DG ISPR defends Neelum Muneer’s item song in ‘Kaaf Kangana’

Lincoln

October 30, 2019

Renowned playwright Khalil ur Rehman Qamar’s directorial venture Kaaf Kangana made headlines for all the wrong reasons. The film released last weekend on October 25 and has not opened to good reviews or box office numbers.

The film has an item song featuring Neelum Munir. The song titled Khabon Main has been composed by Sahir Ali Bagga while Aima Baig has lent her vocals.

While the song is picturised like any other item song, with leering men and alcohol bottles, the lyrics are what caught our attention.

The song opens with: “Khwabon main jab main Pakistan gayi re, India main bolay saadi jaan gayi re.

The lyrics get more bizarre as the song continues, “Eik toh kam**na mujhe ghar lay gaya, ghar main gaye toh wahaan koi nahi tha. Baaton main aakar baatain maan gayi re. India main bolay saadi jaan gayi re.”

Following the backlash on the song, Neelum took to social media to defend herself and said that she “did this song only because this movie is a project of ISPR.”

She added, “Perhaps this is the first and last item song of my life. But you all know that whatever I do, I own it and I do it with pride. Pakistan key liye meri jaan hamesha hazir hey.”

Meanwhile, DG ISPR Major General Asif Ghafoor also took to Twitter to defend the item song. Kaaf Kangana has been made in collaboration with ISPR.

He said that the “item song is by an Indian girl in the movie as per her role.”

In the same tweet, Gen Asif Ghafoor also addressed the controversy surrounding Humera Arshad’s concert at ISPR GHQ on Kashmir Black Day.

Kashmiri@NoTension18

· Oct 29, 2019

Replying to @peaceforchange @majorgauravarya
سر اگر یہ سچ ھے تو دل خون کے آنسو روتاھے یہ ستم ظریفی دیکھ کر
1f622.png
1f622.png
1f622.png
1f494.png
1f494.png
1f494.png
1f494.png
1f494.png

Asif Ghafoor

✔@peaceforchange

Pic 1. The item song is by an indian girl in the movie as per her role, you may watch movie to know the context.
Pic 2. It is neither at GHQ (GHQ is at Rwp not Islamabad) nor of an event organised for ISPR as such.

12:09 AM - Oct 29, 2019
Twitter Ads info and privacy

1,051 people are talking about this

Watch the song here:

Source: https://thecurrent.pk/dg-ispr-defen...y6hps525sSGxVAUb9MF2TCnqOdUkylqO2GLzSPxVxGC48

------------------------

Lmao, okay.

Relevant meme for this forum:
1571865606273.jpg

Relevant tweet:

I don't know what ISPR was thinking in response to the first one, lmao.

Suppose a Pakistani film industry produces a film in which one of the actors does something considered by our society as obscene, and then justify it with "Oh, but his or her role was of a citizen of that [insert country, religion or personality here]."

Would such a justification pass? Lmao.

I, for one don't care, since I am okay with this kind of stuff, but I found it funny and interesting.

October 30, 2019

Renowned playwright Khalil ur Rehman Qamar’s directorial venture Kaaf Kangana made headlines for all the wrong reasons. The film released last weekend on October 25 and has not opened to good reviews or box office numbers.

The film has an item song featuring Neelum Munir. The song titled Khabon Main has been composed by Sahir Ali Bagga while Aima Baig has lent her vocals.

While the song is picturised like any other item song, with leering men and alcohol bottles, the lyrics are what caught our attention.

The song opens with: “Khwabon main jab main Pakistan gayi re, India main bolay saadi jaan gayi re.

The lyrics get more bizarre as the song continues, “Eik toh kam**na mujhe ghar lay gaya, ghar main gaye toh wahaan koi nahi tha. Baaton main aakar baatain maan gayi re. India main bolay saadi jaan gayi re.”

Following the backlash on the song, Neelum took to social media to defend herself and said that she “did this song only because this movie is a project of ISPR.”

She added, “Perhaps this is the first and last item song of my life. But you all know that whatever I do, I own it and I do it with pride. Pakistan key liye meri jaan hamesha hazir hey.”

Meanwhile, DG ISPR Major General Asif Ghafoor also took to Twitter to defend the item song. Kaaf Kangana has been made in collaboration with ISPR.

He said that the “item song is by an Indian girl in the movie as per her role.”

In the same tweet, Gen Asif Ghafoor also addressed the controversy surrounding Humera Arshad’s concert at ISPR GHQ on Kashmir Black Day.

