Can Indian Economy Avert Crash Landing in 2011?

Going by your logic, Glodman Sachs, the originator of BRIC acronym and quoted in my article, is a joke!

Nobel Laureate economist Joe Stiglitz, quoted in my article, is a joke!

India's commerce secretary, Rahul Kular, quoted in my article, is a joke!

India's RBI is also a big joke!

That leads to the question: Do you think the real joke is your clueless commentary here?

South Asia Investor Review: Is India's Economic Crash Likely in 2011?

Since when did quotes became credible data?

Some facts about Indian Industrial base:

India is the fourth largest industrial base country in the world.

The industrial growth rate is 9% per annum

There are about 150 companies in India with a sales turnover of Rs.1000 crore and more, moreover around 30 companies have $1 billion as annual sales,

25% of companies export 20% of sales, 30 companies exports more than Rs.500 crore worth of goods each, 80 companies have exports about Rs.200 crore and 150 companies have exports more than Rs.100 crore.

You say India doesn't has a industrial base!!!

India and China were always an exception in developing economies to have a very advanced industrial base

350px-NewlyIndustrializedCountries.png

Since when did quotes became credible data?

Some facts about Indian Industrial base:

India is the fourth largest industrial base country in the world.

The industrial growth rate is 9% per annum

There are about 150 companies in India with a sales turnover of Rs.1000 crore and more, moreover around 30 companies have $1 billion as annual sales,

25% of companies export 20% of sales, 30 companies exports more than Rs.500 crore worth of goods each, 80 companies have exports about Rs.200 crore and 150 companies have exports more than Rs.100 crore.

You say India doesn't has a industrial base!!!

India and China were always an exception in developing economies to have a very advanced industrial base

350px-NewlyIndustrializedCountries.png

All of this doesn't change the fact that India imports a lot more than it exports, and runs a huge trade deficit exceeding $100 billion.

It doesn't change the fact that India's main export to China is iron ore, and its imports from China are high-value industrial products.

It doesn't change the fact that India ranks well below Pakistan in perecentage of manufactured products in exports.

It doesn't change the fact that 85% of Pakistan's exports are manufactured goods, ranking it at #16, vs 79% of India's ranking India at 32, according to Nationmaster.

Pakistan's industrial sector accounts for about 24% of GDP. Cotton textile production and apparel manufacturing are Pakistan's largest industries, accounting for about 66% of the merchandise exports and almost 40% of the employed labour force.[49] Other major industries include cement, fertilizer, edible oil, sugar, steel, tobacco, chemicals, machinery, and food processing.

Pakistan's exports include textiles, food products, cement, electrical appliances, chemicals, surgical equipment, sports equipment, arms, auto parts, etc.

Exports manufactured by country. Definition, graph and map.

All the swadeshi talk in India is a smake-screen for the harsh reality that India is far from self-sufficient for most things it needs.

All of this doesn't change the fact that India imports a lot more than it exports, and runs a huge trade deficit exceeding $100 billion.

It doesn't change the fact that India's main export to China is iron ore, and its imports from China are high-value industrial products.

It doesn't change the fact that India ranks well below Pakistan in perecentage of manufactured products in exports.

It doesn't change the fact that 85% of Pakistan's exports are manufactured goods, ranking it at #16, vs 79% of India's ranking India at 32, according to Nationmaster.

Pakistan's industrial sector accounts for about 24% of GDP. Cotton textile production and apparel manufacturing are Pakistan's largest industries, accounting for about 66% of the merchandise exports and almost 40% of the employed labour force.[49] Other major industries include cement, fertilizer, edible oil, sugar, steel, tobacco, chemicals, machinery, and food processing.

Pakistan's exports include textiles, food products, cement, electrical appliances, chemicals, surgical equipment, sports equipment, arms, auto parts, etc.

All the swadeshi talk in India is a smake-screen for the harsh reality that India is far from self-sufficient for most things it needs.

First, the concept of trade is an anti thesis to self sufficiency. Tell me one country which is self sufficient including the mighty USA. Second, at least after India embarked on liberalization, India came to know the futility of self sufficiency or I didn’t hear

One simple question why should you compare India with pakistan??? If you want to compare, do with same GDP country like Canada/Russia/Spain/Australia/Mexico:hitwall::hitwall::hitwall:

RIAZHAQ.

Why have you changed the Topic from collapse of Indian Economy to Indian military infrastructure.

Why did you not answer any of my qestions.

Please don,t compare Pakistan To India. ITS NOT fare on small Pakistan to be compared to a Giant rising power ten times the wealth.

As for China doing well. ALL I,LL SAY well done CHINA.

Good for chinease people and chinease pockets.

NOW WHAT IS PAKISTAN DOING to get out of INDIA,S massive Shadow

Whom are you kidding Herr Goebbels?

Reserve Bank of India

Table 4 : Major Items of India's Balance of Payments April-March : 2009-10 (PR)

1. Exports : 182.2 US$ Billion

2. Imports : 300.6 US$ Billion

3. Trade Balance (1-2) : -118.4 US$ Billion

4. Invisibles, net : 80.0 US$ Billion

5. Current Account Balance (3+4) : - 38.4 US$ Billion

6. Capital Account Balance : 51.8 US$ Billion

7. Change in Reserves : Increase 13.4 US$ Billion

This Increase in Reserves (Foreign Exchange) is not due to Loans from IMF, ADM, IDB, USA, CHINA, SAUDI ARABIA Etc. Etc. & Etc.!

Go find someone your own Size!

