Bangladeshi biker amazed by hospitality of locals

ghost250

Bangladesh
https://epaper.dawn.com/DetailImage.php?StoryImage=14_11_2019_183_007

MINGORA: The warm welcome accorded by the people of Pakistan amazed a Bangladeshi motorcyclist during his solo biking expedition.

Sajidur Rehman, a young biker, who started his solo biking from Bangladesh to India and other countries of South Asia, said that Pakistanis were not only hospitable but also respectful to his country. He said that he was a travelling enthusiast and working in the public works department in Bangladesh.

`I started my solo biking travel on September 2 from Dhaka and entered India where I visited several cities.

After completing my tour in India, I entered Pakistan through Lahore with the support of Cross Route Motorcycle Club,` Mr Rehman told Dawn.He said that members of the club were kind, who not only travelled but also carried out social activities in the country. `I also took part in a food dona-tion campaign and planted a tree in Gujranwala,` he said.

Mr Rehman said that he travelled to Islamabad and Tarbela where he washosted by local people. From there he travelled to Swat through Mardan and Malakand.

`I found all the Pakistanis loving and respectful but Swati people are so nice to me. Whenever I stop somewhere and need to ask something, they not only guide me but also serve me with food and drinks,` he said.

He said that people started giving him extra honour and respect when they came to know about his nationality.

`The local people are nice and always ask me to feel free if I need any help, he added.

Mr Rehman said that he would advise other bikers and trekkers from around the world to visit Pakistan and Swat valley to find high quality of hospitality and respect in addition to scenic beauty and serenity.

He said that he would spend one more week in Pakistan and then go back to India from where he would travel to Nepal, Bhutan and return to Bangladesh.

I will definitely take sweet memories of love and hospitality of Pakistanis to my country,` he added

I hope one day the Bongs can finally move on from harping on "1971" dont focus on the past your country compared to India and Pakistan is at least going forward by the 2040s your country could be the first South Asian powerhouse

`I found all the Pakistanis loving and respectful but Swati people are so nice to me. Whenever I stop somewhere and need to ask something, they not only guide me but also serve me with food and drinks,` he said.
I have not visited Swat. But, one time when I was in Karachi I met a few Swati Pathan, very tall and fair-skinned with blue eyes. I was joking one day if I would become Gora like them if I live in Swat.

One Swati answered me by telling something like this, " Bangali Babu Aap hamara Swat pe Aao, wahan thahro, aur ek Thandi ke Mousam ke bad tum bhi hamare mafik bilkul Gora ho jaoge. Hamara hawa hi aisa hain". He told me one little story. "Mera ek rishtedar ek Bangalin ko shadi kiya. Woh aurat kali thi bilkul telephone ke mafik. Woh bhavi hamara gao pe do saal rahi, Swat ki hawa lagi, Swat ki Paani pyi, aur woh bilkul gori ho gayi, hamare jaise".

Well, it may be partially true what he said. Swat is very beautiful. The weather and water are appetizing and people are Mehmandar. Unfortunately, I left Karachi before I could visit many beautiful parts of Pakistan.

I, like many other older generation people, regret what the then politicians did in 1971.

This is an answer to one of the BDeshi member's comments about foreigner's (white) getting hospitality in Pakistan. Pakistanis overall are very hospitable people and will show the same hospitality to all guests even if they are from Israel or India.

https://epaper.dawn.com/DetailImage.php?StoryImage=14_11_2019_183_007

MINGORA: The warm welcome accorded by the people of Pakistan amazed a Bangladeshi motorcyclist during his solo biking expedition.

Sajidur Rehman, a young biker, who started his solo biking from Bangladesh to India and other countries of South Asia, said that Pakistanis were not only hospitable but also respectful to his country. He said that he was a travelling enthusiast and working in the public works department in Bangladesh.

`I started my solo biking travel on September 2 from Dhaka and entered India where I visited several cities.

After completing my tour in India, I entered Pakistan through Lahore with the support of Cross Route Motorcycle Club,` Mr Rehman told Dawn.He said that members of the club were kind, who not only travelled but also carried out social activities in the country. `I also took part in a food dona-tion campaign and planted a tree in Gujranwala,` he said.

Mr Rehman said that he travelled to Islamabad and Tarbela where he washosted by local people. From there he travelled to Swat through Mardan and Malakand.

He said that people started giving him extra honour and respect when they came to know about his nationality.

`The local people are nice and always ask me to feel free if I need any help, he added.