Kashmiri@NoTension18

· Oct 29, 2019

Replying to @peaceforchange @majorgauravarya
سر اگر یہ سچ ھے تو دل خون کے آنسو روتاھے یہ ستم ظریفی دیکھ کر
1f622.png
1f622.png
1f622.png
1f494.png
1f494.png
1f494.png
1f494.png
1f494.png

Asif Ghafoor

✔@peaceforchange

Pic 1. The item song is by an indian girl in the movie as per her role, you may watch movie to know the context.
Pic 2. It is neither at GHQ (GHQ is at Rwp not Islamabad) nor of an event organised for ISPR as such.

12:09 AM - Oct 29, 2019
Twitter Ads info and privacy

1,051 people are talking about this

Watch the song here:

Source: https://thecurrent.pk/dg-ispr-defen...y6hps525sSGxVAUb9MF2TCnqOdUkylqO2GLzSPxVxGC48

------------------------

Lmao, okay.

Relevant meme for this forum:
View attachment 586761

Relevant tweet:
How can you beat @Zibago by posting it?

genraaailll track say out chal raha hai!
Matlab Kya hai aapka?
Army should make films to counter bollywood but actors should be army soldiers songs nhi honey chahiye films main Bollywood ki tarah Hollywood ki copy karain

I personally do not have much like for Item songs
However, these have become part of Movies and part of expected delivery

Girl + Vulgar lyrics + Gestures = Item song
Most of time the shit is so bad you can't watch it with your family
If such movies are still needed just give it adult rating for mature people

After a movie is released and becomes mainstream
I find it odd, that little children are then dancing over the tunes whose wordings are mature and mostly for adults

Either the movies should be given an R rating as done in the USA , for vulgar content
or movies should be made about suggestive wordings

If the movie is for adults, it should be clearly identified as such
If Adults want to view something which has content which is more mature i.e Dialogs and lyrics

Blockade of vulgar Indian drama/ movies should be the top priority and Cable operators should be closely watched

Indian Ugly rats beautified with lighting effect and photoshop and makeup should not be given extensive coverage emerging from India

Make Drama and Movies about our own culture
  • Caliphs
  • Sahaba
  • Conquest of Jerusalem
  • Conquest of Constantinople
  • Documentaries of Islamic Heritage
  • Coverage of Music in Islam's 1400+ year history
  • Islamic historic cities and culture
  • Make movies about Gazwa-e-Hind or Drama series
  • Cover shows about Muslim successful businessman / women

• Ban on Indian made commercials running on Pakistani TV channels, using Indian actors posing as Pakistanis

Matlab Kya hai aapka?
Army should make films to counter bollywood but actors should be army soldiers songs nhi honey chahiye films main Bollywood ki tarah Hollywood ki copy karain
nai softcore pron banaye Halal pron!

Movies can be made to include great stories and acting
World wide movies are made with no dancing involved

Most Hollywood movies have no dancing around, they just have story and acting
Due to illegal cabels and pirate movies and Cinema supporter by Nawaz sharif , Indian rats were given way too much credit for their none sense toilet movies

indianrats.png

Wrong headline and title. He just clarified the question he was being asked. What does it had to do with defending an item song?

I think no professional army run film industry, this is task of private sector like happens in u.s and all other countries

Belly dance is common across the Middle East and North Africa
Only in Saudi Arabia stuff is not that Prominent even their they mostly watch Egyptian content
Everything exists underground in their private gatherings

Dance itself exist in Arabian society

As I said before, there is mature content and there is "General" rating content

• The context of "item" song is vulgar , girl between 40 guys performing suggestive song

Movies for adult age audience no issue people should watch what they want
It's messed up when such songs are infront of Children, specially since these are mostly vocal with street slang and charged up context, verbal context is mostly for Gunda mawali

Those people who talk about item songs have never seen Pakistani films
There are hundreds of Pakistani films from 90s and early 2000s all of those films have item songs

Movies can be made to include great stories and acting
World wide movies are made with no dancing involved

Most Hollywood movies have no dancing around, they just have story and acting
Due to illegal cabels and pirate movies and Cinema supporter by Nawaz sharif , Indian rats were given way too much credit for their none sense toilet movies

View attachment 586767

Hollywood movies have a lot more stuff in replacement of dancing, lol.

Belly dance is common across the Middle East and North Africa
Only in Saudi Arabia stuff is not that Prominent even their they mostly watch Egyptian content
Everything exists underground in their private gatherings

Dance itself exist in Arabian society

As I said before, there is mature content and there is "General" rating content

• The context of "item" song is vulgar , girl between 40 guys performing suggestive song

Movies for adult age audience no issue people should watch what they want
It's messed up when such songs are infront of Children, specially since these are mostly vocal with street slang and charged up context, verbal context is mostly for Gunda mawali

Can you like stay on topic, please. We are talking about mr ISPR and his item song here. Stop spamming my thread.

Wrong headline and title. He just clarified the question he was being asked. What does it had to do with defending an item song?

He justified it, which means he defended it. English 101 for you.