Breaking: Punjab Slaps 3G/4G, Imposes 19.5% Taxes on Internet Usage including PTCL Broadband/EVO

Looks like you don't live in Pakistan my friend, since you consider the person making more than 20k a month rich!!!

No where in my statement I said that. What I was saying is that a 10 or 20K rupee making family is poor and don't have the money to spend on luxury. Beyond 2MB per second is a Luxury so the rich would get it and they should pay taxes for luxury items, like it is in the US. I obviously don't live in Pakistan :enjoy:

The following is what you said:

Do you really think an average Pakistani making 10,000 - 20,000 rupees (or below that), raising a family of a couple of children can afford 1500 or 2000 rupees worth of internet every months like 25% of what they make??? NO!!!!

Now either I need to re-learn English or I am hallucinating, but the word 'average' does not mean poor, but the mean of a population. Hence meaning the middle class.

So in effect, what you said was that the middle class makes 10-20k per month.

The following is what you said:

Now either I need to re-learn English or I am hallucinating, but the word 'average' does not mean poor, but the mean of a population. Hence meaning the middle class.

So in effect, what you said was that the middle class makes 10-20k per month.

No, that's not what I said. You are interpreting it the way you like to. What I meant was, AVERAGE Pakistan (not middle class), makes around of below 10K to like 20K. That to me isn't middle class. That's lower middle class.

The middle class means people who make less than the top 10% and above the average. Average is taken upon income brackets deemed as poor, lower middle class, middle class and the rich categories. Pakistan is an agriculture based country so the middle class isn't as strong. It will be when the economy builds up in the next few years.

to the man with little understanding:
when you are arguing on a topic and you say "you" then you mean the group you represent. when I say "I" i meant the group i represent...you have to be a real idiot to think I sent $14 billion to Pakistan.

Listen I will brag about it, its my hard earned money, I could buy cheaper and better products but I go to Pakistani store and buy only Pakistani products i don't look at the price but I look at the made in Pakistan label, half of the things we buy are never used. I never fly any other airline but PIA regardless of the condition of their planes. Half of your economy is running on ex-pats you ungrateful bunch.

Now, potiwaris can shove their tax theory in their or ganjas' as*s. As they have taken it back
Breaking: Punjab Government Withdraws Taxes on Internet! :

I don't stoop to low level but this issue and potiwaris' logic pushed me as I belong to IT field and know how beneficial it is to increase the Internet reach at minimum price.

Shaboo has realized what a colossal mistake it was. Also PTA reportedly opposed it and suggested him to collect money for new hair transplant/marriage from somewhere else
PTA Is Convincing Pubjab Govt To Withdraw Tax On Data / Internet :

No, that's not what I said. You are interpreting it the way you like to. What I meant was, AVERAGE Pakistan (not middle class), makes around of below 10K to like 20K. That to me isn't middle class. That's lower middle class.

The middle class means people who make less than the top 10% and above the average. Average is taken upon income brackets deemed as poor, lower middle class, middle class and the rich categories. Pakistan is an agriculture based country so the middle class isn't as strong. It will be when the economy builds up in the next few years.

You sir need to visit Pakistan before commenting on such issues.

That's all I'll say.

Did you have a experience of downloading a 10 GB Hardware designing software on a 4 MB internet in a 10 Hour load shedding + frequent disconnects + Internet working for 4-5 days in a week scenario ? No, So for you it's a luxury but for average user 4 MB is the new 1 MB in Pakistan. Like someone said, come live in Pakistan and then comment wether 4 MB is a luxury or a necessity for users.

You can argue about this in any way for form, but the reality doesn't change. This is an important step towards putting the burden on the rich and upper middle class, who, historically have evaded taxes for decades. That's just the true reality of the situation here.

Now back to your logic of 10 MB or what not, do you think an average poor Pakistani worker really is downloading apps and music all the time? People making 10k-20k rupees are struggling day in and out to raise their families and provide the best that they can. Who really has the time to sit down and download stuff from the internet? We are not talking about the US, the UK or the Korea. W

When everyone pays their share of taxes and your nation as a whole comes up in terms of income parity and there is a MUCH stronger middle class than today, that's when the country is considered being developed. The primary source of revenue for any government is JUST taxes.