^^Any idea where the Indian economy stands today? I read somewhere we're predicted to hit 1.5 trillion by 2011 or so but I can't seem to find any reliable stats.

Whom are you kidding Herr Goebbels?

Reserve Bank of India

Table 4 : Major Items of India's Balance of Payments April-March : 2009-10 (PR)

1. Exports : 182.2 US$ Billion

2. Imports : 300.6 US$ Billion

3. Trade Balance (1-2) : -118.4 US$ Billion

4. Invisibles, net : 80.0 US$ Billion

5. Current Account Balance (3+4) : - 38.4 US$ Billion

6. Capital Account Balance : 51.8 US$ Billion

7. Change in Reserves : Increase 13.4 US$ Billion

This Increase in Reserves (Foreign Exchange) is not due to Loans from IMF, ADM, IDB, USA, CHINA, SAUDI ARABIA Etc. Etc. & Etc.!

Go find someone your own Size!

Here's more recent data showing declining reseves and rising deficits:

India%2BBoP.jpg

The declines would be much higher if not for the $27 billion in hot money that poured into Indian stocks last year. Such funds have been a source of great instability in prior crises like the Asian financial crisis of 1997. Stiglitz has been warning India about it, as has Goldman Sachs recently.

Here's more recent data showing declining reseves and rising deficits:

India%2BBoP.jpg

The declines would be much higher if not for the $27 billion in hot money that poured into Indian stocks last year. Such funds have been a source of great instability in prior crises like the Asian financial crisis of 1997. Stiglitz has been warning India about it, as has Goldman Sachs recently.

The same Stiglitz says that RBI is much better on regulating money inflow than US Fed and has better knowledge in averting financial crisis

Stiglitz, a professor at Columbia University, said one reason India is "one of the least dark spots" in the gloomy global economic scenario is that its central bank has resisted such moves.

Stiglitz said India had largely averted a crisis that felled the United States because India's central bank did not act like its counterpart in the United States.

"The Indian central bank understands central banking and regulation much better [than the US Fed]. . . There were some political pressures to deregulate and RBI resisted some of those pressures," Stiglitz said.

"Now I think the financial markets are thankful that India's central bank did resist those pressures. The result is that India's financial markets are in better shape than they would have been if the RBI allowed wholesale deregulation [the way the] United States has done," he said, while keynoting the India Conference at the Columbia University.

As regarding Goldman Sachs another of favorites has predicted that Indian economy by 2050 would be third largest

800px-World_GDP_list_in_2050.PNG

Now say, what you think of Indian economy

Yaar....Besharmi ki bhi had hoti hai....Kab se Ye Adami Tzutyapanti Kiye ja raha hai....

He is leaking Gas from every hole of his body !!!

:frown:

And most funny thing is that Indian economy related news are not allowed in PDF

You know tht ???

But because of title is Anti-Indian so from 12-29-2010, 11:30 AM this thread is still not deleted

Unlike the US dollar, the Indian rupee is neither a reserve nor a trade currency. Indians can not simply print rupees and buy oil or power and telecom equipment or military hardware with it .

This is not even a proper response to what i asked,just twisting facts r not going to help,go through my post again

India never need to print fake currencies or use its currency for trading,I dont know what point r u making,It simply just does not make sense,India is purchasing all this equipments from the money it attracted all this yrs due to its growth(now it had been accepted by IMF,dont bring stupid points like its only on paper)

Your economy can not sustain the kind of twin deficits and inflation you are now running for long. The 2% of the GDP used to import military hardware for massive buildup adds to the growing trade and budget deficits of India.

Once again u did not responded to what I asked,I precisely said leave the future and look the past(just 2 yrs back) when the inflation and deficit scenario was more worst,but it even did not brought a scratch to Indian economy,once again faking prediction's r not going to help

And if 2 % of GDP is increasing our trade imbalances,we still dont have problem if our growth rate can manage it

India's current account deficit is being increasingly funded by short-term capital inflows (FII) rather than more durable foreign direct investment (FDI), posing a risk to external balance and funding of gap, according to a recent warning by Goldman Sachs. "Nearly 80 per cent of the capital inflows are non- FDI related. Given the excess spare capacity globally, FDI may remain weak going forward," the Goldman note said.

Few more prediction's,it said they can pose a risk,sachs did not say crashing is inevitable,by the way FII's and FDI's r not going to dry up,it is increasing every past yr.

JV is just a facade. In reality, these are essentially licensed manufacturing deals. Here's how Indian blogger Vijainder Thakur sees India's loose meaning of "indigenous" Smerch and other imports:

"The Russians will come here set up the plant for us and supply the critical manufacturing machinery. Indian labor and technical management will run the plant which will simply assemble the system. Critical components and the solid propellant rocket motor fuel will still come from Perm Powder Mill. However, bureaucrats in New Delhi and the nation as a whole will be happy. The Smerch system will be proudly paraded on Rajpath every republic day as an indigenous weapon system.

A decade or so down the line, Smerch will get outdated and India will negotiate a new deal with Russia for the license production of a new multiple rocket system for the Indian Army.

China will by then have developed its own follow up system besides having used the solid propellant motors to develop other weapon systems and assist its space research program."

Not enough for proving JV is a facade,try to hit more on ur keyboard,a decade ago all deals were just clean imports,we could have possible gone for this facade by then,even considering ur fact that JV is just assembling,still that does not get counted as import,as money is being once again reimbursed into our market.in both way,we r cutting down the imports,so I am the one who cares last if india once again go for a JV with Russia or Israel for advanced set up.