Mr Rehman said that he would advise other bikers and trekkers from around the world to visit Pakistan and Swat valley to find high quality of hospitality and respect in addition to scenic beauty and serenity.

He said that he would spend one more week in Pakistan and then go back to India from where he would travel to Nepal, Bhutan and return to Bangladesh.

I will definitely take sweet memories of love and hospitality of Pakistanis to my country,` he added

In terms of people to people contact, Pakistanis and bangladeshi people get on well together. The governments however don't.

Fact is that we West Pakistanis / Punjabis / Pushtun never saw them as inferior, regardless of what they think.
They were considered inferior by the Pakistani establishment, which also consider Punjabis, Pushtuns Baluch Sindhis etc inferior.
Establishment at that time included the bengalis too. There were quite alot Bengali Babus in the establishment.
Actually its not the west Pakistanis betrayed the East Pakistani, its the other way around.

Half the Kabab restaurants in Dhaka serve specialties like Paya, Nehari and fifteen types of kababs.

We were Pakistanis between 1947 and 1971, your food is our food. It's identical. :-)

Since 1971 we haven't turned Hindu! Or banned beef! :lol:

Actually its not the west Pakistanis betrayed the East Pakistani, its the other way around.
Not exactly what you are saying. However, instead of the war, there should have been more dialogues among politicians.

By the way, can someone tell me if only a simple majority of a single party can change everything in a country? Even a 2/3 majority is not enough. This majority also must be supported by more than half the population.

Now, tell me why ZA Bhutto and Yahya Khan was worried about calling the National Assembly Session? Even it was likely that the 1st NA Session held in Dhaka would have caused Mujib to claim a long-cherished victory for the east and his Pakistan Awami League. He would have formed the government and would have been ousted within a few months only because it is quite difficult to satisfy the people of a poor country.

1970 general election would not have been the last. But, Bhutto did not try to understand that PAL popularity was not a permanent feature. He wanted to be the PM at the cost of dividing the country.

Not exactly what you are saying. However, instead of the war, there should have been more dialogues among politicians.
Agreed.

By the way, can someone tell me if only a simple majority of a single party can change everything in a country? Even a 2/3 majority is not enough. This majority also must be supported by more than half the population.
Yes 2/3 majority is required to change the constitution

Now, tell me why ZA Bhutto and Yahya Khan was worried about calling the National Assembly Session? Even it was likely that the 1st NA Session held in Dhaka would have caused Mujib to claim a long-cherished victory for the east and his Pakistan Awami League. He would have formed the government and would have been ousted within a few months only because it is quite difficult to satisfy the people of a poor country.
Here I agree that ZA Bhutto was power hungry but blame goes to Yahya Khan. Army was in power, how can a civilian leader dictate them. Yahya never wanted to let go of power.
YOur next comment regarding Mujib govt, i agree. In fact, had there been Awami League govt, it would have done most of the develpment in west, just to show how just they were. So in future they might have won in west and lost in east.

1970 general election would not have been the last. But, Bhutto did not try to understand that PAL popularity was not a permanent feature. He wanted to be the PM at the cost of dividing the country.
Here again, Bhutto had no power. He was an irritant but never in our history a civilian been successful in dictating his terms.

His youtube account?

It was actually Punjabis mostly which considered them inferiors. Establishment is mostly made up of Punjabis followed by Pashtuns. Its Actually Muhajirs/Urdu Speakers that were with them. Even both of them voted for Fatima Jinnah instead of Ayub Khan
In the early years of history of Pakistan, most of the people in establishment were urdu speaking not us the Punjabis. I have never seen any Punjabi used the word "Bhoka Bengali" yet met alot of Urdu speaking saying that. In Karachi the general term I saw used for Pushtun was Akhroot and for Punjabi taaggay (Dhaggay as they call). Yet in general never seen any punjabi calling pushtun or other nationality in bad way.

Yh punjabis hate everyone and muhjairs love everyone I think you must be Albert einstein's far relative I have monitored your anti punjabi stance for a while now you little bihari faggot
Our mothers never taught us to be like this

In the early years of history of Pakistan, most of the people in establishment were urdu speaking not us the Punjabis. I have never seen any Punjabi used the word "Bhoka Bengali" yet met alot of Urdu speaking saying that. In Karachi the general term I saw used for Pushtun was Akhroot and for Punjabi taaggay (Dhaggay as they call). Yet in general never seen any punjabi calling pushtun or other nationality in bad way.
Punjab has the second highest population off Pashtuns in Pakistan after KPK and this bihari khusra calls us racist