female snow leopard killed in GB .search operation underway to recover the two cubs of the dead moth

I'm from Islamabad, bhai. Rest assured, we have no big cats here except the common leopard. Kisi nai apnay drawing room mai rakha ho tou uska pata nai.

Someday perhaps, I will share a photo captured by N...... complex.......... gn... guys margalla hills and I have seen it.

I know enough to distinguish between a Tiger and a Leopard and that as per records, Tigers went extinct(local) in Pakistan.

In Northern Punjab/Azad Kashmir I was told that tigers lived in the woods. There are no jungles (so maybe no tigers), but leopards, panthers, and cougars do enjoy this mountainous/forested habitat.

Then again many "extinct" animals in Pakistan are usually not, like the Indus dolphin which is now growing.

This is very sad, people need to be educated and the law needs to be more strict.
I saw a group of hunters once in northern areas, ppl said they r out to hunt snow leapords. We were on hiking but followed them and used to do aerial firing so leapords are aware. Almost got into a fight as they had weapons too and we were ruining their hunt. We contacted police in the end, they were stopped and we managed to escape coz we ourselves had unlicenced weapons.

lets come to real point yes they are really near extinction but they are not extinct fully i think they use term Regionally extinct . but they keep showing up their face time to time . as you can see tiger is walking on street its not mean they gone . leopard population growed allot in GB .hope one day we have them back like 1900 .

yes people keep them as pet too you are right
We see them from time to time because the chacha who looks after them at Taji Khokar's house likes to let them out early in the morning when no one is watching.

Bara bc hai wo yaar

Anyway, good to see Pakistan trying their best to preserve snow leopards. India too has a large population of snow leopards(in HP, Himalayas, Ladakh, etc) and we too on our end are trying our best to stop poaching/killing of them.

Don't tell me you haven't heard of people being killed by leopards.

If you read about the incursions of leopards say into Bombay's areas that abut the Sanjay Gandhi National Park, it has been about the leopards carrying away dogs.

It doesn't mean they don't kill humans. Plenty of other cases as well. After all, they are carnivorous animals belonging to the 'cat' family (pun intended).
https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/kerala/man-killed-in-leopard-attack/article31529783.ece
https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...uttarakhand/story-3EcepYrM657kn0IVWLMM9L.html

I think it is wrong to keep big cats in cages or in limited spaces. They should be in safaris.
I believe no animal should be kept in zoos. That's such a horrible existence for any living being, especially animals who deserve to be in forests.

At one point, my parents were considering to buy a fish tank in our house but I flatly advised them against it.

It doesn't mean they don't kill humans. Plenty of other cases as well. After all, they are carnivorous animals belonging to the 'cat' family (pun intended).
https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/kerala/man-killed-in-leopard-attack/article31529783.ece
https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...uttarakhand/story-3EcepYrM657kn0IVWLMM9L.html

Leopards attacking humans are not often. On the other hand, dogs attacking humans are common. I have a complaint. When a leopard attacks humans, he is immediately declared a "man eater" and teams are set up to hunt him down, but when a dog attacks humans, not only is the dog not killed but the dog is protected with excuses by foul people like Maneka Gandhi.

Please watch this vid and this vid. Both from India.

People in Kerala have been agitating against stray dogs for quite while. The rest of India should follow suit.

At one point, my parents were considering to buy a fish tank in our house but I flatly advised them against it.

Good of you. And that reminds me. Those dolphin pools in foreign countries. How sad must the dolphin feel to live in that small pool.

Just two years ?

I hope they recover the cubs before they go hungry.

@Bilal9, what became of the fishing cat case in Bangladesh ?

There were two cases of these medium sized cats being caught. One was killed by villagers because the poor thing was probably hungry and stealing chickens. The other was caught in Sylhet and handed over to authorities for safekeeping and will probably end up in a zoo. There are all sorts of conservation laws on the books but uneducated people (because of ignorance) always take extreme measures (and they will end up in jail as well) eventually.

The conservationists need to do a better job of spreading the word...

Leopards attacking humans are not often. On the other hand, dogs attacking humans are common. I have a complaint. When a leopard attacks humans, he is immediately declared a "man eater" and teams are set up to hunt him down, but when a dog attacks humans, not only is the dog not killed but the dog is protected with excuses by foul people like Maneka Gandhi.

Please watch this vid and this vid. Both from India.

People in Kerala have been agitating against stray dogs for quite while. The rest of India should follow suit.
The thing is, if they get the chance, leopards actually kill humans right there on the spot. Dogs on the other hand tend to just bite humans but then people die after a few days due to rabies. That's the difference. Dogs don't attack humans with the intention of killing humans per se unlike the leopards/lions/tigers. And that's why leopards have earned the tag of 'man-eaters'. It's also because they stray into human territory as they lose more and more forested land to humans.

Coming to stray dogs, I think they should be given some medication such that their bite marks don't give rabies to people. Yes, I agree that we see too many strays nowadays and their population needs to be controlled. How it should be controlled? I think the authorities should decide that.

You gave the example of Maneka Gandhi, but it's not just her. Dog is one of the most social animals and I think it's the animal that's loved the most by humans. I too love to play with dogs/pat them when I get the chance. I also give them food sometimes which also means the dogs get to know me and don't have to bite me lol.