China
‘China going against us, Pak attacks rising’: Cong slams Modi’s foreign policy
  • Agencies, New Delhi
    |
  • Updated: Jun 28, 2016 21:25 IST
sco-summit_81304bce-3d46-11e6-86cd-639e2418d1d4.jpg

The Congress rubbished on Tuesday foreign policy claims made by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, saying India’s ties with China had worsened and infiltration and terror attacks from across the Pakistan border had intensified.

Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said more the PM met with leaders of neighbouring countries like China, the “more they go against us”. “As Prime Minister was trying to placate China, the Chinese forces were making incursions into our territory,” he said.

Azad said terrorism had virtually ceased in Jammu and Kashmir in 2008, but the situation took a turn for the worse in the past two years.

“Modi called Pakistan (counterpart) to his swearing-in ceremony (in May 2014). He talked to the Pakistan Prime Minister (Nawaz Sharif) at several fora. He even reached Lahore but in return what did we get in two years? Terrorism, that had almost ended in Jammu and Kashmir. In these two years, there is so much infiltration and ceasefire violation as had not happened in the last 60 years,” the Congress leader said.

In a television interview on Monday, Modi said it was because of his consistent efforts like the visit to Lahore and inviting Sharif to Delhi that he no longer has to convince the world either about India’s stand on terrorism or its willingness to engage with its neighbour.

He also said India has been raising issues of its interest with China in a straight-forward manner and it will continue making efforts to be a member of the Nuclear Supplier Group (NSG).

Seeking to dismiss the Prime Minister’s claim that China had turned lukewarm towards India after his grand welcome in the US, Azad said Rajiv Gandhi, as PM, had managed to maintain good relations with America, Russia and China at the same time.

“For two years, the Prime Minister was active in travelling abroad, but what has been the result of these travels?”

The Congress leader said it would have been better if Modi had held a press conference instead of giving an interview to a television news channel, adding he did not look “decisive”.

“I saw a Prime Minister being so defensive for the first time. The lion that would roar in April 2014; we saw him as an old lion. He looked weak; he was not decisive. It is sad,” Azad said.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...eign-policy/story-WPfEqTAT85V0AwTzlXpHVI.html

Wow!! What a Statement -- We believe you.
Some additions from my side on Congress to enlighten neighbours.

What is congress’s ideal India’s vision?
India which has president soniaji , prime minister rahulji , home minister priyanakaji , finance minister vadraji.

When did history of India began as per congress?
1919 ,when motilal nehruji became president of congress.

What is manmohan singh’s biggest achievement in 9 years?
He made country realize that India can survive without prime minister …

What was congress’s slogan for 2014 elections?
Hindu , muslim , sikh issayi
humne sabko loota hai bhai…
Vote for congress , we are truly secular..

Why Rahul Gandhi is called youth icon?
Because everyone calls him "Pappu"

Well when you try to isolate us like North Korea and publicly announce that as your intentions, we won't exactly take too kindly.

Silly Congress...China did not change its policy towards India...At least one part for which i appriciate Chines leadership is in the consistency in their foreogn policy...They always allign with Pakistan and interest and they will make sure their ally Pakistan is protected...Nothing wrong in it...All the big powers behave in this way..

Now, it is true that India has changed its policy to streamline in a direction...Fact is that Congress always takes the middle ground with fear that China will feel bad...But that policy is outdated, India has to and will be forced to take some direction to certain foreign affairs that might collide with interest But that is going to happen one day or the other..
‘China going against us, Pak attacks rising’: Cong slams Modi’s foreign policy
  • Agencies, New Delhi
    |
  • Updated: Jun 28, 2016 21:25 IST
sco-summit_81304bce-3d46-11e6-86cd-639e2418d1d4.jpg

The Congress rubbished on Tuesday foreign policy claims made by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, saying India’s ties with China had worsened and infiltration and terror attacks from across the Pakistan border had intensified.

Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said more the PM met with leaders of neighbouring countries like China, the “more they go against us”. “As Prime Minister was trying to placate China, the Chinese forces were making incursions into our territory,” he said.

Azad said terrorism had virtually ceased in Jammu and Kashmir in 2008, but the situation took a turn for the worse in the past two years.

