Bangladesh Economic & Infrastructure Development - Updates & Discussions

4,000 is better than us lmao good luck to them , sadly Sri Lanka got unlucky
That's more than double what we have currently. We must maintain our pace and overtake them.

BTW, I believe that leather-based items, which we can sell to China, the EU/US, as well as South America and Africa, will be Bangladesh's largest export in the future. I was pleasantly delighted to find Timberland merchandise.

"Made in Bangladesh," it says.
1623874099646.png

@Bilal9 @SpaceMan18
soon we will take over new york
1623874311887.png

That's more than double what we have currently. We must maintain our pace and overtake them.

BTW, I believe that leather-based items, which we can sell to China, the EU/US, as well as South America and Africa, will be Bangladesh's largest export in the future. I was pleasantly delighted to find Timberland merchandise.

"Made in Bangladesh," it says.
View attachment 754063
@Bilal9 @SpaceMan18
soon we will take over new york
View attachment 754064

Yes Leather products including bags, wallets, stationery items, and of course shoes are volume export products. mid-grade Leather shoes have been a staple export from Bangladesh for a long time (at least three decades).

Our next door neighbor is not really our competitor, because their leather shoes (mostly made in South Indian factories) are not quality-wise in the same market. Indian shoes go to the US market (cheap outlets like Walmart and Target), where average consumer don't understand the quality of shoes - like they do in the UK and EU.

Only a few aficionados truly appreciate quality shoes in the US and there is more demand in Europe for nicer shoes. US has mostly sports-shoe wearing people. Which we are exporting too by the way. There are OEM exporters in Bangladesh for Nike, Adidas and others.

I was told by one of the largest shoe exporters in Bangladesh personally that they supply leather shoe upper parts to Ermenegildo Zegna and several other luxe shoe brands. These uppers are then mated with a sole in Italy (five seconds tops) and sold as Italian made product. These are shoes that go for around $900 a pair or more...

I have seen even Goodyear-welted leather shoes made in Bangladesh (CTG EPZ). I have friends who are exporters in this industry.

They still make $350-500 Goodyear welted shoes in the US. These are called Lawyer dress shoes, you can pass them on to your children, they are so tough. Florsheim used to make these in the US, as well as Red Wing, Allen Edmonds etc.

Talking about Allen Edmonds, they have a sale ongoing right now, $425 now on special, $300. These are a steal at that price considering they are a lifetime investment - these are built like tanks! This one is a personal favorite.

Marin_4260_Black_Angle_web.jpg

Our next door neighbor is not really our competitor, because their leather shoes

🐮

I was told by one of the largest shoe exporters in Bangladesh personally that they supply shoe upper parts to Ermenegildo Zegna and several other luxe shoe brands. These uppers are then mated with a sole in Italy (five seconds tops) and sold as Italian made product. These are shoes that go for around $700 a pair or more...

I have seen even Goodyear-welted shoes made in Bangladesh (CTG EPZ). I have friends who are exporters in this industry.
Impressive , not just the BD export destinations but also your excellent understanding and insight into the world of import-export. I would like to believe there is Huge market for leather goods in China that needs to be tapped.
Most of the Nike shoes (AirMax, Airforce 1 etc) are made in Thailand , cambodia and Vietnam but i guess BD specialises in formal wear ?

Yes Leather products including bags, wallets, stationery items, and of course shoes are volume export products. mid-grade Leather shoes have been a staple export from Bangladesh for a long time (at least three decades).

Our next door neighbor is not really our competitor, because their leather shoes (mostly made in South Indian factories) are not quality-wise in the same market. Indian shoes go to the US market (cheap outlets like Walmart and Target), where average consumer don't understand the quality of shoes - like they do in the UK and EU.

Only a few aficionados truly appreciate quality shoes in the US and there is more demand in Europe for nicer shoes. US has mostly sports-shoe wearing people. Which we are exporting too by the way. There are OEM exporters in Bangladesh for Nike, Adidas and others.

I was told by one of the largest shoe exporters in Bangladesh personally that they supply leather shoe upper parts to Ermenegildo Zegna and several other luxe shoe brands. These uppers are then mated with a sole in Italy (five seconds tops) and sold as Italian made product. These are shoes that go for around $900 a pair or more...

I have seen even Goodyear-welted leather shoes made in Bangladesh (CTG EPZ). I have friends who are exporters in this industry.

