Giving a Gift of Solar to Family in Karachi: Options?

Meengla

Hello,
[Posting in the Economy section of PDF because the topic is, IMHO, more related to Pakistan's economy than to Social discussion; and hopefully this will stir some debate and maybe even some economic activity in Pakistan.]

I have some $ which I'd could invest. Up to $80,000 as of now. One investment I'd like to make is to make my family home in Karachi as much solar powered as possible and I am willing to put in a good bit of money--but only for quality stuff. It will be a gift to the family and indirectly to Pakistan's economy.

Now to the house: It is on 1000 sq yards with three stories. Including resident servants, I'd say about 16 people live there. Lots of rooms. And a huge roof which gets a lot of sun--not many surrounding tall buildings.

What are my options for finding the right companies? What kind of system is suitable? Time frame for the installation? Any red tape from the govt?

Thanks!

mate dont disclose such info online, a word of advice.

regards

Well, it's not like I said $80,000,000,000,0000... $80,000 is not so huge in America.

I had intentionally put in the amount to not only get some idea about the solar panels but also to get other investment ideas-- poultry farm? a hotel in the hills of Pakistan?...

But I appreciate your concern for me!

You only need to invest $3,000 for Solar Pannels plus labour cost
Enough to run fans and may be small radio and small lights in home

Not be off grid

Most likely
$5,000-7,000 for being able to be more off grid friendly

Well companies I think you have to search but this is what it costs in general from International Market for Pakistan's local setup it should be roughly same cost

The main thing really is

> Installation service
> Setup of Electrical units safely , setup of electrical wire system
> The Pannels themselves are mostly imported but look for Quality Output

Well companies I think you have to search but this is what it costs in general from International Market
for Pakistan's local setup it should be roughly same cost

I Googled but couldn't find any good leads with numbers. I guess I will have to be in Karachi and may make a quick visit.

BTW, here in America, for our small 1300 sq ft home, I have been bombarded with the so-called 'free' solar panel installations. But I think, after some years, you'd have to start paying back to the company. For us, it's not financially viable and worth the hassle. Our electricity bill average about $140-150/month yearly. That's not bad. Plus we are surrounded by trees on 3 sides and I hate cutting trees--they are the lungs of humanity.

In Americas cost can go to 15,000-24,000 for 100% off grid solution which is why people pay it off in monthly installments, they take a loan and pay it off in 3-5 years after that electricity is 100% free

This has 16 panels so it is making ample electricity which is collected in Batteries
shutterstock_58741993-1002x6711-1002x671.jpg

For Semi-Offgrid setup , 3,000-7,000 would be possible
(2-3 Fans , 2-3 Tube Lights, maybe power radio or Laptop)

Bilawal house has these panels installed on the buildings inside , you can view it from Settelite Google images

In 90's Solar power was at infancy and the production of electricity was limited quantity
but with advancement in technology you get bigger output now vs 1990's

My father normally states it is useless tech , based on his experience in 1990's but things have changed

Well the answer is very simple

1- Look at your Electricity Bill , it will have a monthly estimate for how much electricity kW (kilowatt) you use for the home each month!!

My usage in Summer July-August with Aircondition running and electric Microwave all light and tv every thing was
699-800 kw used in Month

2- Each Panel gives you a certain % Kilowatt (kw) per month

3- When you have enough panels which will equal your monthly usage then you will be 100% off-grid, then you look at the packages they offer

4- If you have lot of Batteries which store charge, then you can even run a car

1 Kilo watt = 1000 Watts
800 kw = 800,000 watts (my home consumption in July - August)

Example

upload_2020-2-22_11-15-25.png

Answer you need about 33 pannes at 325w :enjoy::enjoy::enjoy::enjoy::enjoy:

upload_2020-2-22_11-10-0.png

Aim for 33 pannels what the information system are telling me

Price quoted looked unrealistic I am sure by the time you are done will get to $3,000-$7,000

• You will also need to store energy storage if you produce more then your needs having less batteries the extra energy you will capture will get wasted not stored

U need to figure out how many large appliances + fans and Lights on that basis usage can be calculated to get a Total amount of energy utilized per month than u can get an estimated cost of panels , batteries and the system although kesc is a rip Off but i think solar systems are still not viable as of yet as batteries are v costly once they run out of life 2/3 years they are gone and replacement is very expensive better off waiting for new tech in the batteries world. You can still call And check with homage as well
https://homage.pk/

System are sold with 25-year guarantee 8-)
Look for warrant when you spend money

Hello,
[Posting in the Economy section of PDF because the topic is, IMHO, more related to Pakistan's economy than to Social discussion; and hopefully this will stir some debate and maybe even some economic activity in Pakistan.]

I have some $ which I'd could invest. Up to $80,000 as of now. One investment I'd like to make is to make my family home in Karachi as much solar powered as possible and I am willing to put in a good bit of money--but only for quality stuff. It will be a gift to the family and indirectly to Pakistan's economy.

Now to the house: It is on 1000 sq yards with three stories. Including resident servants, I'd say about 16 people live there. Lots of rooms. And a huge roof which gets a lot of sun--not many surrounding tall buildings.

What are my options for finding the right companies? What kind of system is suitable? Time frame for the installation? Any red tape from the govt?

Thanks!

A word of caution, kindly remember that while it is difficult to make a lot of money, it is even more difficult to hold on to it.

Firstly $80,000 (about 1 crore 20 lakh in Pk rupees) is not a hell of a lot of money especially in Karachi where even a small family not living a very posh area like defense but somewhere in the PECHS Block -2 or Gulshan Iqbal, needs about one lakh rupees each month to live. My younger brother who retired as grade 20 officer and owns a fully paid 3-bed room flat and a car, finds it near impossible to live within his Rs 75 K monthly pension.

Additionally, even if you have lived outside Pakistan for about 10 years, you would find it a hell of a lot more expensive than when you left. Since no new business starts making money from the word go, one needs deep enough pockets to survive for the first couple of years. My humble suggestion would be that you need at least 5 times more to start any decent business and also have a decent sum set aside as the ‘nest egg’. Additionally, you should spend at least 3 months in Pakistan and investigate the possibilities before making the final move. I would also advise against starting a business of which you do not know the ‘ABC’ and try to stick to your own field if at all possible.

costs around 100-125k per KWA so just calculate your power consumption and go for on grid with net metering youll save good money!

Firstly $80,000 (about 1 crore 20 lakh in Pk rupees) is not a hell of a lot of money especially in Karachi where even a small family not living a very posh area like defense but somewhere in the PECHS Block -2 or Gulshan Iqbal, needs about one lakh rupees each month to live. My younger brother who retired as grade 20 officer and owns a fully paid 3-bed room flat and a car, finds it near impossible to live within his Rs 75 K monthly pension.

Thanks for the word of caution. Honestly, having been gone from Pakistan for a quarter century, I have no idea about cost of living in Pakistan anymore. After Karachi Univ in 1991, I had a job for Rs. 2000/month; it was basically a temp research position but the money went some ways then.

But in my last visit to Pakistan in Dec. 2019, one of my cousins told me that 'you could live comfortably in Pakistan for Rs. 200,000-300,000 per month'. I don't have any kids or health issues. And I am too young to retire.

A word of caution, kindly remember that while it is difficult to make a lot of money, it is even more difficult to hold on to it.

Sounds like a great advice! I have not respected money much hitherto.