Egypt, Pakistan join military campaign against Houthis

Iran and Pakistan share same security concerns vis a vis Balochistan so they will work together and not antagonise each other. Iran is not involved directly in Yemen as much it is in Iraq where its presence has had a stabilising impact on Baghdadi government and halted the death march of the ISIS.

bad luck is that our support to Saudis wont be seen as "highly" by our "Sunni" brothern as much as it will be seen badly by the Iranians

well , there are always news of Iranians involvement in Karachi sectarian violence , and i agree that Iran is not much into Yemen scene , but you should not underestimate Iranian mullahs , they can color this whole scenario into a Shia Sunni conflict ..

well did they ever treat their Pakistani ( Sunni ) brothern in a good way ?

yes i think we are divided on this issue my view is that we should defend the Holly cities this is our obligation to do so ... but difference of opinion is always good .....
NO its NOT. Its not our obligation to defend any place OUTSIDE our own territory.

That is bad news now. I dont know why Pakistan is Directly involve here I think they should send those Banned Outfits like ASWJ, SSP LEJ to Saudi to fight rather instead of getting Involved personally.

So Saudi should fund our military and fund our government, that's perfectly fine with majority on this board. If they ask for "support" many have objections. It's not just about Shia militant in Yemen. Isis and Al qaeda are also present in Yemen and high chance it will spill over inside Saudi Arabia. I highly doubt our military will take active role in this. We might send our military advisors just like Iran is doing in the fight against isis. We have more military experience then the entire middle east combined. Our military won't be doing this just because the PM wants it or because of the Saudi request. I have a feeling we will be compensated highly.

NO its NOT. Its not our obligation to defend any place OUTSIDE our own territory.

Personally if you ask me i dont like Saudi kings i hate them they are monarchs i am not saying we should save them i meant to say we should save mecca and Medina that is all ........
I just wonder what they are feeding to you Pakistani ....

U mean Sunni-Shia bhai bhai? :D

Pakistan has always fought other people's battles, never its own.
bahi sai ziyda qemti petrol aur steel ke mill hai,and while fighting others battle we have no time to fight our own.

Its not boot licking its love of Makkah and Madinah
well zarvan al saud has supported west for 120 years,and about these two holy places to one these belong to he knows better to protect........

We go for Hajj,Umrah and Ziaraat. So the Holy Places are all of our responsbility.
For Many Pakistani Shia Iran is their Holy place so they will understandably support their Iran,although most Shia Ziaraat are in Iraq.
And liberal atheists...well...never mind them
Right- the same holy places in KSA that you're talking about are being desecrated, too bad the it makes everyone oblivious to such facts when they see clock tower erected besides the haram in Makkah. Oh oh...I will just let y'all google the wishes of the Grand Mufti- what a joke this guy is.
One more thing to your point, Makkah and Medina are the holiest places for a Muslim; whether Sunni/Shia- So If you don't know for sure, it's better to ask than spread false info.

seems like you have been banned recently and just today you have opened a new account here and started trolling once again .... we can have difference of opinion as i said and there is nothing wrong with that ... some would say yes some would say no .... those say yes are right in their own analysis and those who says no are also right ....

Plus why are you protecting najaf .... ???? i have the same reason to protect Mecca and medina rather more stronger than yours

thetimesofisrael-529x60.png

As US lets Yemen fall, Israeli ire pales next to Arab fury
Jerusalem is worried by the Iran-backed Houthi takeover of Aden, but Saudi Arabia is burning with anger, and not at Tehran

BY AVI ISSACHAROFF March 26, 2015, 2:26 pm

Yemenis stand at the site of a Saudi airstrike against Houthi rebels near Sanaa Airport on March 26, 2015, which killed at least 13 people. (photo credit: AFP/MOHAMMED HUWAIS)

A few months ago, when Yemen’s Houthi uprising was still in its infancy, Israel was already worriedly watching over the progress of rebel forces making advances in the peninsula.

It’s little surprise the group got Jerusalem’s attention. In almost every demonstration held by Houthis in recent months, the slogans heard may as well have been taken straight out of the 1979 Islamic Revolution in Iran: “Death to America, death to Israel, curse the Jews, victory to Islam.”

The Houthi Zaidiyyahs belong to a Shia school of Islamic thought which is distinct from the beliefs held by Shiites in Iran, but they act in accordance with the regime in Tehran, which supplies the Yemenite rebels with advanced equipment that allows them to wage battle on the forces of President Abed Rabbo Mansour Hadi.

As the rebels have managed to sack much of the port town of Aden, pushing Hadi out of his home Wednesday and sparking Saudi-led airstrikes, the concerns on the Israeli side are clear.

Firstly, an Iranian takeover of the strategic Bab el Mandeb Strait and the possibility of a Israeli ships coming under fire with no one officially taking responsibility for such attacks would not bode well for the Jewish state.

