Crank Calls from Pakistan

Today morning i got sms on my '3' service that I won 15k . No Indian ruppes or Au$ but the pound.
ye hame chu**** bananee nikle he.

But the DTH Recharging SCAM coming from Pakistan is way too Much!.I think mostly Airtel customers are targetted.

Nothing beats the US$15 million I won as per Mr Smith from Nigeria who told me that I won this amount in a lottery which I never entered. He thereafter politely informed me that I had to pay an administration fee of US$100k to claim my prize. When I asked him to deduct the admin fee from my prize and post me a cheque he just hung up :D

‘Got a missed call from +92? Don’t call back’

MUMBAI: Vodafone has cautioned its customers against unidentified calls originating from Pakistan. “At Vodafone we care for your security. If you receive a missed call from an unidentified number starting with +92, do not call back or divulge any personal details,’’ reads an SMS sent out to Vodafone customers. (+92 is Pakistan’s international direct dialing code).

A Vodafone spokesperson told TOI that these messages were sent out as a matter of precaution. “There have been instances where people have received SMSes and calls informing them that they have won a lottery. They are then asked to reveal personal details,’’ said the spokesperson.

Incidentally, Vodafone’s advisory comes less than a month after Airtel sent out similar messages to its customers. TOI had earlier reported that fraudsters appeared to have gained access to Airtel’s subscriber account. Several Airtel customers had received information that they had won a lottery from conmen posing as Airtel customer care executives.

While the Vodafone spokesperson was unaware of whether or not Vodafone customers had been targeted, he said the SMSes were being sent out as a matter of precaution. “We don’t have to wait for our customers to become victims of fraud before we issue an advisory against it,’’ he said.

“We have re-iterated the warning on our website. We are aware that Airtel has been advising its customers of the same,’’ added the Vodafone spokesperson.

TOI had earlier quoted an Airtel official saying, “Bharti Airtel has learnt that customers are arbitrarily being targeted by persons who pretend to be calling on our behalf and inform the recipient that he/she has won a lottery/award conducted by the respective telecom operator. The fraudster then attempts to con customers into divulging sensitive personal information and to pay a “commission” to receive the winnings. Such commission is usually asked to be paid via DTH recharge vouchers. Airtel would like to warn its customers that these are calls from fraudsters with malicious intent and they do not represent the company.’’

I too got an call last week, they said if I give three correct answers i'll win something.....
1st question- Taj mahal kidhar hai?
reply- teri maa ke .... mai :D

last time i visited Pakistan, i received a phone call saying i won 500,000 rupees i think and then they told me to call them back. I phoned them and they said now give us 5 100RS voucher numbers of their company in order to become eligible for that 500,000 prize. I just hanged up..........

In emails i have become billionaire by now........... receive emails like 10000 times saying Congratulations you have won 50 million dollars, 5 million, 100 million or 2.5million dollars

did it ever happened to you people a sms like this

"I am in hospital for the sake of God & His Prophet please send me credit, don't think i am lying" :lol:
mein bohot musibat mein hoon. Aap jo koi bhi hoo khuda rasool ka wasta is number per 50 Rs easy load kardo. Please.

I get these all the times.

This scam is every where, from Nigeria, from Indonesia from US...its everywhere so why to singled out Pakistan in it. Infact I never received any call from from +92 numbers.

I have received and like the OP I called back too. Then I called the local phone company, if it is true.

The person calling was like "Ji main Eeetislut Pakistan ka numainda hoon...". I figured he couldn't pronounce Etisalat properly, something must be up. Etisalat told me about the fraud. Called him back, chaar sunai, and hung up.

This is a global phenomenon. Pakistani numbers are appearing as Missed calls on people's phone and it is not just a crank call.

They will tell you things like you've won some money and if you can confirm some certain number on your sim card, we'll give you the money and when you do give that number to them, they end up withdrawing some large sum of money and you end up footing the bill.

These are loopholes existing in many telecoms all over the world being exploited by scam artists.

I'm not sure why only Pakistani numbers are showing up. Probably because VoIP connectivity can be set up from home with minimum documentation in 5 mins in Pakistan

This phenomenon is still on.

I got a missed call fro + 92 3346378309.

Just wanted to share with all here to be careful while answering or replying to missed calls from numbers starting with + 92.

he he , This happens here in Canada when you buy Wind or Mobilicity plan and take additional any South Asian Plan as top up. One guy called me on my number when i took Mobilicity Plan and initially that guy started in "toot-footi" english and then asked me if I can talking Hindi/urdu and then started explaining me in Urdu that lottery has been won as I took new number. I already knew this as my friends also got the call.

Anyways, there are nuisance everywhere I wont Blame Pakistan for the same but those were "non-state" Pakistanis ;) .

ive been getting calls from a Wisconsin USA number almost every week saying i won an all expenses paid trip to Bahamas (via some shipliner which doesnt even exist)...they say to enter your credit card number and address to receive this "all expense paid ticket" (ya i must've been born yesterday and with severe autism, azzholes)...had a bit of an indian accent and the connection wasnt too good...he even had the gal to put me on hold when i returned the call :lol:

all kinds of silliness out there......

if it sounds too good to be true or if its just any kind of spam call, just hang the phone up.....when it comes to scams and money making schemes the Nigerians are the world experts

This morning I recieved a call from + 92 3427748857. The gent on the other end identified himself as ' Vijay" . He informed me of having 'won' Rs 15 lakhs and proceeded to give instructions on how to claim it.

I repiled to the missed call thinking it was a Tata Indicom No ( starting with 92..). Upon realising that no Airtel executive would call from a Tata No, I saw the No carefully to realise it was prefixed with + 92 and not + 91.

Needless to say I gave him a mouthful . I am sharing this for information of others who may be so affected & to warn others.
congrats your sim got cloned.

BSNL warning over missed calls and SIM cloning - Times Of India