As Imran Khan foretold in his speech - Govt imposes New Tax on Electricity Bills on demand of IMF.

'Foretold'. What a messiah. Did it come to him in the form of a vision?

No, he just read the publicly available documents outlining the conditions of the IMF for releasing the periodic tranches.

You sir are living in a total different world nawas is a complete good and not better than a average pakistani in personality nor in any human characteristics you go for familes thats just rude and idiotic would you talk about quiad-e-azam daughter who married a Parsi and call him something ill too? what is wrong with you people? Chinese president dident come no problem he will come again its not that we cant live without him be rational dont be a blind idiot and not accept anything else other than ur beloved leader the #1 goon of this world Nawas Sharif.
erm, did you read the last line, the one which starts with edit?

No, he just read the publicly available documents outlining the conditions of the IMF for releasing the periodic tranches.

Sir, you just blasted my unwise sarcasm game with the IK fanboys, it would've been fun..

Anyway, let's see what terrific explanation we'll get from them in return for pointing out the fact that IMF always gives clear, crystal clear conditions before it commits itself and this isn't the first time the government has inevitable given in to those conditions. If I recall correctly, this last chunk of loans had their conditions drawn out about a year ago.

erm, did you read the last line, the one which starts with edit?
Lmfao i just clearly ignored that thinking like whats wrong with this guy when i read the upper paragraph Lol.... Iam sorry :P

No problem man, what I said there was something most IK hater usually say, because that's the only thing they can say about him, they cant call him liar or corrupt, its always the personal stuff, etc. It does make thing considering few people couldn't see I was being sarcastic, maybe there are ppl who think like whatever I said in the first post, hmm, I hope not

noora ki akar = marasi ki akar...

Sir, you just blasted my unwise sarcasm game with the IK fanboys, it would've been fun..

Anyway, let's see what terrific explanation we'll get from them in return for pointing out the fact that IMF always gives clear, crystal clear conditions before it commits itself and this isn't the first time the government has inevitable given in to those conditions. If I recall correctly, this last chunk of loans had their conditions drawn out about a year ago.

Bhai Sahib, jaley huwon ko mazeed satana achchee baat nahi. :D

Let me just add to what you have said above, before people start to blast IMF, Pakistan's participation in the program is voluntary because it chose to go to the IMF, not the other way around.

No problem man, what I said there was something most IK hater usually say, because that's the only thing they can say about him, they cant call him liar or corrupt, its always the personal stuff, etc. It does make thing considering few people couldn't see I was being sarcastic, maybe there are ppl who think like whatever I said in the first post, hmm, I hope not
haha :P

Looks like OP just read the headline and ran to these forums to make a topic to get high fives from other PTIans. He simply doesn't understand the basic level of finance which would it clear to him that IK or his baap would have done the same thing to the rates to protect Pakistan from defaulting on the IMF loans.

The fact is that we need loans because the rich aren't pay gather taxes, not paying utility bills and earning billions through misuse of state machinery and assets.

Had the top 1% of Pakistan paid their taxes and bills, we would not have had to go the IMF in the first place. IMF needs to recover its loans. The poor must pay.

Instead of taxing the rich and recovering electricity bills from rich defaulters the N government raises GST tax which will affect the poor and raises utility prices illegally.

Does it help? In the short term yes. The loans are recovered and Pakistan enters a cycle of debt. Instead of building much needing dams the governments go to expensive rental power plants and then to thermal power plants that have thus far proved even more expensive.

So what should the government have done? They should have raised the tax rates for the rich while also trying the best to get the ultra rich in the tax net. When there is a will, there is a way. But it seems the current government is in no mood to 'burden' the rich fearing declining investments.

I agree with the governments decision to raise electricity prices in tiers. The more you use the more you pay per unit. But the biggest problem is theft and red tape. Look and KESC s transformation to K electric. They now make a profit. The reason? No nepotism.

Alas people are fools who succumbed to sharif propaganda that they will end loadshedding first within 6 months, then 1 year and then two. There has been no concrete plan for this--all plans are either shrouded by corruption or are inefficient and therefore are being scrapped after spending billions.

Either the N government is incompetent or have agendas other than the betterment of the common Pakistani.

hmmm nawaz is IMFs slave wts new?

'Foretold'. What a messiah. Did it come to him in the form of a vision?
Yea lol

No increase in power tariff for consumers | PAKISTAN - geo.tv

ISLAMABAD: In line with the directions of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, the government has decided not to burden the electricity consumers with new tariff for the year 2013-14 as determined by NEPRA and maintains it at the level of current tariff.

The average national tariff for the year 2013-14 as determined by National Electric Power Regulatory Authority (NEPRA) is Rs 13.81 per unit while the current average national tariff is Rs 11.52 per unit.

It may be recalled that recently the government has notified 29 paisa unit equalization surcharge which has been decided to offset with a reduction of 30 paisa unit due to fuel price adjustment resulting in zero impact on the consumers, said a press release of Media Wing of the Prime Minister’s Office on Tuesday.

It has also been decided to continue subsidy for the domestic and agricultural consumers to lessen the burden of expensive energy mix in the power generation.

The decision has been taken by the Prime Minister to provide relief to the consumers specially the domestic consumers.

The power generation in the country is predominately run on expensive fuel which results in higher generation cost and higher tariff to be paid by the end consumers.

The government is making all out efforts to absorb the impact of the higher tariff and pass on minimum impact to the end consumers.

The power generation mechanism has also been lined up to ensure running of least expensive plants first and more later to ensure that minimum fuel charges are passed on to the consumers, it said.

New projects with an expected capacity of about 10400 MW are being pursued based on cheaper sources of fuel like coal and hydropower which will result in reduction in cost of generation in the coming years. (APP)