“Modi called Pakistan (counterpart) to his swearing-in ceremony (in May 2014). He talked to the Pakistan Prime Minister (Nawaz Sharif) at several fora. He even reached Lahore but in return what did we get in two years? Terrorism, that had almost ended in Jammu and Kashmir. In these two years, there is so much infiltration and ceasefire violation as had not happened in the last 60 years,” the Congress leader said.

In a television interview on Monday, Modi said it was because of his consistent efforts like the visit to Lahore and inviting Sharif to Delhi that he no longer has to convince the world either about India’s stand on terrorism or its willingness to engage with its neighbour.

He also said India has been raising issues of its interest with China in a straight-forward manner and it will continue making efforts to be a member of the Nuclear Supplier Group (NSG).

Seeking to dismiss the Prime Minister’s claim that China had turned lukewarm towards India after his grand welcome in the US, Azad said Rajiv Gandhi, as PM, had managed to maintain good relations with America, Russia and China at the same time.

“For two years, the Prime Minister was active in travelling abroad, but what has been the result of these travels?”

The Congress leader said it would have been better if Modi had held a press conference instead of giving an interview to a television news channel, adding he did not look “decisive”.

“I saw a Prime Minister being so defensive for the first time. The lion that would roar in April 2014; we saw him as an old lion. He looked weak; he was not decisive. It is sad,” Azad said.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...eign-policy/story-WPfEqTAT85V0AwTzlXpHVI.html

Well when you try to isolate us like North Korea and publicly announce that as your intentions, we won't exactly take too kindly.

We will continue that whether you like or not .

On topic :We dont need Congress version of foreign policy ,not any more .
It was good during earlier decades .But now we have power and power should be effectively utilise for our purpose .
After Indira ,Rao and Vajpayee ,only now we can see some decisive fruitful foreign policy .

China gone too far and now it is our turn .D
We have already seen the pathetic case of diplomacy of so called emerging superpower .
Even at this stage India alone was powerful enough to earn support of 44 nation in NSG.It was a sole work of our MEA ,higher up in US even didnt involve in there .
Far better than China and Congress can only dream such a diplomatic success with their limped foreign policy.

Maybe Modi just woke up and smelled the coffee. Election rhetoric is one thing but Modi went too far against Pakistan. It was only a matter of time before it backed fire. Indians think we are North Korea while they are the next US. Time to wake up.
And as for the increased militancy well its India's own doing. Kashmiris have the right to self determination. If you are going to forcefully disregard that, what do you think is going to happen?

Usual opposition rant nothing significant. Every now and then they have to come out and criticize the govt. for its policies. That is their responsibility as they are the opposition.:pleasantry:

That won't ever happen.

And is just happening now .
Your officials shouted and whined a lots .India did this ,India did that.
But so far noone even give a single hair in their left ear for that.
And shall I post some articles in your media that expressing opinion about isolation ?

Maybe Modi just woke up and smelled the coffee. Election rhetoric is one thing but Modi went too far against Pakistan. It was only a matter of time before it backed fire. Indians think we are North Korea while they are the next US. Time to wake up.
And as for the increased militancy well its India's own doing. Kashmiris have the right to self determination. If you are going to forcefully disregard that, what do you think is going to happen?

Back fire ?Where ?

After 2000s and NDA ,it is only now we see some decisive,powerful and successful foreign policy .
We are really impressed.

And is just happening now .
Your officials shouted and whined a lots .India did this ,India did that.
But so far noone even give a single hair in their left ear for that.
And shall I post some articles in your media that expressing opinion about isolation ?

India also whines about Pakistan, but no coutnry cares less either. Also, there is a difference between isolation and just not caring about specific issues.

We wont whine but just takes action .
Ask your own diplomats or higher official in Pakistan if you know someone .
Ask them how 2008 and evidences of terrorist structure in Pakistan destroyed the image of your nation .
They are still struggling to change that and you are saying we are just whining .

What about the blocking of F 16 jets and non cooperation of France ?

Pakistan has two powerful allies, 1.a rising China set to overtake US economically soon in the near future, 2.the whole Muslim world. So talking about isolating Pakistan is hilariously stupid

China faced trouble in NSG ,even if that was our own sole diplomatic effort .One can only imagine if US use their full diplomatic might in such cases like that .
You are economically successful .Good ,I appreciate that ,but if you have itch because of the money penetration in your bones then you are asking for trouble .

Whole Muslim World .?
We have seen that depth when our PM visited GCC.
And Turkey may also find some other thing in Xinjiang .