Delhi: Kejriwal-led AAP govt scraps infra projects promised by Cong govt to foot subsidy bill

Aarush

The Delhi government has decided to scrap some infrastructure projects promised by the Shiela Dikshit government in the last budget, channelling the money to its promised subsidies on electricity tariffs amid falling revenue collections.

36898455-9e5c-4528-acb2-dcea55680469wallpaper1.jpg

Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. (PTI)
The Aam Aadmi Party government has decided to reduce the plan budget of 2013-14 by removing some projects that failed to take off in this financial year and utilise the money for ‘other pressing needs’. Chief minister Arvind Kejriwal has also cancelled ‘frivolous’ projects launched by the previous government but hasn’t specified on the details.

Delhi government’s plan budget was estimated at Rs. 16,000 crore for 2013-14.

Read: Kejriwal says corruption is down, but can’t prove it

Officials said the decision to slash electricity tariffs by half for almost 85% of Delhi, who consume less than 400 units of power in one billing cycle, will force the government to cough up an additional Rs. 201 crore in the last quarter of 2013-14, on top of the existing Rs. 500 crore subsidy on frugal consumers.

“Subsidy is announced when the budget is presented and money is kept for the purpose. Since the government announced the subsidy in the last quarter of the financial year, it has to reduce allocation made to other departments and divert money under this head,” said a senior Delhi government requesting anonymity.

“Money kept aside for construction of hospitals, schools and roads promised in the budget, which haven’t started, will be diverted,” the official added.

Read: Delhi govt trying to bypass Centre on lokpal bill?

The problem has been made more acute by the economic slowdown which has hit the government’s revenue collections badly, with a shortfall of almost Rs. 3,000 crore.

The government had expected to collect Rs. 30,600 crore as taxes but its collection only stood at Rs. 17,400 crore on December 31. Officials said they were not sure if tax collection would touch the 2012-13 figure ofRs. 23, 900 crore, since there was a heavy downfall in the sale and purchase of properties, registration of new vehicles and collection by VAT and excise departments.

Delhi: Kejriwal-led AAP govt scraps infra projects promised by Cong govt to foot subsidy bill - Hindustan Times

Arvind Kejriwal has a lot of experience in the revenue department. He knows how the corruption works. This is the time, he has to show, whatever he said in the past.

Corruption is a lot overrated thingy in our part of the world.

We can talk a lot about it, but usually we cannot find it when asked.

Sure you may have to grease the palms of one baboo or some police wallah.

But you can't recover it no matter how big anti-corruption-hockey stick you carry around.

Corruption is a lot overrated thingy in our part of the world.

We can talk a lot about it, but usually we cannot find it when asked.

Sure you may have to grease the palms of one bamboo or some police wallah.

But you can't recover it no matter how big anti-corruption-hockey stick, you carry around.

Corruption is literally draining our countries.

After the civil war in America 1861-1865. They laid the foundation of US, they studied different role models in the world. One lesson they learned from French was that their country crippled due to corruption. Founding fathers of US were clear on one matter, that was corruption. There won't be any place of corruption in the US.

I think that's the same attitude, we have to adopt.

Zero tolerance for corruption.

GREAT work by Kejri.

Delhi WAS a great city ONCE & than AAP happened.

The Delhi government has decided to scrap some infrastructure projects promised by the Shiela Dikshit government in the last budget, channelling the money to its promised subsidies on electricity tariffs amid falling revenue collections.

36898455-9e5c-4528-acb2-dcea55680469wallpaper1.jpg

Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. (PTI)
The Aam Aadmi Party government has decided to reduce the plan budget of 2013-14 by removing some projects that failed to take off in this financial year and utilise the money for ‘other pressing needs’. Chief minister Arvind Kejriwal has also cancelled ‘frivolous’ projects launched by the previous government but hasn’t specified on the details.

Delhi government’s plan budget was estimated at Rs. 16,000 crore for 2013-14.

Read: Kejriwal says corruption is down, but can’t prove it

Officials said the decision to slash electricity tariffs by half for almost 85% of Delhi, who consume less than 400 units of power in one billing cycle, will force the government to cough up an additional Rs. 201 crore in the last quarter of 2013-14, on top of the existing Rs. 500 crore subsidy on frugal consumers.

“Subsidy is announced when the budget is presented and money is kept for the purpose. Since the government announced the subsidy in the last quarter of the financial year, it has to reduce allocation made to other departments and divert money under this head,” said a senior Delhi government requesting anonymity.

“Money kept aside for construction of hospitals, schools and roads promised in the budget, which haven’t started, will be diverted,” the official added.

Read: Delhi govt trying to bypass Centre on lokpal bill?

The problem has been made more acute by the economic slowdown which has hit the government’s revenue collections badly, with a shortfall of almost Rs. 3,000 crore.

The government had expected to collect Rs. 30,600 crore as taxes but its collection only stood at Rs. 17,400 crore on December 31. Officials said they were not sure if tax collection would touch the 2012-13 figure ofRs. 23, 900 crore, since there was a heavy downfall in the sale and purchase of properties, registration of new vehicles and collection by VAT and excise departments.

Delhi: Kejriwal-led AAP govt scraps infra projects promised by Cong govt to foot subsidy bill - Hindustan Times
arvind is destroying delhi

I am more afraid.

Maybe in few months Delhi = Bangladesh :cray:
Saale Bangladesh is run by the greatest leader everrrrr. She hangs terrorists by their balls. This guy on the other hand is a socialist+terrorist sympathizer, killer combo

So your fetish with bengladesh continues????

Bhai.....:D

The way Kejri is working - Dharna, free electricity, free water, favoring khap panchayat, giving his own certificates for corruption, scrapping infra projects, etc. I am afraid, our beautiful Capital will soon become another BD :D

That is not happening mate...... for that you need police in your hand.... Here the police is under GOI.....
I was talking about his economic policies :cheesy:,
  • Subsidies to provide free water, electricity
  • Diverting funds from infrastructure projects for subsidies
  • Barring FDI in retail
Dilli waalo ki watt lagegi and I am loving it

Policy decides the ideology..not the party. Even if Kejriwal & their AAP doesn't want to go there.. their policy will take them towards socialism!