Can a modified HSTDV be used as Reconnaissance Drone?

HSTDV is going to have a hypersonic speed so that it could fulfill its original purpose. Now we can include reconnaissance sorties as its job description.

I don't think its a right idea and i don't think anyone is going to pursue this either....

The reason being how are you going to transfer data from such a fast flying platform to the ground station. Second thing is how this data is gonna be analysed because this vehicle if used as reconnaissance platform won't be able to loiter which is important because by the time the data can be analysed the platform will be flying over some other country.
What is gonna happen if you find something important and then you want to redirect the platform to the same location so as to get some clearer and closer look ? Its not possible and flying a second sortie for closer look is not economical. On the other hand in case of UAVs you can easily keep the aircraft in the loitering state while you get the analysis or you can bring back the aircraft.

One more important point is launching a MALE or HALE will take alot less preparation and cost than launching a platform like HSTDV per sortie.

hstdvflightprofile.jpg

If you really want a missile like platform to do reconnaissance job then the best option is a loitering missile. Nirbhay can do this job way better than HSTDV and its launch per sortie will be cheaper than HSTDV.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mig31ms.jpg

Considering the new tech in radar areas, my advice will be to for HALE UAVs. It will be cheaper and better option than an aircraft like Mig31. In 3-4 years US will be ready to supply us with HALE UAVs and even if they don't by that time 2-3 European HALE UAVs will also enter the market. MIg31 couldn't match up to the standards to Mig25...

Mig31 :

Maximum speed:
High altitude: Mach 2.83 (3,000 km/h, 1,860 mph)[3]
Low altitude: Mach 1.2 (1,500 km/h, 930 mph)
Combat radius: 1,450 km (900 mi) at Mach 0.8/ 720 km (447 mi) at Mach 2.35[26]
Ferry range: 3,300 km (2,050 mi)
Service ceiling: 20,600 m (67,600 ft)
Rate of climb: 208 m/s (41,000 ft/min)
Wing loading: 665 kg/m² (136 lb/ft²)
Thrust/weight: 0.85
Maximum g-load: 5 g

Mig25 :

Maximum speed:
High altitude: Mach 3.2[7] (3,600 km/h, 2,170 mph); Mach 2.83 (3,200 km/h, 1,920 mph) continuous engine limit[7]
Low altitude: 1,200 km/h (648 knots, 746 mph)[65]
Range: 1,730 km (935 nmi, 1,075 mi) with internal fuel
Ferry range: 2,575 km (1,390 nmi)
Service ceiling: 20,700 m (with four missiles) (67,915 ft; over 80,000 ft (24.4 km) for RB models)
Rate of climb: 208 m/s (40,950 ft/min)
Wing loading: 598 kg/m² (122.5 lb/ft²)
Thrust/weight: 0.41
Time to altitude: 8.9 min to 20,000 m (65,615 ft)

India used RB models which used to fly at the altitudes of 80,000 ft. Infact Mi25 varaints have the record of flying at 123,520 ft and 108,720 ft.

list-of-all-reusable-launch-system-types.jpg

hello friends HSTDV is hyper sonic vehicle so it cant carry spy cameras

but can a ramjet powered supersonic HSTDV (SSTDV) cruising at speed of 3.2 mach and altitude of 80,000 feet (so that enemy fighters and SAMs cant harm it) be used as Reconnaissance Drone?

Imagine a scenario where a modified HSTDV flies,reaches at altitude 80,000 feet with speed of 3.2 mach.

it infiltrates into Pak Airspace, takes photos of vital Pak Military Installations and Assets,while remaining out of the range of PAK SAMs and fighters (due to high altitude) and landing in Farkhor
IAF base
in Tajikistan.

if we manage, it will be great boost to our Reconnaissance capabilities

and if you think that we can use spy sats remember vital contribution of SR 71 to US intelligence
and psychological impact this HSTDV will have (like our old IAF MIG 25)

do you think it is possible?

discuss it members

Shah Ji, tusi wi na ..... :)

Pehlay ek narmal jahaz to bana lo na. baad mein ye bhi bana lena.

You guys are really make believers. Some one dreams about something he saw in an American movie - not Indian Please - and then says what if we make this and then a discussion starts. And at the end of the discussion, every participant believes India possess the dream weapon.

Jag jao yaar, none of you are even a Jules Verne. :)

^^ HSTDV is reality

i was just asking whether it can be used as Recon Drone?

Pehlay ek narmal jahaz to bana lo na. baad mein ye bhi bana lena.

LCA? its going to be inducted in 2 to 3 years

and HSTDV will be tested in few months

so question is not can India develop HSTDV? but when India will test HSTDV and can it work as recon drone after modifying it?

^^ HSTDV is reality

i was just asking whether it can be used as Recon Drone?

LCA? its going to be inducted in 2 to 3 years

and HSTDV will be tested in few months

so question is not can India develop HSTDV? but when India will test HSTDV and can it work as recon drone after modifying it?

Whether LCA is inducted in IAF or not is to be seen or it may just remain a costly technology demonstrator. Abhi to bahot si filam baaki hai mereay yaar.

Lets wait for a test of HSDTV or whatever it is at the end of the day and then comment.

Nice idea, will be hard to implement. But it will be really usefull for spying. But the thing is that at that kind of speed it can only pics glimpses with high speed camera's. A satalitle will do a much better Job IMO. Lets see if its in IAF plans.

Not need of it. the Satelites will give advantages on it. moreover India retired Mig-25 even it had life for more years cause satelites declined the need of the plane.

^think about psychological impact this bird will have. even PAF F16 will not be able to shot down it because the altitude at which this bird will be flying i.e 80,000 feet

The way Mig-25s tormented islamabad, I think we should start considering using hypersonic reconnaisance vehicles to monitor the static targets like bases and air strips and nuke sites..