2 trillion, it is less than that.

You guys have a habit of creeping forward since before 1962.

Our economy is gradually growing. We are a small nation and even small growth is visible and makes a difference.

I agree with you we can't make much - but you see we have over 100 nuclear bums.

Don't take panga with us.

You have a Tata Car - do I need to say more.

Well it depends. India right now could be well over 2.1 trillion. If ruppee comes back to 45, it will have a huge jump to over 2.5 trillion by last quarter of 2012. India was expected to cross 2 trillion by early 2012. 30% fall in ruppe prevented it from doing that. This is temperory.

While in Pak's case recent reports tell that economy size is 180 billion and nto 200 billion.

Well it depends. India right now could be well over 2.1 trillion. If ruppee comes back to 45, it will have a huge jump to over 2.5 trillion by last quarter of 2012. India was expected to cross 2 trillion by early 2012. 30% fall in ruppe prevented it from doing that. This is temperory.

While in Pak's case recent reports tell that economy size is 180 billion and nto 200 billion.

I agree with you.

India's biggest problem is its "democracy". It is the main engine for corruption, waste and inefficiency in the country. A one party system might yield better results economically but less "freedom". That is what hundreds of millions of Indians need the most. Think CCP.

Think CCP............ And no Auditor General, No CAG, No free Media. No one to expose corruption. Total dictatorship.

Just imagine Sonia & Team as CCP of India.

Can Chinese people guarantee............CCP dont have ppl like Sonia & Team?

But even then with 70% of population in poverty, India is better than Pakistan HDI.. Imagine how bad these socio economic indicators are for Pakistan :azn:

tum logoon ko sharam aani chayee compare

india 1.5bn population with 31.66414km land
paksidtan 170mn population with 8.80940 km land

kuch to aqal kero yaar . Pakistan is different country with different situation . ab to bary ho jay 31 lakh km ka mulk hai tumhara with 1.5bn public GDP bari nhi ho gee to ghanta ho ga? now look other nations of your size hamari jaan chooro .

and last thing i am not happy with low GDP growth lower economy poverty and corruption in both india and pakistan. you have bigger economy and it can handle more jolts then ours .hope shining india back soon .