They still make $350-500 Goodyear welted shoes in the US. These are called Lawyer dress shoes, you can pass them on to your children, they are so tough. Florsheim used to make these in the US, as well as Red Wing, Allen Edmonds etc.

I wonder if our own indigenous companies can grow out to be as good as like Nike or Adidas ? I mean we make shoes for foreign companies that is what gives us the profits but why can’t we make quality top tier shoes for our own brands in BD and then export these to the West or East ?

🐮

Impressive , not just the BD export destinations but also your excellent understanding and insight into the world of import-export. I would like to believe there is Huge market for leather goods in China that needs to be tapped.
Most of the Nike shoes (AirMax, Airforce 1 etc) are made in Thailand , cambodia and Vietnam but i guess BD specialises in formal wear ?

No - Bangladesh has long history of exporting sports shoes, since late eighties. Unlike India, which never tried their hand at exporting world class sports shoes. They make sub-par quality for local market, my understanding.

Back in the late 80s and early 90s there was a boom in sports shoe (jogging and tennis shoes) export from Bangladesh (because Taiwan and Korea labor costs were getting too expensive) but unfortunately the industry was new and there was little policy or financial support from the goru-gadhas in Bangladesh govt. or EPZ. Shoe components were all made in Korea/Taiwan at that time and incurred transport and time difficulties (1 month transit).

This is why I say Bangladesh is improving in spite of Awami League and not because of it. These are a bunch of uneducated goondas and they know nothing about providing fillip to export industry using tariff policies. Everything was because of informed Bangladeshi local entrepreneurs and risk-takers.

So Bangladesh as a result was not as competitive like Indonesia, Thailand or Vietnam because govts in those countries provided more support for exporting sports shoes, which was hugely popular at the time. Later China came on the scene in early nineties and beat every other country because they had component suppliers set up locally Thanks to help from Chinese central govt. Plus their factories were all in coastal EPZ's next to ports, so export was super easy. I have seen this myself.

Youngone was a Korean company in Bangladesh and they got into the sports shoe export game in the early 90s and they made a killing exporting brand-name sports shoes, primarily Nike and Adidas. These exports go mainly to Europe, and these exports are increasing more now because China is getting expensive and they don't want to make shoes anymore, ditto with Vietnam/Indonesia in a couple of years.

Youngone has a huge factory in the Korean EPZ making something like 30,000 pairs a day or something. Has been a while - so I have to check with my sources again.
I wonder if our own indigenous companies can grow out to be as good as like Nike or Adidas ? I mean we make shoes for foreign companies that is what gives us the profits but why can’t we make quality top tier shoes for our own brands in BD and then export these to the West or East ?

Marketing shoes and making them are two different things.

Skechers is a US brand that sources its shoes from Chinese factories. Those factories cannot compete with Skecher's understanding of the US market, advertising, channel marketing partners etc.

Two different ball-games entirely.

IMHO Bangladesh should be flexible and be happy we can utilize our labor to make whatever OEM orders we get. Getting into floating brand-names, e-commerce, too complicated. The Koreans or Taiwanese never did this, the Chinese did not either, retailing and marketing too culture-specific.

Automobiles, maybe you can, shoes - not so much.

One of Dhaka's little-known attractions, "Freedom Tower" (Swadhinata Stambha) is getting a mild revamp and refresh soon.

The Tower of Light, the focal point of the Independence Monument - was designed by architects Marina Tabassum and Kashef Mahboob Chowdhury from Urbana, winners of the national design competition held by the Ministry of Liberation War Affairs and the Public Works Department in 1997. Novum Structures USA was retained to supply the UV proof structural glass stacked cladding bricks and steel inner support structure. Light Collab from Singapore designed the Lighting Infrastructure within the tower.

The site for the Independence Monument is where Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the Father of the Nation, delivered the historic speech that united the people of Bengal to fight for liberation and self-rule. The Independence Museum is replete with mementos of the Liberation War of 1971.

The entry fee to the museum is Tk. 20 for adults and Tk. 2 for children under 12. It remains open from Saturday to Wednesday from 10:30am to 5:30pm, while on Fridays people can enter the museum from 3:00pm to 8:00pm.

The 150-foot high glass tower is part of a 67-acre complex which includes an underground museum, mural works, a 2,000-seat theatre/auditorium, a number of walkways, a 'reflecting pool' water body and a very special Shikha Chirantony (eternal flame) symbolizing Bengali nationalism, and a mural based on the struggle for independence.

