At Yogi Adityanath’s Gorakhpur durbar: selfies with chair, all-powerful ‘chitthis’

Indika

At Yogi Adityanath’s Gorakhpur durbar: selfies with chair, all-powerful ‘chitthis’
Maharaj ki chitthi is that magic letter that gets all work done in Gorakhpur, say the people who throng Yogi’s janta durbar.
Written by Maulshree Seth | Gorakhpur | Published:March 20, 2017 5:24 am
letter-759.jpg
Shamsher Alam with her chitthi. Maulshree Seth
Hours before Yogi Adityanath, head priest of the Gorakhnath mutt, took oath as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh on Sunday, it was business as usual at his janta durbar in Gorakhpur. Yogi was in Lucknow, but behind the small wooden barricading inside his office, three fixed-line telephones rang incessantly, and two typewriters constantly churned out chitthis — recommendations for individuals to a range of offices and institutions. Among the people waiting in line for “Maharaj ki chitthi” is Shamsher Alam. He is seeking a letter from Yogi’s office so that his waitlisted railway ticket is confirmed. He has to leave for Delhi for the ear surgery of his unmarried sister in the next few hours, but his berth has not been confirmed yet, he says.

Gorakhpur: Adityanath’s Supporters Rejoice Outside Gorakhdham Temple

Sitting before Alam is 65-year-old Sanichari. She is seeking a “chitthi” that would get her free treatment for a severe headache that she’s been getting for the past few months. She has no money for a check-up, she says.

Maharaj ki chitthi is that magic letter that gets all work done in Gorakhpur, say the people who throng Yogi’s janta durbar.

“Chief minister koi bhi ho. Jo yahaan aata hai, iss chitthi se uska kaam ho jaata hai. Yahaan kal, parson, ya narson nahi bulaaya jaata, aur adhikari Maharaj ki baat nahi taalte (It does not matter who the chief minister is. This letter does the job for whoever comes here. Here, you are not told to come back tomorrow, the day after, or the day after. And officials do not disregard what Maharaj says),” says Alam.

Once he has got his chitthi, Alam rushes off to the railway station, struggling to make his way through a crowd of volunteers from Yogi’s Hindu Yuva Vahini taking selfies with Yogi’s chair — empty today — in his durbar. A saffron towel is draped on it, and a pile of books and papers sits on the desk in front. There is the Ramayana on top, and a book on the RSS written by Professor Triloki Nath Mishra.

This is Yogi’s office, where he holds his janta durbar every day from 9 am to 11 am when he is in Gorakhpur. In his absence, the letters of recommendation are signed by his representative, Dwarika Tiwari.

letter1-759.jpg
Sanichari with her chithhi. Maulshree Seth
Recommendations for confirmation of waitlisted tickets are requested commonly — besides Alam’s, there are 22 other recommendations that are being sent to the railway office by fax.

Chaudhary Kaiful Waraq has come to seek a recommendation for inclusion of his name in the government quota for Haj pilgrims. “Whoever comes here gets his work done,” he says. “Some time ago, we had come here seeking resolution of a dispute over some land belonging to a mosque, which was being encroached upon. It was resolved by Maharaj,” says Waraq.

The way Yogi’s office is run contradicts in many ways the strong Hindutva image that he carries outside, says Zakir Ali Waarsi, the 51-year-old head of the section that keeps land records. Young Mohd Moan is one of the caretakers at the cow shelter inside the compound. Mohd Yaseen, who is in his 70s, is in charge of all the construction work at the mutt and at its properties outside.

As the Hindu Yuva Vahini volunteers raise slogans, Zakir Ali walks quietly inside the durbar and sits behind Dwarika Tiwari to assist him in his work. He says he is getting calls from relatives outside Gorakhpur, who want to know how it is to work at the mutt, and whether it is safe.

“I do not know about public perception, politics or public speeches, but I have been working here since 2004 and some of the most important land documents are kept with me,” he says, adding that just the mutt is sprawled over 60 acres of land, and work on building a medical college-cum-research institute is ongoing nearby.

Soon, preparations begin to show to Yogi Adityanath’s followers his oath-taking in Lucknow. In a room next to the durbar, decorated with pictures of Mahant Avaidyanath, a big screen is put up. The entire staff and students of Sanskrit school, which runs on the campus, as well as the visitors, sit down to watch the ceremony live. There are chants of “Jai Shri Ram” and clapping as Yogi takes oath as chief minister.

Soon afterward, a group of BJP workers with BJP flags enters the mutt — not a usual sight here. They raise a variation of the popular slogan associated with Yogi — replacing Gorakhpur with Uttar Pradesh: “Uttar Pradesh mein rehna hai to Yogi Yogi kehna hai”. Students of the neighbouring school join in to blow the shankh as chants of Jai Shri Ram begin again.

As reports come in about the possibility of the Chief Minister visiting Gorakhpur, members of the Hindu Yuva Vahini, a “cultural organisation” created by Yogi in 2002, are excited.

