Centre to declare Haridwar, Rishikesh national heritage cities

I have visited Rishekesh. That place is damn dirty. Need some cleaning up pronto.
i have heard that US cities are also so dirty and filthy..it was surprise for me that lone super power too have the bad side.
in short..Need some cleaning up pronto...

America's 20 Dirtiest Cities

May I join the club as half member? I have fond memories of living in garwal and kumaon regions way back when it was akhand UP :D

.lol....there is not any club ...have you worked there in Garhwal and Kumoun and then shifted to UP after creation of Uttarakhand.?

I have visited Rishekesh. That place is damn dirty. Need some cleaning up pronto.

Correct. Same is the case with Haridwar. Both will need investment for better facilities and equipments.

OT : Good idea. These two cities can bring good tourism.

.lol....there is not any club ...have you worked there in Garhwal and Kumoun and then shifted to UP after creation of Uttarakhand.?

I know j/k. My father used to work for UP govt. Being from plains, he settled near his roots. In fact a distant relative of mine (also from plains) seriously considered choosing UK, he loved it so much. But chickened out at the last minute :)

@Aarush Also no use in pointing fingers at others. We should clean up our act first.

@Providence the plight is common in all heritage places. Years of neglect has made things worse, esp. in modern era. In old days things used were natural and sustainable, now modern packaging has arrived but we don't have proper garbage pickup and disposal. The problem has been identified and that's why a big focus on cleanup all around. I have been to Hrishikesh few decades ago, very nice calm and serene.

btw are you brit or state side? My username has significance in both Indian and American context. If you are American, could you point that out? :D

Bro u too from Uttarakhand ?

Some Pics from Rishikesh : Courtesy: @utraash ke Thread se :-)

1458509_757681844247907_1459169190_n-jpg.175242

10624617_1001295259886563_8796855943456074596_n-jpg.175250

10711008_951680984847991_6335562842095194950_n-jpg.175258

10646933_981582835191139_8470069164812394400_n-1-jpg.175267

10313729_866015923414498_2732445469067975312_n-jpg.175279

1384116_745401595475932_1149122837_n-jpg.175280

10346276_979646802051409_3823497172927935256_n-1-jpg.175283

10649731_989266171089472_4078114046053731347_n-jpg.175288

I love this place. I have visited there twice when child. Similar scenery in Far Cry 4.

@Providence the plight is common in all heritage places. Years of neglect has made things worse, esp. in modern era. In old days things used were natural and sustainable, now modern packaging has arrived but we don't have proper garbage pickup and disposal. The problem has been identified and that's why a big focus on cleanup all around. I have been to Hrishikesh few decades ago, very nice calm and serene.

btw are you brit or state side? My username has significance in both Indian and American context. If you are American, could you point that out? :D

It is ironical actually. I saw 2 religious parents who highly revered the river and took turns taking dip in it but didn't spare a thought when it came to allowing their 3 year old? kid to take a dump in that same river.

Are you referring to Michigan ? :D

Correct. Same is the case with Haridwar. Both will need investment for better facilities and equipments.

OT : Good idea. These two cities can bring good tourism.

They already do. Saw tonnes of people from States trying to find spirituality. I don;t know why the local govt don't spend much in cleaning the towns.

@Aarush Also no use in pointing fingers at others. We should clean up our act first.

Ok...But Providence may have visited the town at the time of religious festival when lakhs of people from all around of India and world visit the place..so it is not suprise for me that town would be not that clean at that time...provided that gov resources are not adequate too to handle this type of situation. On an average...its good, calm and clean city....if you visit at normal time.
but agree with you that a proper model is required to make our religious town a good tourism place if not best .

Buddy you are right but still if you compare Rishikesh to Mathura or Varanasi its far better than mentioned sites .....
I have visited many religious shrines especially UP/MP/Raj I honestly feel Rishikesh n Haridwar are more cleaner than any religious site India....
Yes I concur to your sentiment on cleanness standard of holy sites are pathetic in general.....

Rishikesh is far better in terms of cleanness. Once i was driniking with my friends in Rshikesh marina around 11 pm and suddenly two thulla came and asked us to come along with them becoz it was restricted area and then i asked them about their district in Garhwali language or fir hamari rishtedari nikal gayi.

lol..vo to Uttarakhand mein nikal hi aati hai....:lol:....Yes Rishikesh is a peaceful city....

Yeah i was with my desi friends and they wer afraid when they saw police but i started discussing in Garhwali fir district poocha they said chamoli then i asked the place then they said Gairsainand fir abey saala mere chacha ke bete ki shadi falane gaon mein hui hai
Police: abey haan ur talking about lakshmi?
me: yeah with beeru fauji
Police: abey yaar tum to jija ho. Achha jija ji u know that this is restricted area and u r not allowed to drink here or fir daroga bhi round pe hai.

Me: ok bro..let it finish and we will go
and my friends watching my face

Yeah i was with my desi friends and they wer afraid when they saw police but i started discussing in Garhwali fir district poocha they said chamoli then i asked the place then they said Gairsainand fir abey saala mere chacha ke bete ki shadi falane gaon mein hui hai
Police: abey haan ur talking about lakshmi?
me: yeah with beeru fauji
Police: abey yaar tum to jija ho. Achha jija ji u know that this is restricted area and u r not allowed to drink here or fir daroga bhi round pe hai.

Me: ok bro..let it finish and we will go
and my friends watching my face
hahahhahahahah.....:lol::lol: