Can Indian Economy Avert Crash Landing in 2011?

RiazHaq

Pakistan's economy had a hard landing in 2008. It was triggered by a balance of payments crisis brought about through precipitous decline in foreign capital inflows combined with policy inaction in response to major external shocks in terms of food and fuel prices during political transition. Is the Indian economy similarly vulnerable in 2011? Is it headed for significant slowdown in the next twelve months? And if it is, can the Indian leadership manage a soft landing through major policy actions now?

To answer these questions, let us examine the following facts:

1. India's current account deficit widened sharply to $13.7 billion in the June-quarter, which was around 3.7 per cent of GDP. The deficit was $4.5 billion in the same period year ago.

2. India's current account deficit is being increasingly funded by short-term capital inflows (FII) rather than more durable foreign direct investment (FDI), posing a risk to external balance and funding of gap, according to a recent warning by Goldman Sachs. "Nearly 80 per cent of the capital inflows are non- FDI related. Given the excess spare capacity globally, FDI may remain weak going forward," the Goldman note said.

3. Inflation in India is running at a double digit pace as is credit expansion. India's primary articles price index was up 15.35 percent in the latest week compared with an annual rise of 13.25 percent a week earlier, data on Thursday showed. Year-over-year credit growth was 23 per cent till December 3, while deposit growth was only 15 per cent, as compared to RBI's projection of 20 per cent and 18 per cent, respectively, for 2010-11.

4. India's Food and fuel prices are continuing to rise by double digits. The food price index rose more than 12 percent, with the price of onions -- the country's most widely-eaten vegetable -- of especial concern, while the fuel price index climbed 10.74 percent. This compared with 9.46 percent and 10.67 percent respectively in the previous week.

5. The oil prices are likely to spike as the American and European economies recover in 2011, prompting Indian commerce secretary Rahul Kullar to acknowledge that “I am not sanguine. One blip on crude prices and my import bill suddenly zooms. On pro-rata basis we are looking at $ 120 billion with a caveat that if oil prices go up, it could be $ 130-135 billion”. Crude oil prices are currently running at $ 87-88 per barrel.

While China's situation is better because it enjoys significant current account surpluses, it is also seeing its economy overheat along with India's economy. Mike Shedlock, an American investment advisor, believes that "India and China are going to overheat and crash, or their economic growth is going to slow dramatically, quite possibly both".

Indian President Pratibha Patil said last week that she is confident the economy will grow at about 9 percent in the current fiscal year ending March 2011 and would be on a sustained growth path of about 9 to 10 percent in FY12, according to Reuters. It is quite surprising that the Indian government continues to talk about increasing levels of economic growth in 2010-2011 and beyond amidst growing inflation and rising imbalances in the Indian economy. What they should be thinking about now is how to manage a soft landing by reducing liquidity and cutting India's twin deficits, rather than stepping on the accelerator and risk a big economic crash with long term negative consequences.

Read more at:

Haq's Musings: Indian Economy: Hard or Soft Landing in 2011?

Haq's Musings: Pakistan's Economic Performance 2008-2010

we pay taxes ............so that people in suits take care of it...................tension kyo layie..

@ fellow indian members:

Never mind who has posted the thread, the Indian economy IS weakening. I have verified all the facts in this post and they are true.

The current account deficit HAS trebled over the past year, mainly due to our increasing trade imbalances. Having a CAD of more than 3% is an alarming situation. The Indian economy has also liberalized so that we are allowing greater FII inflows.

We need to correct these problems otherwise the next global economic slowdown will have a much greater impact on India than the previous one. Indian manufacturing industry needs to be given a boost and domestic companies need to be given a helping hand in dealing with international competition.

Though the situation is not as alarming as the OP has suggested, yet, what has been pointed out is a major cause for concern has has to be dealt with sooner rather than later.

@ thread starter,

at least read what the world bank, IMF, ADB projections are for India.

There are many reputed analysts from different reputed organisations whose monthly earning is probably more than what you can earn in your entire life, who have given their forecasts for Indian economy. Go and read and undestand what they are saying.

Just because Pakistan is doing badly, don't force feed your wishful thinking that India ought to do badly so that you can take solace.

Yaar, tumare Ghar main aag lagi hai to ..... doosare ke ghar jali mombatti dekh kar, dil main sukoon lana bewakoofi hai.

Itani bhi Jalan aachi nahi hai...

@ thread starter,

at least read what the world bank, IMF, ADB projections are for India.

There are many reputed analysts from different reputed organisations whose monthly earning is probably more than what you can earn in your entire life, who have given their forecasts for Indian economy. Go and read and undestand what they are saying.

Just because Pakistan is doing badly, don't force feed your wishful thinking that India ought to do badly so that you can take solace.

Yaar, tumare Ghar main aag lagi hai to ..... doosare ke ghar jali mombatti dekh kar, dil main sukoon lana bewakoofi hai.

Itani bhi Jalan aachi nahi hai...

Please try to manage the supply of onions and vegtables in India before becoming the suppppppppppperr economy of the world.

Reactions: AUz
Never mind who has posted the thread, the Indian economy IS weakening. I have verified all the facts in this post and they are true.

The current account deficit HAS trebled over the past year, mainly due to our increasing trade imbalances. Having a CAD of more than 3% is an alarming situation. The Indian economy has also liberalized so that we are allowing greater FII inflows.

Having a trade deficit is not a huge problem, as long as you have enough economic growth to pay for it.

List of sovereign states by current account balance - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Japan for example has a huge trade surplus, but low economic growth. America has a massive trade deficit, however their economy is still doing better than Japan's.

@ fellow indian members:

I know they are true, but all those facts don't meant that the economy is weakening. All those are effects of a developing country. No developing country can have 0 inflation rates. When a country is growing rapidly, inflation rates are bound to be high.
We can afford a higher deficit, because we have high foreign reserves. And instead of holding dollar reserves, we hold gold reserves which appreciate over time.
We need to correct these problems otherwise the next global economic slowdown will have a much greater impact on India than the previous one. Indian manufacturing industry needs to be given a boost and domestic companies need to be given a helping hand in dealing with international competition.

Though the situation is not as alarming as the OP has suggested, yet, what has been pointed out is a major cause for concern has has to be dealt with sooner rather than later.

There is nothing like a next economic slowdown. This slow down that we are experiencing will not go away. Its an effect of a world order change. US, EU don't run the economies anymore. The world is multi polar right now, and the slowdown will remain until China, and India grow into an economic superpower.

When India and China grow to a stage where they can invest in other countries, the slow down shall stop, and things shall get back on track for most of the world.

Countries like US, UK, Japan are losing money very quickly, they can not afford to invest anymore, and without investments, there's slowdown. These countries will never be able to get back to their golden ages anytime soon, not alteast in another hundred years, so in the meanwhile developing countries(which would become developed by 2030-40) will have to lead the world.

While China's situation is better because it enjoys significant current account surpluses and has strong capital flow controls, it is also seeing its economy overheat along with India's economy. Joseph Stiglitz, the Nobel Laureate and Columbia University economist, has argued that India is more vulnerable to an asset bubble than China, saying that “strong economies that don’t yet have capital control become the focal point” for the liquidity injected by the US Federal Reserve. Stiglitz thinks that India, more than China or Brazil, should watch out for the tidal wave of money made available from the Fed’s quantitative easing. Mike Shedlock, an American investment advisor, believes that "India and China are going to overheat and crash, or their economic growth is going to slow dramatically, quite possibly both".

South Asia Investor Review: Is India's Economic Crash Likely in 2011?

Actually I too think the points mentioned in the article are credible. There is a significant trade imbalance which need to be corrected. Its not gonna bother us too much until we have a decent growth year on year. India has to ramp up its manufacturing base even if its not for exports but to cut down on its imports.

Oil price is another worry. That is common to every other country not specific to India.

Inflation in my view is the biggest worry. We waste 40% of our agricultural produce because of inadequate transportation. We need to open up retail immediately. The corporations would greatly enhance our supply chain so we don't have to rot our food for nothing. I think the fear that this move would be death knell to our Mom and Pop shops is highly misplaced. When China opened up the retail sector in 2005 (I think), many feared the same but in reality it actually added more mom and pop shops to the economy. Now the big corporations have about 20% market share while the rest is done through smaller retail stores.This had greatly enhance customer satisfaction and product availability. I would think similar could be done in India.

Finally Budget deficit is under control thanks to 3G Auctions. If only we had that 2G money as well!!

Nobel Prize winner Joseph Stiglitz commented that India should take appropriate measures to curb the inflow of short term investments in the form of US dollars. This loosely controlled inflow of US dollars into the Indian market is with the purpose of investing and reaping gains inherited from the prospects of developing countries such as India. Stiglitz stated that since most of the investments are short term in nature, they do not in any manner contribute to the rise in employement rates of the country. Also, since they are can be withdrawn on a short notice, he said that possibility of a sudden withdrawal cannot be discredited. Stiglitz went on to remind that the economic crisis of 1990 was mainly brought on by the unexpected withdrawal of investments by short term investors.

India’s Economic Advisory Council, headed by C. Rangarajan has stated that India can withstand an inflow of investments of up to $7000 crores, judging by the current market standards. There is a prominent rise in the inflow of funds and investments from abroad to the Indian share and debenture market. An investment of $7000 crores can work to null the trade deficit in India amounting to around $5000 crore dollars. The remaining money from foreign investments can be set aside as a reserve, he said. The recent unexpected surge in the flow of investments to India can be traced to the financial bail-out package proclaimed by America.

It has to be noted that many countries including China have obstructed excess inflow of investments into their economy stating that this may lead to a tilt in the economic balance in the country. Currently, with China rising to a superpower status, and India on its heels as a close competitor, it is crucial that the Government of India takes some time out to ponder over the words of the great mind that Joseph Stiglitz is.

Short term Investments: India’s economy all set to crash land? Possible, says Nobel winner Stiglitz

@riaz huq
India's current account deficit widened sharply to $13.7 billion in the June-quarter, which was around 3.7 per cent of GDP. The deficit was $4.5 billion in the same period year ago.

are you sure about this???????
INDIA's currrent GDP is trillion plus so 13.7 billion make almost 1% not 3.7%