Commonwealth Games in jeopardy

SanaSarwar

New Recruit

Commonwealth Games in jeopardy
News & Views

Mohammad Jamil

International media continues to highlight the appalling conditions surrounding the athletes’ village in particular and poor arrangements in general. The Associated Press stated: “Less than two weeks before it begins, one of the world’s biggest sports events is in jeopardy as organizers struggle to cope with unfinished buildings, a ****** athletes’ village called unfit for human habitation, a bridge collapse, concerns over security and corruption, and an outbreak of dengue fever”. The US and the West are trying to build up India as a countervailing force against China, and feel that Commonwealth Games would showcase the emerging power of India like China did in 2008 Olympics in Beijing. But from the things going awry before the start of the Commonwealth games, India’s dream of holding World Olympics is destined to remain unfulfilled. India had hoped that by hosting the Commonwealth Games successfully it would qualify for hosting World Olympics in 2020 or 2024. In fact, Indian leadership had shot itself in its foot when it raised the bogey of terrorist threat from across the border with a view to bringing Pakistan into disrepute, though the real threat is from homegrown terrorists - dozens of extremist Hindu organizations, Naxalites and insurgencies in Northeastern states.

On 3rd August 2010, ‘The Hindu’ daily had carried a report by Daniel Lewis who observed that Delhi Commonwealth Games are just two months away, but security arrangements have still not reached the standard expected by the Commonwealth Games Federation. In Delhi, Fergus the Chief Executive of Intelligent Risks had said: “There’s no cast-iron guarantee about terrorism anywhere on this planet. They are doing everything that’s possible to deliver a safe and secure Games environment. There’s no such thing as a faultless international major event; because of its scale and complexity that’s just not achievable”. Though one would not venture into skepticism that India would roil its mega event of Commonwealth Games, yet India has the history of using each and every occasion to denigrate and prove Pakistan as a state that sponsors terrorism. Therefore, those who are aware of India’s tricks and ruses did not rule out the possibility of India’s stage-managing a ‘controlled’ false flag operation. Anyhow, the last-minute preparations are in such disarray that some officials are speculating that a few teams could withdraw or the event could be called off.

Already England, Australia and Canada – the real pillars of the Commonwealth - have voiced concerns about the conditions in India. Australian ‘discus throw’ world champion Dani Samuels withdrew from the games citing concerns over health and security, according to her manager, Hayden Knowles. England’s Phillips Idowu also said he won’t defend his ‘triple jump’ title in New Delhi because of fears for his safety. He explained on Twitter that he has children, and “my safety is more important to them than a medal.” On the news that dozens of participants would withdraw from the games if proper arrangements are not made, the Commonwealth Games Federation urged the Indian government to finish work on the athletes’ village, which was due to open last Thursday. In addition to shoddy conditions inside and outside the buildings, there also are problems with plumbing, wiring, furnishings, Internet access and cell phone coverage. Commonwealth Games Federation chief executive Mike Hooper had expressed his concern over the poor arrangements for the games, and asked Indian government to do the needful. Hooper said newspaper reports of human excrement around the village were true. The BBC, the games’ biggest and most influential broadcaster, has detailed the flaws in arrangements on its website and called the state of the village “shocking.” CGF chief executive Mike Hooper said organizers had not lived up to promises on delivery dates. The day of 3rd October 2010 is fast approaching and so does the time to kick off the mega games event that unites the Commonwealth countries. But this time, the event is marred by controversies.

The Indian Foreign Minister, SM Krishna, while talking to a news channel, said, “I think we will be able to deliver. We are trying to remain optimistic but if the unthinkable happens and the games are cancelled, one of the things we would need to look at is if there is another competition we can take part in.” This statement is reflective of the extreme nervousness of Indian government. Anyhow, India is no more talking about threat from non-state actors from Pakistan otherwise the participants would withdraw en-bloc from the games. On Sunday, Indian External Affairs SM Krishna has offered to discuss all issues festering relations of Pakistan and India including the Kashmir issue to give a soothing effect to the participating countries.

At the present the situation is that despite the fact many Hindu extremists and terrorists’ organizations exist in India, but India is focusing on Maoists. A few months ago India started military operation against insurgents in Lalgarh tribal region of West Bengal. In the wake of insurgency by the Maoists, the Central government of India had banned the Communist Party of India (Maoist) last year, terming it a terrorist organisation. It invoked Section 41 of the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act against the extremist outfit. Many States, including Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, had declared the CPI (Maoist) an unlawful association and a terrorist organization. Bihar, Orissa, Jharkhand and Tamil Nadu had done so under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act. In these eastern regions, Naxalites have established their writ running large in hundreds of villages. The CPI (Maoist) is now clubbed with other banned terror groups such as the Pakistan-based Lashkar-e-Toiba and the Sri Lankan Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam, with its offices and bank accounts sealed.

