Challenges of being a non-drinker

Margarita

by Saurav Bhanot

I'd like to believe I'm not easily scared.

Having jumped off a plane and dived deep into the sea, there's not much that makes me weak in the knees. I've loved and lost so that's also checked off the list. I haven't played with fire, literally, but then, there's a difference between brave and beyond repair, right?

Basically, I'm quite courageous. I'm not scared of adversity. I stand up for what I believe in and I'm always willing to take on a new adventure. I'm not scared of many things.

The only thing I'm really scared of are Saturday nights!

Because that one night, every week, I'm living under the fear of coming across as not 'cool' and socially relevant. I'm stressed about not being labeled a 'party pooper'. I'm scared that my friends, colleagues and acquaintances might not make me a social outcast. So, what do I do? I quietly pick up a glass of alcohol and take small sips, all this while pretending that I'm having a great time.

Even if I don't like drinking, I somehow HAVE to drink or else, how will I make friends?

b3b9c1cc-8966-4038-832d-dfa21cf12462.jpg

Source: Mental Floss

I'm sure I'm not the only one who's being forced to drink alcohol.

The next time you're in a club, bar, lounge or even a restaurant, take a good look around you. Every table and every corner would have atleast one scared soul who'll be drinking as if their social life depended on it. And sadly, their social life would be on stake!

What is with all the alcohol lovers?

"Have atleast one drink, yaar!", "Stop being such a bore!", "You don't drink? WTF! Why?"

It's like living in a jungle. If you want to survive, you have got to down a shot. Or, sit and home and never face the world.

Har ek friend zaruri hota hai? Actually, har ek friend ke saath peena zaruri hota hai!

ccfbe622-3285-40ee-9789-90232285f683.jpg

Source: Zee News

Unfortunately, drinking has now become a means of social engagement.

Want to catch up with a friend? Meet them for a drink. Want to ask someone out? Ask them for a drink. Planning a gathering with colleagues? Plan the drinks menu first. Throwing your birthday party? Make sure there's enough alcohol. Getting married? There better be a cocktail night.

Next thing you know, you'll be busy stocking your bar before you die because why have a prayer meet that isn't serving some red wine atleast!

Why has every opportunity to meet someone become an excuse to drink? Are we completely unable to have an engaging conversation without being high? Or does everyone we know appear less boring when we're a few drinks down?

Are we just looking for an opportunity to drink and meeting a friend just happens to be an excuse?

057b6dd2-c20f-4c05-99f0-2f056adc3471.jpg

Source: On Sizzle

I don't like to drink. Never have, never will.

However, I have never judged those who choose to consume alcohol. I have friends who love drinking. Colleagues who need a beer (or two) on a Friday evening. Family that certainly wants to have a well-stocked bar for functions. And that's fine.

It's their life and their choice. Just how it is my choice to not drink.

When I can respect everyone's choice to drink, why can't people accept my choice to not?

No matter where I go, there's some kind of pressure to drink.

Firstly, there's the pressure to look cool. Then, there's the pressure to not spoil everyone else's fun. Then, you can't not be a part of a celebration by choosing to not drink.

"Aaj tere Bhai ka birthday hai aur tu ek drink nahi peeyega?"

bec43902-0ae7-4b6c-8f90-4b974b185061_1.jpg

Source: Your Tango
gifplay.png

Drinking should be a choice and not a social compulsion.

Of course, no one is pointing a gun to your head, asking you to have some vodka. But those who drink would never understand the plight of those who don't want to drink.

It's like standing in a candy store, looking at everyone buying all the colorful goodies. Except that, you just don't want any candy but you're being forced to stand there and somehow, taste one or two flavours.

It's also about the looks, stares and comments you get if you're the one who doesn't swear by alcohol. I know atleast 10 people who've stopped receiving invites for birthday parties because, "yaar, wo peeta hi nahi hai to party mein karega kya!". Not kidding!

If I don't want to drink, you don't have to treat me like a social outcast, right? You don't have to make me feel like a samosa that's caught in the land of waffles and pancakes!

db8a5775-3d1e-4049-8962-b02395cf2191.jpg

Source: Listas

It's time for all the non-drinkers, including yours truly, to stand up and take a stand!

We shouldn't tolerate this blatant intolerance anymore. We're all fun, exciting people even though we're not sharaabis.