Do you see what you are arguing about? One one hand, you guys have an issue with America's aid, the beggar's bowel as its displayed in different Pakistani terms, and all. On the other end, you and a few people, complain about EVERYTHING which is really a good step to bring in tax evading people and luxury items that have NOTHING to do with a poor Pakistani. At the end, its not you or me, its the 175 million average / poor Pakistanis who need better lifestyle, access to jobs, better schools, cheaper or affordable housing, and healthcare as their basic human needs to be able to grow a better and a more educated (with careers) next generation of the Pakistani youth, and a growing Pakistan as a whole. If you don't want to contribute, you should move elsewhere (by the way, Pakistan STILL has one of the CHEAPEST taxes in the entire globe), primarily because of tax evasion, corruption and the previous governments and specially, military government's miss-management of the entire system, which wasn't allowed to be developed.

You sir need to visit Pakistan before commenting on such issues.

That's all I'll say.

I don't have to visit Pakistan as I know the reality. Would you disagree that someone making 10k-20k rupees is really a lower middle class, still struggling to provide a good lifestyle for their kids and future generations? Would you agree that the base / average worker's compensation needs to be about 1-2k a day (roughly equate to $ 10-20 dollars a day which is WAY below the most basic income level you can get in the US)?? At the least, 1-2k a day ensures that in a family system like the one's you find in Pakistan, everyone can go to school, eat properly and live a normal life. This still doesn't allow much room for savings. Tell me if I am incorrect in understanding this?

You don't know c#ap about reality in Pakistan. I have been observing your posts for the past many weeks and you seem to live in a delusional world.

Sort of like the difference b/w two engineers, one who has all the books safely in his mind and knows each and every formula and it's constants and whatnot, while he does not know any practical application and has trouble connecting some resistors, diodes and wires together with the battery, while the other one is more balanced in his approach and actually knows the practical applications of his theoretical studies.

You are the one who has the book safely stored in his mind, all nice and formal, but not the ground reality.

What is the minimum wage in Pakistan btw?

You can argue about this in any way for form, but the reality doesn't change. This is an important step towards putting the burden on the rich and upper middle class, who, historically have evaded taxes for decades. That's just the true reality of the situation here.

Now back to your logic of 10 MB or what not, do you think an average poor Pakistani worker really is downloading apps and music all the time? People making 10k-20k rupees are struggling day in and out to raise their families and provide the best that they can. Who really has the time to sit down and download stuff from the internet? We are not talking about the US, the UK or the Korea. W

When everyone pays their share of taxes and your nation as a whole comes up in terms of income parity and there is a MUCH stronger middle class than today, that's when the country is considered being developed. The primary source of revenue for any government is JUST taxes.

Do you see what you are arguing about? One one hand, you guys have an issue with America's aid, the beggar's bowel as its displayed in different Pakistani terms, and all. On the other end, you and a few people, complain about EVERYTHING which is really a good step to bring in tax evading people and luxury items that have NOTHING to do with a poor Pakistani. At the end, its not you or me, its the 175 million average / poor Pakistanis who need better lifestyle, access to jobs, better schools, cheaper or affordable housing, and healthcare as their basic human needs to be able to grow a better and a more educated (with careers) next generation of the Pakistani youth, and a growing Pakistan as a whole. If you don't want to contribute, you should move elsewhere (by the way, Pakistan STILL has one of the CHEAPEST taxes in the entire globe), primarily because of tax evasion, corruption and the previous governments and specially, military government's miss-management of the entire system, which wasn't allowed to be developed.

Yaar bhai tera level hai......
I am seriously considering that you are some automated bot who can churn out long paragraphs in favor of it despite that fact that the tax has been withdrawn.

Do read about value of Internet and IT industry in shaping economy.
Internet Taxes by Punjab can Cause National Economy Up to Rs. 200 Billion in Losses :

You so want to talk about developed countries' practices then study about Estonia where Internet was declared a basic human right and see how they developed. Also go read about what Internet per MBPS costs in the world and in Pakistan already.
Value Index by Country | Net Index from Ookla

Yaar bhai tera level hai......
I am seriously considering that you are some automated bot who can churn out long paragraphs in favor of it despite that fact that the tax has been withdrawn.

Whether the government impose it or remove it, either way its a decision governments make on profit - loss and due to calculations. I wasn't talking about that. I am saying that anything that's not going to be used by an average - lower middle class Pakistani, should be classified as a luxury so the rich can pay taxes on it. The SAME rich, who've made hundreds of millions over decades, by avoiding or paying LITTLE taxes all together. That's all.

