Ertugrul - a Turkish drama has gained popularity world wide - specially Pakistan

Who is your favorite Ertugrul character?

• Ertugrul

• Turgut

• Bamsi

• Halime

• Other (Mention in comment)

Results are only viewable after voting.
Not sure . But Urdu sounds similar to Hindi. And I understand Hindi 95% I think . But can not read devnagary script . From my Childhood I ( Actually many of of us) used to watch bollywood Movies , that helped me understanding Hindi very well .

However I did not watch Urdu Dubbing yet as watched 2 season already in Bengali. But I think maybe I will understand it . From season 3 it will be clear if I can understand it better or not .:-)

@Pan-Islamic-Pakistan

In old Bollywood films, yes they speak proper Urdu, but not anymore.

Pakistani Urdu is very close to the original and has heavy Turkish, Persian, Arabic influences.

Since I speak decent amount of the former two, and have learned Arabic in depth, I can see the commonalities and appreciate them.

I am curious to know your experience and what you think of the Urdu official dubbing by Pakistani state. Please check it out and let me know.

https://youtube.com/channel/UCfiM9_Me5QJBEr0PItkbXgw

In old Bollywood films, yes they speak proper Urdu, but not anymore.

Pakistani Urdu is very close to the original and has heavy Turkish, Persian, Arabic influences.

Since I speak decent amount of the former two, and have learned Arabic in depth, I can see the commonalities and appreciate them.

I am curious to know your experience and what you think of the Urdu official dubbing by Pakistani state. Please check it out and let me know.
Inshallah brother , I will share my experience with you when they will publish season 3 . :cheers:

What you think of the Urdu in this script? Is it easy for you to understand?

How about this?

@Al-zakir @mmr @Saiful Islam @Xerxes22 is it intelligible to you guys?

@Pan-Islamic-Pakistan , brother ,some words are a bit problematic . Like, Ghor sawar aur Ghoro ke taku/tangko ki kasam , or something else ? Sorry can not hear the last word ( red bold )correctly . Also , Apne Qabile .sardar aur rewayet ki hattalki(/or something else ?) karne sey bacha. Can not guess this one word (red bold text ) too clearly . But Overall theme is very much understandable .

PS : In second video , there are 2/3 words too are problematic . But rest are good .

@Pan-Islamic-Pakistan , brother ,some words are a bit problematic . Like, Ghor sawar aur Ghoro ke taku/tangko ki kasam , or something else ? Sorry can not hear the last word ( red bold )correctly . Also , Apne Qabile .sardar aur rewayet ki hattalki(/or something else ?) karne sey bacha. Can not guess this one word (red bold text ) too clearly . But Overall theme is very much understandable .

You got me very interested in Bangla language now. When I found out there were Turk, Persian, Arab, Punjabi, and Pukhtoon Bengalis, it totally blew my mind similarly.

Then I met Sylheti guy who looked just like a Pakistani, apparently he had Pukhtoon origin.

I know there are many light complexioned BD people, but what I mean is face structure, hair growth, etc.

Would love to visit in the future once relations become better.

Islamization in BD, and popularity of shows like Ertugrul, can bring us together in new ways.

You got me very interested in Bangla language now. When I found out there were Turk, Persian, Arab, Punjabi, and Pukhtoon Bengalis, it totally blew my mind similarly.

Then I met Sylheti guy who looked just like a Pakistani, apparently he had Pukhtoon origin.

I know there are many light complexioned BD people, but what I meat is face structure, hair growth, etc.

Would love to visit in the future once relations become better.
Inshallah brother , you are always welcome in Bangladesh . If you visit Bangladesh , you will know that other than some Indian sidekicks , every bangladeshi loves Pakistani brothers and sisters . And try Bengali too . Do not follow west Bengal , but follow Bangladeshi Bengali . Although it's same thing , still not only accent but we have many distinct words too for practical use . Like Water = Pani in Bangladesh and Jol in west Bengal . Although in poetic form we use jol too , but not in practical use . We call breakfast as Nashta , as far I know West Bengal call it jol khabar . Brother = Bhai and in west Bengal they call Dada ( brother ) ! There are many more difference and mostly focused on culture . So if you will take west Bengali Bengal as standard ,you will be confused and consider Bengali is Hindu culture ( practical use ) influenced Language .

But in Bangladesh we use Bengali that heavily reflect our own Muslim culture .

@Pan-Islamic-Pakistan

Not sure . But Urdu sounds similar to Hindi. And I understand Hindi 95% I think . But can not read devnagary script . From my Childhood I ( Actually many of of us) used to watch bollywood Movies , that helped me understanding Hindi very well .

However I did not watch Urdu Dubbing yet as watched 2 season already in Bengali. But I think maybe I will understand it . From season 3 it will be clear if I can understand it better or not .:-) . Just counting days when the Youtube channel starts season 3 . As already I see that 2 episode of season 2 published in their youitube channel .

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLgirwYDDPtS05gyfru0ETfmc9B5Fgh2kM

@Pan-Islamic-Pakistan
You may not realise but Urdu and Hindi have same origin, Hindi is sanskrit influenced, whereas Urdu has greater influence of Persian, Turkish and Arabic languages.

Historically the language used in bollywood has been closer to Urdu rather than Hindi, especially songs, so very likely you are already more familiar with Urdu then you realise.

Only over the past decade or so bollywood has started to move closer to original Hindi with Urdu influence getting reduced, as part of the anti-muslim drive. They can't get rid of Urdu influence altogether because both the languages are closely related.

I do not watch bollywood myself, and have not done so for over 20 years, but do keep track. Follow literature festivals online and it's surprising what you learn, proper discussions rather than pure media fiction.

I've started following Urdu version of Ertugrul this year, it's extremely good, first Urdu series I've followed after many years, I find it better than reading the subtitles, because of the dubbing quality, they could have given extra attention to the voices of minor characters but very good overall.

P.S.
For those who enjoy subtitles watch old Japanese movies, you will not be disappointed. Especially anything by Akira Kurosawa.

For those who enjoy subtitles watch old Japanese movies, you will not be disappointed. Especially anything by Akira Kurosawa

:tup: Me too, I am a fan of Samurai movies.

Also I like Iranian movies too for being down to Earth.

What you think of the Urdu in this script? Is it easy for you to understand?

How about this?

@Al-zakir @mmr @Saiful Islam @Xerxes22 is it intelligible to you guys?

Urdu is still taught in many parts of Bangladesh, in mosques and religious schools, because most modern Islamic literature is in Urdu, Urdu is used, I've had it confirmed by Bengali friends.
Some have said yes, others said no, so I deduced that it's not everywhere but probably depends on localities or who's incharge of a particular establishment.
I had a Bengali girlfriend who knew better Urdu then me, infact she would tell me the meaning of some words I did not understand listening to Nusrat sahib.

:tup: Me too, I am a fan of Samurai movies.

Also I like Iranian movies too for being down to Earth.
I've only seen one and wanted to see more but they can be hard to get hold of, with proper subtitles.
The one i saw was from the director who chose to drive a taxi and films the day, extremely well made. I can't remember the name right now, it's nearly 1am and can't sleep lol

I've only seen one and wanted to see more but they can be hard to get hold of, with proper subtitles.
The one i saw was from the director who chose to drive a taxi and films the day, extremely well made. I can't remember the name right now, it's nearly 1am and can't sleep lol

Watch طلا و مس, preferably with your significant other.

https://m.imdb.com/title/tt1804642/