In the past India had banned violent Hindu fronts such as the Ranvir Sena and the Bajrang Dal, while there is a continuing debate about taking action against right-wing Hindu political organizations such as the Shiv Sena and the Vishwa Hindu Parishad. It appears that India would not take on Hindu extremist organizations because it can use them to create frenzy against Pakistan. In May 2010, the Communist Party of India (CPI) asked the Centre to take stern action against Hindu extremist outfits allegedly involved in terror acts, claiming there was enough evidence against them. National Secretary of CPI D Raja had said the government has been more focused on tackling Leftwing extremism but rightwing extremism is proving to be more dangerous to national unity and integrity. Raja’s statement had come after the CPI (M) castigated the Centre for lack of firmness in dealing with Hindutva extremists and demanded a coordinated probe into the attacks in Malegaon, Hyderabad and Ajmer allegedly carried out by such outfits. The terrorist attacks in Malegaon, Hyderabad and Ajmer must be seen as the handiwork of a network of Hindutva extremist groups. India should, therefore, look inside instead of accusing Pakistan of every act of terrorism in India, and should put its own house in order. It should also resume composite dialogue and start from the point the discussions had ended.

—The writer is Lahore-based senior journalist.

WORLD SHOULD BYCOTT CMG

100 kashmiries are murdered in a month most of them between 6 to 18 years.

then there is a degradeing living conditions in CMG village or what ever the place where players will stay.

I think civilized world should bycott the games due to dricolian state of India should be discouraged for its acts against humanity

WORLD SHOULD BYCOTT CMG

then there is a degradeing living conditions in CMG village or what ever the place where players will stay.

I think civilized world should bycott the games due to dricolian state of India should be discouraged for its acts against humanity

yes players who wanted to come,have joined the games n some of them are in the plane.
btw u r free to decide,u can quit n boycott alone.:pakistan::pakistan:

WORLD SHOULD BYCOTT CMG

Well Such Things Happened In Bejieng Olypics when Tibetians were Conducting rally to stop The games, if the world Is Not kind enough to stop Olympics would they even care for this CWG???? But Hey All the Major Tournaments Have been taken Out of Pakistan, Why is that so??? You respect a Lot for humanity isnt it???

pakistan should have bycotted but we didnot
why ?
because unlike India , we care for neighbors and dont find excuses to worsen the relations :)

Well Such Things Happened In Bejieng Olypics when Tibetians were Conducting rally to stop The games, if the world Is Not kind enough to stop Olympics would they even care for this CWG???? But Hey All the Major Tournaments Have been taken Out of Pakistan, Why is that so??? You respect a Lot for humanity isnt it???

Yes I respect humanity and appose hte butchering of Kashmiries in INDIAN OCCUPIED KASHMIR where since Partition :cheers:Indian is butchering kashmiries

Anyways Your Cries would Go Unheard Here, This is not the place to discuss about it, You have a dedicated Thread to Shed Your crocodile tears for Kashmir....

why ?
because unlike India , we care for neighbors and dont find excuses to worsen the relations :)

Its Because Your Players did Not want to Sit In front of TV while Others Play there event....Come on get over it.....

Anyways Your Cries would Go Unheard Here, This is not the place to discuss about it, You have a dedicated Thread to Shed Your crocodile tears for Kashmir....

oh no
I am not sheding any tear
who told you
I just pasted what i thought

btw in few days Verdict on babri Masjid case will come
and hindu tva will start killing muslims again
and real face of Bharat Rashtra will again expose

:cheers:

why ?

You are not ready worsen your relation with India but you want rest of the world to do the your dirty work for you!!??

One thing for sure that India should have prepared it self appropriately for the games...

Corruption should have minimized in CWG but nothing like that happened...

Indians should do something practically to show world their real power instead of just raising slogans of Incredible India...

You cannot call it a good preparation when just a few days before the start of games a bridge collapses... I mean what were indians thinking when they were preparing for the games ??

Von Hölle;1165195 said:
You are not ready worsen your relation with India but you want rest of the world to do the your dirty work for you!!??

no we dont employ mukti bahni

Remember Mukti bahni?

banya ji yea arthshastra nahi jahan tum apnay mukar may har bar kamyaab ho