Arjun Mark-II will be completed by July 2011

Veeru

Arjun Mark-II will be completed by July 2011

CHENNAI: The phase one production of Arjun Mark-II will be completed by July 2011 and phase two production with 93 new improvements will be completed by June 2012, said P Sivakumar, Director of Combat Vehicle Research and Development Establishment, a wing of the DRDO.

In Phase-I, 45 tanks will roll out with 56 upgrades, including the missile firing capability and the enhanced night vision, and in Phase-II, the remaining 79 tanks, with all the 93 improvements, will come off the assembly line. “By 2013-14, the first batch of 30 tanks will reach the ground,” Sivakumar told Express.

Addressing a seminar at Anna University, Sivakumar also mentioned the need for defence establishments to reduce the weight of combat vehicles like tanks. “Material sciences and nanotechnology play a significant role in this change. At present Arjun tanks weigh 60 tonnes. But there may be a demand to reduce the weight to 50 tonnes to improve mobility. This can be achieved to some extent by applying nanotechnology in reducing the thickness of armors while retaining their strength,” he said.

The DRDO research and innovation center at IIT-Madras Research Park will try to work and address such needs by collaborating with educational institutions, Sivakumar said.

“The center will become operational by July and we look to pool in resources from students of IIT-M and Anna University to conduct futuristic research at this centre, different from projects going on in the regular DRDO labs,” he said.

The focus of this research centre, according to Sivakumar, will be on developing the suspension technology. “India is a leader in hydropneumatic suspension technology and we are looking to broaden the scope further through this centre,” he said.

Arjun Mark-II will be completed by July 2011 | | | Indian Express

Don't waste your money when your economy is downward and inflation rising.
thanks for the advice...we know our economy is weakening every year due the war and terrorist attack everyday in our country and we have an unsafe future compared to yours which is growing at second fast growth rate in the world and is a a booming economy with a great future ahead.

people coming to streets. India is in state of danger anytime public anger will remove the regime in delhi.

yes...soon we will come to street and do some suicide bombings in the street as our kids are trained to do so in our madarsas and very soon the army will take over the command.......see, we are moving towards a failed state. :) compared to yours which is a complete and a democracy where kids get best of education in the world.

thanks for the advice...we know our economy is weakening every year due the war and terrorist attack everyday in our country and we have an unsafe future compared to yours which is growing at second fast growth rate in the world and is a a booming economy with a great future ahead.

yes...soon we will come to street and do some suicide bombings in the street as our kids are trained to do so in our madarsas and very soon the army will take over the command.......see, we are moving towards a failed state. :) compared to yours which is a complete and a democracy where kids get best of education in the world.

why you wasting time biray?? :no:

arjunmk2.jpg

^^^ Look here - Another one is back to Ruin this Thread

Koi Kaam dhaanda nahi hai kya ???

ignore the trolls..get back on topic

so the arjun mark 2 prototype will be ready by april right?

ignore the trolls..get back on topic

so the arjun mark 2 prototype will be ready by april right?

Arey bro... trolls r jst an entertainment ..... without them luk how bogus this all ll feel..... only heroes cant complete a whole damn picture .. :azn:... u got me right.;)

and ya as it seems prototype might take its 1st run any time nearby..... lets wish n hope fr the best.:tup:

Where it says April? News report says July'2011 and that's an estimate. Slipping timelines are common things in R&D projects.

So my expectation is, it will be out by year end and even if it came out, there is no guarantee that Indian Army won't reject it under some new excuses or revised requirements. So, lets see how much numbers IA actually orders by year end otherwise, it will be all wasted efforts by people working on this project.

Where it says April? News report says July'2011 and that's an estimate. Slipping timelines are common things in R&D projects.

So my expectation is, it will be out by year end and even if it came out, there is no guarantee that Indian Army won't reject it under some new excuses or revised requirements. So, lets see how much numbers IA actually orders by year end otherwise, it will be all wasted efforts by people working on this project.

Also note that Govt allotted Arjun mk II project just middle of previous year. But I think there will be no delay, the first Arjun mk II will be ready for summer trial in July as most of the technologies already developed.