The glass tower project was delayed by successive govts., however it was finally opened for the public on 26 March, 2015, and the museum complex on March 7, 2011. The ray of light from its base reaches up to 5 km into atmosphere above the tower. There is a 155-seat modern auditorium within the complex at the base of the glass tower. More details below.

Some pictures,

Dhaka-Freedom-Tower_Hero_2400x1500.jpg

project_dhaka-freedom-tower_1.jpg

project_dhaka-freedom-tower_2.jpg
10531272_645506075518339_1390587254904037798_o.jpg
10517238_645506072185006_7105912166513742701_o.jpg

project_dhaka-freedom-tower_3.jpg

1._%E0%A6%B8%E0%A7%8D%E0%A6%AC%E0%A6%BE%E0%A6%A7%E0%A7%80%E0%A6%A8%E0%A6%A4%E0%A6%BE_%E0%A6%B8%E0%A7%8D%E0%A6%A4%E0%A6%AE%E0%A7%8D%E0%A6%AD.jpg

1620px-2._%E0%A6%B8%E0%A7%8D%E0%A6%AC%E0%A6%BE%E0%A6%A7%E0%A7%80%E0%A6%A8%E0%A6%A4%E0%A6%BE_%E0%A6%B8%E0%A7%8D%E0%A6%A4%E0%A6%AE%E0%A7%8D%E0%A6%AD.jpg

inside-swadhinata-stambha-4-1.jpg

97436264_2843377309064527_4487260300466192384_n.jpg

96797815_2843377325731192_3738778050599321600_n.jpg

Dhaka Freedom Tower
The Bangladeshi Government authorized a national monument to honor their independence. The selected design features a 50m tall glass pinnacle illuminating the night sky as a beacon of freedom. Novum engineered, supplied and built the steel support frame and the unique glass brick cladding. Each glass brick is comprised of 21 number 1500mm x 50mm x 20mm deep low iron glass fins which are bonded into individual panels 1500 long x 50 deep and 450mm tall. 1200 bricks bolt to the steel structure using stainless steel brackets screwed into aluminum blocks bonded into the glass block. Testing verified the performance of the “bricks”. The tower features a platform at the top to facilitate lighting and external cleaning devices.

Size: 9,690 sq ft / 900 sq m
Systems Used: AES, PSG
Architect: Marina Tabassum

Talking about Allen Edmonds, they have a sale ongoing right now, $425 now on special, $300. These are a steal at that price considering they are a lifetime investment - these are built like tanks! This one is a personal favorite.

Marin_4260_Black_Angle_web.jpg

Well my leather shoes for meeting clients is Indonesian made, it is relatively cheap compared to Western brand. Indonesian brand and Indonesian made, Andre Valentino. They use that brand name as if it is Italian brand :D

They have store in Pondok Indah Mall which is my favorite place to buy something or hang out with friends and not far from my place.

My sneaker is Nike and also other which brand is not wellknown, but strong as I use it for almost all my outside activites, color is black. Both my Nikes and other sneakers are actually broken but instead of buying another one I get both fixed in Shoes repair :D

Andre Valentino is about 100 USD and I have better style than what I got from Google

1623904257549.png

Pondok Indah Mall (PIM)

Well my leather shoes for meeting clients is Indonesian made, it is relatively cheap compared to Western brand. Indonesian brand and Indonesian made, Andre Valentino. They use that brand name as if it is Italian brand :D

They have store in Pondok Indah Mall which is my favorite place to buy something or hang out with friends and not far from my place.

My sneaker is Nike and also other which brand is not wellknown, but strong as I use it for almost all my outside activites, color is black. Both my Nikes and other sneakers are actually broken but instead of buying another one I get both fixed in Shoes repair :D

Andre Valentino is about 100 USD and I have better style than what I got from Google

View attachment 754130

Pondok Indah Mall (PIM)

Nice quality shoes you have there @Indos brother. Looks like goat leather to me - very nice and supple !

Walton’s snapdragon phone hits markets with pre-book at 10,999 BDT
written by Tech Teen June 12, 2021

Walton’s snapdragon phone hits markets with pre-book at 10,999 BDT

Bangladeshi handset maker Walton has announced the release of its new gaming smartphone ‘Primo RX8 Mini’ enriched with snapdragon processor, large full HD plus display, powerful RAM-ROM, fast charging, and triple back camera features.