Sanjay Singh, head of the organisation in Deoria district, says, “Hinduvadi hona kuchh galat nahin hai. Hum kisi ko target nahin karte, par Hindu bhawnaaon ki raksha karte hain. (There is nothing wrong in being pro-Hindu. We target no one, but we protect the feelings of Hindus.)”

He adds, “Earlier, we were limited to just eastern Uttar Pradesh, but in this election, we have spread ourselves to the entire state and are moving towards Bihar and Delhi as well. Our only point is that those who live in Bharatvarsha should follow its rules and regulations instead of praising Pakistan or Bangladesh, or following them instead.”

Singh and all his colleagues are hopeful that Yogi, once he is back in Gorakhpur, would give them new directions about their future activities.

There is something called the MP quota in Railways and other govt. services. That is where his "chittis" come in.

Looks like no one goes back empty handed once they approach the good yogi. That bodes well for the future of UP.

Muslim and Christian hater who advocated rape of Muslim female corpses is presented as the "development" man. Another Joomla by RSS-BJP.

RSS do not hate other religions, they oppose any one who oppose bharat varsha and its culture.

There is a reason why sikhism, buddism and jainism are not hated but abrhamic religions are. You know it.

But coming from someone who believes bread can be made into a body and wine into blood just like that by a priest....and that the body and blood are from a so called "son of god" (that even co-abrahamics find ridiculous and false)....its not hard to see why you like to spread more lies in your butthurt. You are born into it and force fed to be this way (that only you have the right to question and assert over others outside your belief structure....but they can never do the same to you because thats "communal"/"anti-secular").....don't worry the Karma is coming to you hypocrites down the road....the process is just starting now.

A person who stoops over to beg a rock for a male offspring and thinks he'll turn into a tall, light-skinned Brahmin in the next life if he has carnal relations with a cow, mocking other people's beliefs.
o_O
We've come full circle here.

I don't reply to idiots that know nothing about Hinduism...you really shouldn't either (esp given he is not even from our country - their impression on what we believe or dont believe should mean nothing to us).

The LTTE guy I respond to because he is from my country and his lot have done much damage within many communities (incl their own)....to the extent that this hindutva reactionism has started and is now becoming unabated. They simply do not realise or acknowledge their own role in all of this....and persist with the hypocritical attitude....that only fans the reaction even more. Good thing is they are increasingly a small minority of people. Most people of all community are good type of people overall by default.
I'm trying to explain the ground reality...RSS is present even before independence...how many times did bjp come into power?
It's because majority of Hindus are secular!! This intolerance rhetoric by selected few was cheered by minorities without any hindsight...this strengthened rss narrative and made many moderate secular Hindu's became pro hindu to extent that they are ready to shun the centuries old caste divide!
That's what you are seeing in UP! And parallel campaign of pro development only aided to it!!
Secularism is as much is the responsibility of majority so it is also of minorities!!

Why hindus are not accepting that hinduism is religion.
You have concept jannat and jahanam like abrahmic religions.
You worship idols as god.you have books like which you consider holy as quran.
What are causes for not accepting hinduism is a religion?

Let me give you a simple answer. There are parts of Hinduism that are totally atheistic. So how can it be a religion? A religion requires a dogma but Hinduism has many dogmas, and parts that have no dogma at all.

It is a collection of many belief structures and patterns....that were lumped in by original geography essentially (hence why it took the name of a river rather than any single deity/tribe/concept).

And no, idols are not worshipped as a "god" by those Hindu streams that have murthi-based customs...not in the abrahamic definition anyway. Closest comparison is similar to why muslims point towards the Kabba during their prayers and circumambulate it when at mecca....it is an object/portal of focus. Why do you think Hindus still persist even after many of the stone "idols" have been destroyed over many centuries (sometimes even by fellow Hindus)?

A person who stoops over to beg a rock for a male offspring and thinks he'll turn into a tall, light-skinned Brahmin in the next life if he has carnal relations with a cow, mocking other people's beliefs.
o_O
We've come full circle here.

People who have no idea about Hinduism should not comment on it based on some insecure brainwashing classes they went in childhood.

I'm trying to explain the ground reality...RSS is present even before independence...how many times did bjp come into power?
It's because majority of Hindus are secular!! This intolerance rhetoric by selected few was cheered by minorities without any hindsight...this strengthened rss narrative and made many moderate secular Hindu's became pro hindu to extent that they are ready to shun the centuries old caste divide!
That's what you are seeing in UP! And parallel campaign of pro development only aided to it!!
Secularism is as much as the responsibility of majority so it is also of minorities!!

1. From 1951 to 1977, Bharatiya Jana Sangh (BJS) was the political arm of the RSS. It did not get any traction because back then CONgress was the original "Hindu party" and its rival was the Muslim League which was the muslim party and Akali Dal was the Sikh party and Independent Labour Party of Ambedkar was the original Dalit party.

2. BJP was found from the Janata Party in 1977 and the Janata Party defeated the congress in 1977.

3. BJP started gaining the public space as a Hindu/Hindutva party every since CONgress Vacated that place starting with the death of Rajiv Gandhi and ascendance of Sonia gandhi.

4. Its not that the Majority Hindus are secular. Its because the HINDU Religion itself is "secular" at its very core. Which is why "secularism" in India means "sarva dharma sambhava" (equal respect to all religion) which is a very Unique HINDU concept.

While in the christian west, "secular" means a much more Narrow, "separation of church and govt".

5. The caste divide is an artificial construct made by the British and institutionalised by the Indian Constitution which was drafted by the British educated elites. American educated Ambedkar Himself wanted "caste" based reservation only for 10 Years. He had envisioned a India free of caste and based on true fraternity.

Only he did not put the checks and balance in place that would have ensured such a future.

6. India and UP was ALWAYS Pro Hindu. Even Jinnah saw that. Only like most "liberals" of today, he too failed to see that "pro Hindu" did not mean "anti Muslim" because as an Islamist he could not imagine a religion which actually respected a different point of view. Such an idea was foreign to Islam and Christianity and hence they will continue to believe "pro Hindu" = "anti Minority".

And like the say, there is No medicine that can cure "doubt".

5. The caste divide is an artificial construct made by the British...

:omghaha:

So now it's the Britishers' fault that you have castes in Hinduism? Was it also the British who forbid intercaste marriage or not drinking from same cup as upper caste? :lol:

@mike2000 is back @Blue Marlin witness this fascinating revisionist history stuff - RSS history making factory is rewriting your colonial history. :D

Why hindus are not accepting that hinduism is religion.
You have concept jannat and jahanam like abrahmic religions.
You worship idols as god.you have books like which you consider holy as quran.
What are causes for not accepting hinduism is a religion?
There are over thousands different scriptures in Hinduism. Hinduism is a vast cultural civilization ,not a religion. There are different faiths in Hinduism. Even there is concept of atheism in Hinduism.

It is very difficult to explain to Abrahamic Religions to explain Dharmic Religions.

1 There is no single religious book of Hinduism. When someone says Geeta or the Vedas it is just one of the many books. You are free to follow any of these books or follow no book. There is no equivalent for a Quran or Bible in Hinduism
2 There are no set customs of Hinduism. A Gujrate Hindu will marry differently as compared to a Bengali Hindu, who will marry differently as compared to a UP Hindu.
3 There is no set "God" in Hinduism. When we say "33 Crore Devi, Devta" we actually mean it. You are free to worship any living/non Living - Being or Entity. You have Ram Worshippers you also have people who worship Ravan. He is considered a Great Gyaani Brahman and devotee of Lord Shiva
4 Like you correctly pointed out you can be an athiest and still be considered as a Hindu. You dont need to believe in god. I can go to a Church or a Mosque and pray there and still be a Hindu. Anyone who thinks and feels that he is a Hindu is a Hindu. It is not like Ahemadiya population. Even though Ahmediya consider themselves as Muslims the Fundamentalist Muslims dont do so

That is why saying Hinduism is a religion is wrong. It is a cultural way of life

It is very difficult to explain to Abrahamic Religions to explain Dharmic Religions.

1 There is no single religious book of Hinduism. When someone says Geeta or the Vedas it is just one of the many books. You are free to follow any of these books or follow no book. There is no equivalent for a Quran or Bible in Hinduism
2 There are no set customs of Hinduism. A Gujrate Hindu will marry differently as compared to a Bengali Hindu, who will marry differently as compared to a UP Hindu.
3 There is no set "God" in Hinduism. When we say "33 Crore Devi, Devta" we actually mean it. You are free to worship any living/non Living - Being or Entity. You have Ram Worshippers you also have people who worship Ravan. He is considered a Great Gyaani Brahman and devotee of Lord Shiva
4 Like you correctly pointed out you can be an athiest and still be considered as a Hindu. You dont need to believe in god. I can go to a Church or a Mosque and pray there and still be a Hindu. Anyone who thinks and feels that he is a Hindu is a Hindu. It is not like Ahemadiya population. Even though Ahmediya consider themselves as Muslims the Fundamentalist Muslims dont do so

That is why saying Hinduism is a religion is wrong. It is a cultural way of life
Ya correct.
Religion is a particular ideology which is imposed on a group of people and this group of people has to follow it same as it.

But cultural civilization has freedom. You are free to adopt any culture .

its a religion if not then why people kill for eating beef or why there is ban on eating beef.
Why there is ghar wapsi program going on in india.
yeah you can go church and masjid because they dont prohibited.
but hindus prohibited the people of other religion from enter in mandirs.
even one sect of hinduism cannot enter mandirs because they not from higher cast.
this what free will or imposing.
eating beef is prohibited in my religion so you should dont eat also.we worship cow so you have to respect it.
hindus can go church or masjid for praying because you religion didnot prohibited it
i think early peoples of hinduism even didnot know there is any other religion exists in the world.
Abraham religion know there are others religion exists in the world so prohibited their followers from practices of other religion.
And what you are saying there athieast sect in hinduism?
Can give me any example of it.

i know hindus are trying hard to be wolf in sheep cloths