But aside from the threat of assaults on ships, the Iranian-Houthi takeover of Yemen raises another serious concern for Israel, namely, the potential rising influence of Iran in the region, which will allow the Islamic Republic to improve its position during negotiations on the country’s nuclear program.

As Iran’s involvement in countries such as Iraq, Syria and Yemen grows, so it increases its ability to bargain with the Americans and the Europeans on the number of centrifuges it may possess and the nature of inspections by UN officials at its nuclear facilities.

Decision makers in Israel have come to an understanding that the Americans have no intention of imposing demands on Iran with regards to halting military operations and even terrorist attacks in other countries as part of the agreement over Tehran’s nuclear program.

But Israel’s concerns regarding the Houthi takeover of Yemen are nothing compared to the profound discontent of Riyadh and other Arab countries, in light of Iran’s rampage throughout the Middle East and the blatant inaction on the part of the US.

In this photo taken Tuesday, March 24, 2015, tanks seized recently by militiamen loyal to Yemen’s President Abed Rabbo Mansour Hadi take positions at the al-Anad air base in the southern province of Lahej, 60 kilometers (35 miles) north of Aden, Yemen. (photo credit: AP Photo/Wael Qubady)

The outcome of the Saudi military operation may not be decisive, but reflects much Saudi, Jordanian and Egyptian frustration. The anger of these regimes is not directed at Iran, which is more or less engaged in the kind of hostile activity expected of it, but mainly at Washington.

It is slightly hard to believe, but at a time when the White House is intensively negotiating with Iran in an attempt to reach an agreement on the nation’s nuclear program withing the next five days, the Shiites in Tehran have helped topple a majority Sunni regime and made significant territorial advances. Yemen is a state with a long and unmanned border with Saudi Arabia, Iran’s number one regional rival. Yet Washington remains silent.

Yes, Saudi Arabia and the US claimed the overnight operation in Yemen was carried out with intelligence assistance by the Americans, but Arab leaders and decision makers in Israel are still struggling with the White House’s insistence on demonstrating exceptional weakness in its ongoing talks with Tehran.

The expectation by Sunni Arabs and Israel is that the world’s major powers will at least try to pressure Tehran to halt its military operations in a variety of destinations in the Middle East, as part of any future agreement on Iran’s nuclear program.

Such pressure against Tehran over its involvement in Yemen or Iraq, such as leaving economic sanctions in place, could inspire the ayatollahs to reconsider their advances in the region.

But for now, under the White House’s zero action policy, Iran can continue doing whatever it wants without having to miss a beat.

Avi-Issacharoff-medium.png

Avi Issacharoff, The Times of Israel's Middle East analyst, fills the same role for Walla, the leading portal in Israel. He is also a guest commentator on many different radio shows and current affairs programs on television. Until 2012, he was a reporter and commentator on Arab affairs for the Haaretz newspaper. He also lectures on modern Palestinian history at Tel Aviv University, and is currently writing a script for an action-drama series for the Israeli satellite Television "YES." Born in Jerusalem, he graduated cum laude from Ben Gurion University with a B.A. in Middle Eastern studies and then earned his M.A. from Tel Aviv University on the same subject, also cum laude. A fluent Arabic speaker, Avi was the Middle East Affairs correspondent for Israeli Public Radio covering the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, the war in Iraq and the Arab countries between the years 2003-2006. Avi directed and edited short documentary films on Israeli television programs dealing with the Middle East. In 2002 he won the "best reporter" award for the "Israel Radio” for his coverage of the second intifada. In 2004, together with Amos Harel, he wrote "The Seventh War - How we won and why we lost the war with the Palestinians." A year later the book won an award from the Institute for Strategic Studies for containing the best research on security affairs in Israel. In 2008, Issacharoff and Harel published their second book, entitled "34 Days - The Story of the Second Lebanon War," which won the same prize.

NO! Is Ganjay ko koi mardo!! I am sorry to say, but just because of those holy cities doesnt mean you should protect that nation to death. Its not our business, Seriously. But if you really wana protect just those two, I say, wipe saudia off the face of this planet! :toast_sign:

seems like you have been banned recently and just today you have opened a new account here and started trolling once again .... we can have difference of opinion as i said and there is nothing wrong with that ... some would say yes some would say no .... those say yes are right in their own analysis and those who says no are also right ....

Plus why are you protecting najaf .... ???? i have the same reason to protect Mecca and medina rather more stronger than yours

well , because 100 years ago , Wahhabi attack both Karbala and killed so many Shiia and destroy both grave ... and they are openly saying that if they can , they will flatten both Karbala and Najaf ....

what about Kabba and Mecca ... and for your knowledge , Shia is more older than Sunnism , so don't try to act as Muslim and call us none Muslim ...

Threat to S Arabia will evoke strong reaction from Pakistan:

that's the best we can do in this situation .... a very 'balanced understatement' with tons of meaning.