Asifur Rahman Khan, head of Walton Cellular Phone Sales department, said they are taking pre-order for the handset. The pre-bookers will get tk 1000 discount from regular price of the phone. This means, customers can purchase the phone at BDT 10,999 only till 16th June. The smartphone has already gained huge popularity among tech-lovers and they are terming it as the best device in this price. Customers can place pre-order from E-Plaza (eplaza.waltonbd.com) or at all Walton Plaza, brand and retail outlets across the country.

Habibur Rahman Tuhin, Walton cellular phone marketing in-charge, said the new device features a 6.3-inch full HD plus display with 2340X1080 pixel screen resolutions. The 8.36 mm slim black colored smartphone looks stunning as glass is used in the back cover.

It sports a 2.2 GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon’s 6 Series Octa-Core processor with Qualcomm Adreno 512 GPU which will ensure higher speed and performance for heavy gaming. The device runs on Android 10 operating system and has a 4 GB RAM with 64 GB internal memory which is expandable up to 256 GB via micro SD card.

The phone comes with f/1.8 aperture AI triple cameras with PDAF technology and LED flash. Its 13-megapixel main camera with Sony sensor and 6P lens will ensure sharp and colorful photos. The smartphone has another 8MP wide angle camera and 5MP depth sensing senor. The device sports another f/2.2 aperture 13MP selfie camera with PDAF technology and 5P lens. It has many interesting features including Face Detection, Digital Zoom (8.0x), BSI, Touch Focus, Touch Shot, Finger Capture, Self-timer, Logo Watermark, Filters, Gridlines, Anti Flicker, Normal mode, Beauty mode, Face Cute, Bokeh, Night, Panorama, Watermark, GIF, Time-Lapse, Beauty Video, PRO Mode (White Balance, ISO, Exposure, Saturation, Contrast, Sharpness), QR Code, Wide, HDR, Portrait, Filter etc.

The phone has a 3600 mAh lithium polymer battery with type-C 18-watt fast charging for sufficient power backup. Connectivity options include Wi-Fi 802.11, bluetooth version 5.0, LAN hotspot, OTA and OTG. Sensors include proximity, light, accelerometer (3D), fingerprint scanner, GPS, A-GPS navigation etc.
Other features include face unlock, dual 4G SIM slot, FM radio with recording facility, Full HD video recording and playback, RGB notification LED, Dark Theme etc.

Customers will get 30 days instant replacement facility along with one-year service warranty for the ‘Made in Bangladesh’ smartphone.

Walton starts business in Iraq through exporting compressors

Walton starts business in Iraq   through exporting compressors

Walton, one of the largest South Asian electronics manufacturing companies based in Bangladesh, has started its business in the Republic of Iraq through exporting hermetic reciprocating refrigerator compressors. Walton authorities are also hoping to expand their business in the middle-east country with various other products.

As Walton has its own compressor manufacturing facilities, compressor parts and components are already being exported to many renowned manufacturers around the globe including Germany, Slovakia and Austria. Walton is also in advancement to establishing compressor brand business in Russia, Europe, Middle East and Africa.

Mohanad Al Drraji, Charges d’Affaires of the embassy of the republic of Iraq to Bangladesh, inaugurated the compressor export in a function at Walton Hi-Tech Industries Ltd. (WHIL) in Chandra of Gazipur on Tuesday (October 1, 2019) as chief guest. The function was also attended, among others, by senior Walton managers CTO, International Business Unit and the Chief Executive Officer of Walton Refrigerator division, COO of Compressor manufacturing, and other executive level staff.

Mohanad Al Drraji commented that he was happy to see the gigantic factory operations at Walton.

Walton has recently started exporting compressors from Bangladesh but Iraq has a huge potential market for all electronic and durable consumer goods made in Bangladesh. I believe Walton products will be well accepted in Iraq. I welcome Walton to Iraq, the Iraqi diplomat added.

Terming the compressor export as the beginning of a new business era from Bangladesh to Iraq, Walton managers commented that they had become a trusted local brand in the consumer Electrical and Electronics (E&E) industry in Bangladesh through a strong manufacturing base, quality product, competitive price, extensive market coverage and prompt after sales services.

As a result, they had captured substantial market share within a very short period of time, and had positioned ourselves as one of the key market players in the E&E industry in Bangladesh as well as South Asia, Middle East, African & European countries.

