A.M.
I don't have any proof of this and even if someone does, i doubt they'll admit to it. Especially after seeing what happened to Hamid Mir.You see, in all of this nowhere has PTI figured into the issue.
It was all the internals of the Army and there were two groups within the high command (all well known).
PTI wasn't being 'supported' by ISI as some claim, nor was it being directed by ISI. I commented during this saga that something fishy is going on, and wrote this whole story in a hidden forum as well (I'll try and dig that out).
What you said is true...DG ISI was playing games, but he wasn't 'supporting' PTI.
Look at it like this.
It's me and you fighting with eachother. In the meanwhile,the neighborhood bully comes in. The bully has a rift with you so he also starts fighting you. You get the impression that me and the bully are together in this but we aren't. Bully is going for his own advantage and I am playing my own game. We both are apart, we have different objectives, but to get to that objective we have to go through you (i.e Nawaz Sharif).
Getting my point?
DG ISI was playing his whole game separately from PTI, there was no support for PTI in any form as some seem to suggest.
Najam Sethi's show (from what I concluded) went all towards how Army was planning, and it was in the end that Muneeb asked him I think that where does PTI come into this? They go into a break,and then afterwards Sethi quickly wraps it up and mumbo jumboes it IMO.
Secondly, Sethi also didn't emphasize on the PML part of this whole saga, went on and on about Army but didn't say keh Ch Nisar aur Khwaja Asif aur Saad Rafique kia kartoot anjam day rahay thay. Yup, you heard it here first, agr is mamlay main investigation hui ya agay chala, to N-league kay kaam bhi samnay ayen gay. Mark my words.
So it was like, PTI going against PML, DG ISI comes in with his own game plan. Doesn't mean PTI is getting support from ISI.
BTW, I'll get back to you with the timestamps from the video and elaborate further.
And I saw a tweet somewhere that Samson Sharif denies saying exact names....and Justice Wajih and Asad Umar also deny this. (Remember, Asad Umar was labeled as having met with DG ISI and come into PTI on his demand).
There are a few versions going on, pick whichever suits you!
I'll stick to what I know.
ISI may not have been actively supporting the dharna, they were definitely facilitating it. This has been talked about in the past, including by Javed Hashmi, albeit in muted words.
I think people are overseeing the Shiekh Rashid angle in all of this as well. He's been known to be a military boy.
Doesn't make any sense at all to me. Looks like a "stir the pot" tweet. Nothing more, nothing less.
RS saved the PML N government which leads me to believe that him and Nawaz were on the same page throughout the episode.