Buying a Pet in a long time

Awesome

RETIRED MOD
Hi

After a long time I will be taking the plunge in buying a new pet African Grey. I have narrowed down by search to a 3-4 month old (estimated) Congo African Grey. I will be buying from The Sharjah Birds and Animal market which is sort of a run down place, where you get pets with minimal paper work.

This means they do have a CITES import permit but nothing else.

So if anyone has any experience in getting me started off, I'd appreciate it.

I am getting it at a bargain price of AED 1600. What are the type of tests and vaccinations I need to do? Any other advice...

I have a lot of experience with pets. Cats, Dogs, Parrots. Just never an African Grey. I primarily am looking forward to teaching it to talk.

Is it not cruelty to keep such birds as pet. It promotes capturing of more birds.
Why not keep a domesticated animal like cat or dog.

Parrots are quite domesticated and their quality of life would vary from pet keeper to pet keeper.

Get a falcon, or a sparrow hawk. You would have way more fun.

I just have a cat and a dog but my cat is very old now like 14 years in human age and it almost died when it got attacked by a fox. I know people who keep parrots they have to clip the wings so they dont fly away but they look amazing some of the colours are out this world.

Pretty unusual choice?

Is the grey one better than the normal green parrot?

Pretty unusual choice?

Is the grey one better than the normal green parrot?

It is the most intelligent one, the most talkative. This also means it requires the most attention. They also tend to live up to 50 years in captivity in the right conditions. A pet dying off is a real bummer.

---------- Post added at 04:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:01 PM ----------

I just have a cat and a dog but my cat is very old now like 14 years in human age and it almost died when it got attacked by a fox. I know people who keep parrots they have to clip the wings so they dont fly away but they look amazing some of the colours are out this world.

In these large parrots you need to clip off their wings even to inhibit some of their behavioral problems. With large wings it would try to dominate you or think he is the boss of you. You want to keep a pet happy and smiling as much as you can.

It is the most intelligent one, the most talkative. This also means it requires the most attention. They also tend to live up to 50 years in captivity in the right conditions. A pet dying off is a real bummer.

---------- Post added at 04:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:01 PM ----------

In these large parrots you need to clip off their wings even to inhibit some of their behavioral problems. With large wings it would try to dominate you or think he is the boss of you. You want to keep a pet happy and smiling as much as you can.

sir ji jaan ki aman paun to arz ye hai ki aap lagta hai Shaadee ke mood me ho:azn:, cause al the goodies you told are very femiliar arent they :cry:, dont mind just joking:rofl::rofl:

hahahaha, expect to be TPed from the women of the forum for that comment :P

sir ji jaan ki aman paun to arz ye hai ki aap lagta hai Shaadee ke mood me ho, cause al the goodies you told are very femiliar arent they , dont mind just joking

You are a funny man. :lol:

LOL i remeber THis parrot when ever i travel with my ABu to other city there was a patrol pump where this Bird was noising and inviting every one to play with him... :D

ASim bhai TOTEY CHANNA DAL BAHOT SHOK SEY KHATEY HEIN Is KO CHANNA DAL PANNI MEIN BHIGGO KO DENA... :)

Just remember to give it some company, or it can do some prretty harmful stuff, to itself. Give it a toy when somebody is not at home, or try to play with it.

And remember, no cyanides, or else it could get very sick. Or chocolate.

BTW, where is this Sharjah pet market?Apprx. how much from Sahara Centre?

Will look to visit there for myself sometime.

How the heck could a bird do that?????

Absolutely amazing.

3ea24fc3f2a6f2995fb1eafe225bac08.gif