Bangladesh is moving toward a new milestone of exporting electronic products and within a very short time Walton will be placing Bangladesh on the map as one of the largest consumer electronics exporters. Walton had a strong determination and a detailed master plan to be recognized as the most reliable business partner of many global brands as OEM supplier, they added.

Informing that Walton products are being exported to more than 35 countries, the CEO of Walton mentioned that in order to drive and expand Walton's global business operations in the electronics segment, the company was moving towards establishing offices and presence in markets of North and South America, Middle East, Africa, Russia and European countries very committedly.

He mentioned that exports to MENA and South Asian markets was just the beginning and they are getting many new orders of electronics goods constantly as in all Walton items, the company maintained CE, CB, RoHS, REACH, EMC, EU, USA along with other global quality standards.

Recently, Walton signed contracts with South-Korean brands for supplying huge quantity of consumer electronics and durables as OEM supplier.

‘Made in Bangladesh’ Walton products were also becoming available in North American market through world’s top e-commerce platform Amazon.

Prior to inaugurating compressor export to Iraq, Mohanad Al Drraji and his entourages visited the product display center and various production units including refrigerator, compressor, dye mold, glass-door, air conditioner, LED TV, laptop etc.

Mechanized Rice harvesting is getting rather popular in Bangladesh nowadays. 37 Decimal area harvested in about 9 minutes or so (equates to one acre in an hour). The Harvester is a Kubota Pro 588 i-G model. This was recorded in the Narail (Jessore) area in Bangladesh. Per decimal harvest cost is around Tk. 75-80 however this is a lot lower than doing this using manual labor which costs Tk. 100~120 per decimal.

BSRM Steel reports stellar growth in first 3 quarters

The consolidated sales of BSRM Ltd increased 4% to Tk4,216.09 crore in the first three quarters of FY21 compared to the same period in previous year.
BSRM reports stellar growth in first 3 quarters

Chattogram-based business conglomerate BSRM, which has maintained its dominant position in Bangladesh's steel sector for years, has reported astounding growth in profit as its finance and management cost decreased.

The consolidated sales of Bangladesh Steel Re-Rolling Mills Limited (BSRM Ltd) increased 4% to Tk4,216.09 crore in the first three quarters of FY21 compared to the same period in previous year.

During this period, its consolidated net profit also grew by 248% to Tk273.16 crore and earnings per share stood at Tk10.93.

The company's sales have gone up by 1,258% to Tk8,311 crore over a decade till fiscal 2019-20.

It has been providing rods to various government megaprojects. Its production capacity has reached seven lakh tonnes annually.

BSRM Ltd Company Secretary and General Manager Shekhar Ranjan Kar told The Business Standard, "Despite the steel price hike, the demand for steel increased in the first three quarters of this fiscal year. Besides, low interest on loan and reduced management cost also helped the group to post such growth."

BSRM Steels Ltd

BSRM Steels Ltd was set up to produce billets to averse the risk of potential loss from volatile billet prices in the international market.

Currently, the BSRM Limited holds a 44.97% equity share of the BSRM Steels, whose annual production capacity is 8.62 lakh tonnes. Most billets produced by it has been consumed by BSRM Ltd.

BSRM Steels' sales grew by 24% in the first nine months of the 2020-21 financial year, and its profits jumped by 260%, compared to the same period previous year.

Its sales in the first three quarters of the current financial year was around Tk4,078 crore and it registered a net profit of Tk258.61 crore.

During this period, its earnings per share stood at Tk6.88.

BSRM produces billets and later stage re-bars, angle iron and other extrusion profile iron products. It uses top-of-the-line Danieli Steel producing lines and processes.

iu

DSC_0153.jpg

Payra Lebukhali bridge will finally put an end to ferries on the road to the Southern coast of Patuakhali and Kuakata beach. The bridge piles go down to 130m below the pier bases and it also has a bridge structure health monitoring system, which is one of the firsts in Bangladesh bridge sector. Completion ETA is October/November of this year.

Bridge length is 1470 m, 52 pilings in the footings. This bridge is twice as long as Howrah Bridge and about one fourth the length of the Padma Bridge (6000m or 6KM).

Motorcycle assembler, manufacturer and exporter sector overview in Bangladesh. Almost all Japanese and Indian Brands (who were once Japanese JVs themselves) are represented by local Bangladeshi JV manufacturing partners.

Bajaj, TVS and Hero got ToT from Kawasaki, Suzuki and Honda, respectively - some two/three decades ago.