Arjun News & Discussions

sir ji, a question for u..can u plz tell that despite outgunning and outmaneuvering the t-90 the numbers r still so low???(just 4 regiments)it can perform everything the t 90 can and also a lot more stuff..i would have loved if we produced atleast500 mk1 and the mk2 version to replace the t72's..also i cannot unerstand is army is arguing that in 10 years arjun's technology n design will become obsolete then why r they buying more than 1600 t 90's??? if the t90' can stay in indian army till 2040 then y not the mk 1 version in good no's??

I dont know what Indian Army Sir will comment on this:).
I think the whole issue is about a completely new tank is getting inducted to Army.
1. Its a different class, meaning to say its heavier class, so the army first needs to build infrastructure for this type of vehicle.
2. the army has never operated a modern tank like this, meaning to say its battle management system and advanved FCS are some things which are new to our Army. So intitial procurement will be used to train and most probably it will take time for Army to adapt itself to this tank.

I think what Army has thought is that, advanced T-90 (i read somewhere they are fitting the missing controls this time to the tank) is of same cost to Arjun which is about 17 crores.

So an already placed order for so many tanks(T-90) plus additional 500 for Arjun will not be economical for army when they know that even after buying equal pricing Arjun they will incur additional cost for its infrastructure developement which might escalate the average price for Arjun to a but more and might delay the induction and over all prepardness of Army with this tank as compared to T-90.

I see this as main reason. If not for the weight I think DRDO had a strong point in pushing this tank more.

My 2 cents.

I dont know what Indian Army Sir will comment on this:).
I think the whole issue is about a completely new tank is getting inducted to Army.
1. Its a different class, meaning to say its heavier class, so the army first needs to build infrastructure for this type of vehicle.
2. the army has never operated a modern tank like this, meaning to say its battle management system and advanved FCS are some things which are new to our Army. So intitial procurement will be used to train and most probably it will take time for Army to adapt itself to this tank.

I think what Army has thought is that, advanced T-90 (i read somewhere they are fitting the missing controls this time to the tank) is of same cost to Arjun which is about 17 crores.

So an already placed order for so many tanks(T-90) plus additional 500 for Arjun will not be economical for army when they know that even after buying equal pricing Arjun they will incur additional cost for its infrastructure developement which might escalate the average price for Arjun to a but more and might delay the induction and over all prepardness of Army with this tank as compared to T-90.

I see this as main reason. If not for the weight I think DRDO had a strong point in pushing this tank more.

My 2 cents.

buddy but nw since we have 250 tanks,infrastructure and training will be required for it too..economies of scale says that the operating and maintainance cost will come down if the order is in big no's..thats my thinking..and money shouldnt be a problem every year millions of dollars r returned back to finance ministry as unspent amt...so i think it would be better of as ordering atleast 500 tanks and by the time mk2 version will be ready and upgradation of mk1 to mk 2 can take place...just my thought....

True, Oredring at least 500 tanks will be more economical for DRDO than Army, which is already invested the funds which were suppoised to be used by Arjun, in T90, so this will be always an additional invest for them.

Plus more tanks means more money always.

If you talk about economy of scale then I think a 1000 tanks (Arjun) on orer will actually compensate the initial invesment , 250 and 500 are all the same.

iam not against Arjun and will want this tank in Army, however I think the conservative way of thinking of army's top brass which is thinking like this.

and their thoughts are very similar to what i posted now. At least I think so..

I said over 6 weeks ago that India will eventually field over 500 Arjun TANKS BY 2020 along side 1500 T90 anf some older 1500 T72s by 2020

man if its anthing cclose to it then all hell will break lose but one thing i noticed that it is only having six wheels while the arjun chassis has seven:sniper::sniper::taz::taz:
it has 7 wheels mate one is raised in upper left corner

but i thought that it was difficult to make changes in the basic chassis of a MBT...:what:

buddy nothing changed only extra NERA ( non explosive reactive amour) is added to the front of the turrent and sides of the tank