Don't think I'm uncool. Don't believe that I'm ruining your 'scene' just because there's isn't a glass in my hand.

Don't treat me like a loser. Don't make me feel weird. Don't guilt me into drinking.

What a load of crap, guy seriously needs to dump whoever he's friends with and find some non retarded people to hang out with, that, or he's still in school/college and is a pussy.

People who don't like to drink, usually haven't found what they like.

You just need to spread your net far enough to find something you enjoy. ...and yes it does help to relax and reduce your inhibitions a little and just have fun....so long as it is not taken too far....

....don't be like our local drunkard @ranjeet :p:

I am also a non drinker if it doesn't include tequila.

I don't hate non drinkers because I am not that much into chakna and it doesn't bother me if they stuff themselves with everything that's there on the table.

Plus a non drinker will get you through police naka without hassle.

People who don't like to drink, usually haven't found what they like.

You just need to spread your net far enough to find something you enjoy. ...and yes it does help to relax and reduce your inhibitions a little and just have fun....so long as it is not taken too far....

....don't be like our local drunkard @ranjeet :p:

You are just jealous
19707466.cms

No smoking.
No drinking.
No sheesha.
Ever.

Even hesitant in taking alloptahy medicines.

No smoking.
No drinking.
No sheesha.
Ever.

Even hesitant in taking alloptahy medicines.

But lots and lots of PDF.

PDF has kept me relatively "sober" compared to before.

I get banned, I literally go to fridge and grab a beer each time :D

If you're confused, just drink more.

I'll drink to that!

One time I was out in the middle of the woods in the coldest canadian winter (rabbit hunting)...lost my way and started to panic (level 1). Thankfully I had the presence of mind to take a swig of some cognac in my flask, calm down and retrace my footprints till I found my buddies again. Cognac might have saved my life (certainly kept me warm and calmed me down). Ever since I never forget to take that same flask with some hard tipple in it when I go out into the cold for any extended period of time.

Drinking alcohol is Haraam in Islam.

I do not drink alcohol.

But lots and lots of PDF.

PDF has kept me relatively "sober" compared to before.

I get banned, I literally go to fridge and grab a beer each time :D

Amazing idea :yahoo:

I should try that when i get banned :woot:

One time I was out in the middle of the woods in the coldest canadian winter (rabbit hunting)...lost my way and started to panic (level 1). Thankfully I had the presence of mind to take a swig of some cognac in my flask, calm down and retrace my footprints till I found my buddies again. Cognac might have saved my life (certainly kept me warm and calmed me down). Ever since I never forget to take that same flask with some hard tipple in it when I go out into the cold for any extended period of time.
Huh? What did the poor rabbit ever do to you? :pissed:

Amazing idea :yahoo:

I should try that when i get banned :woot:

No!... if you don't drink....don't start! :D

I barely drink now because of PDF (and cpl other things like more exercise)....I am feeling a lot more balanced and healthier. Tipple is only for very rare occasions, mostly in the frigid cold or for returning acquaintances.

Past that, coffee is my beverage when I'm not drinking just plain water (completely cut out soft drinks too for a couple years now).

Huh? What did the poor rabbit ever do to you? :pissed:

It existed and taunted me with its yumminess. They aren't so kind to the nature around them either in that general area (dont get me started on rabbit infestations). I only go after things that are overpopulating an area (Canada is very good at releasing info and controlling the permits/tags for that).

No!... if you don't drink....don't start! :D

I barely drink now because of PDF (and cpl other things like more exercise)....I am feeling a lot more balanced and healthier. Tipple is only for very rare occasions, mostly in the frigid cold or for returning acquaintances.

Past that, coffee is my beverage when I'm not drinking just plain water (completely cut out soft drinks too for a couple years now).

It existed and taunted me with its yumminess. They aren't so kind to the nature around them either in that general area (dont get me started on rabbit infestations). I only go after things that are overpopulating an area (Canada is very good at releasing info and controlling the permits/tags for that).
So you gut it and skin it and eat it?

Bhuh! I couldn't do that !

So you gut it and skin it and eat it?

Bhuh! I couldn't do that !

I don't hunt for just the sport if thats what you are asking. So yeah, skin, gut and make some rabbit stew....and sell the pelt if its good enough.

I dont kill what I cannot eat.

BTW, are you vegetarian?