People here are not just bashing stuff for political reasons. Guys, all these things are GOING back into your country. This isn't time to silly question these things which make common sense. This is time to push through the next 3-5 years and Pakistan's economy and the profile of the country will be in the most respected top 15 economies of the world. So support these initiatives that might look tough, but in the long run, it'll produce a new Pakistan. Take a look at the heart attacks India is having over the economic corridor. Apparently they understand the impact of these projects more than many Pakistanis on here do. This is time to stand together and work hard. 5 years from now, Pakistanis will be looked at in a similar way than Indians or the Malaysian are, that is, a growing nation who has the potential to be a regional power.

Your population has 60% of young labor force (nowhere else to be found) with English speaking and British background, aggressive and smart. And Pakistan is the 6th or 7th most populous country. I am MORE than confident that she can beat Australia economy wise over the next 10-15 years. 0 doubt in my mind as long as people, government and the military do their jobs properly and honestly.

Whether the government impose it or remove it, either way its a decision governments make on profit - loss and due to calculations. I wasn't talking about that. I am saying that anything that's not going to be used by an average - lower middle class Pakistani, should be classified as a luxury so the rich can pay taxes on it. The SAME rich, who've made hundreds of millions over decades, by avoiding or paying LITTLE taxes all together. That's all.

People here are not just bashing stuff for political reasons. Guys, all these things are GOING back into your country. This isn't time to silly question these things which make common sense. This is time to push through the next 3-5 years and Pakistan's economy and the profile of the country will be in the most respected top 15 economies of the world. So support these initiatives that might look tough, but in the long run, it'll produce a new Pakistan. Take a look at the heart attacks India is having over the economic corridor. Apparently they understand the impact of these projects more than many Pakistanis on here do. This is time to stand together and work hard. 5 years from now, Pakistanis will be looked at in a similar way than Indians or the Malaysian are, that is, a growing nation who has the potential to be a regional power.

Your population has 60% of young labor force (nowhere else to be found) with English speaking and British background, aggressive and smart. And Pakistan is the 6th or 7th most populous country. I am MORE than confident that she can beat Australia economy wise over the next 10-15 years. 0 doubt in my mind as long as people, government and the military do their jobs properly and honestly.
Keep your paragraphs relative to the topic.

Is it too difficult for you to understand that in current global world where there is a proverb amongst IT industry "Software
is eating the world
" ( Marc Andreessen on Why Software Is Eating the World - WSJ )and automation is the future, you don't tax the Internet beyond a point. In my opinion, it should be subsidized not taxed. On one hand this government is giving like billions of tax money in distributing laptops for free while on other hand it is taxing heavily the medium that connects the laptop to the world. Apply tax on stock exchange, property, automobiles, agriculture, and etc but you don't tax the Internet.

Keep your paragraphs relative to the topic.

Is it too difficult for you to understand that in current global world where there is a proverb amongst IT industry "Software
is eating the world
" ( Marc Andreessen on Why Software Is Eating the World - WSJ )and automation is the future, you don't tax the Internet beyond a point. In my opinion, it should be subsidized not taxed. On one hand this government is giving like billions of tax money in distributing laptops for free while on other hand it is taxing heavily the medium that connects the laptop to the world. Apply tax on stock exchange, property, automobiles, agriculture, and etc but you don't tax the Internet.

You need to keep your common sense relative to the topic. You are adding stuff out of thin air, which has 0 application to the topic with regards to Pakistan. Pakistan is an under developed country and needs the tax net to be expanded out to the riches. Something even Hillary Clinton said many times in her tenure as a Secretary of the State, that Pakistanis enjoy the lowest to 0 taxes through evasion. People like you, when they go to Europe, are HAPPY paying 50% tax on everything, or 30-35% in the US on everything. So PLEASE, if we pay taxes more on 4G phones, and plans to have 4G's, Pakistan shouldn't be an exception from a tax standpoint. Unless, the government thinks its not needed, which is the case here. Either way, you and I don't set these boundaries, a government has to run millions of people's lives and provide for them. So follow the law even if you don't like it, ask your political leaders to repeal the law you don't like, don't violate it, is ALL I am saying.

You also need to keep common sense relative to the topic and Pakistan. AM I adding stuff out of thin air while providing you with links earlier that 4MBps Internet is NOT A LUXURY keeping current world's standards and we are already paying much more than the world per MBPS. I also asked you to study what impact Internet has on economy these days. I also gave you example of Estonia. On other hand you keep mentioning Hillary Clinton, UK, USA tax and I don't know what other blah blah. So either come up with some facts/research or don't tell me to pay more on Internet with respect to other world. Did I object taxing rich? Rather I suggested the areas which need to be taxed more. JUST F*cking DON'T TAX THE INTERNET... Be it 1 MBPS or 10 MBPs