Answer to UAE’s water security crisis could lie in Pakistan, says head of Geowash

Dasht to dasht dariya bhi nah choray hum nay...
Behr e arab mein bicha diyay pipe hum nay.

I can get on with that... Flood water and water that is being wasted in the Arabian sea. We export the water and while exporting we build more channels and canals so that in some years to come we can utilizs enough of it to lower the water export and keep it to floods. Its a joke that we can get floods in one city and drought in another however the govt is not smart enough to play the game. If cards are played smartly we can really pay off but these guys are only good enough to sell stuff.

Create two pipelines. They provide gas and we provide water. Also we need barrels of oil.
U forgeted to add this : send the people who are using that water to uae.its not. A full flash river,upstream musharaf made the dam,and people are using it for agricultural purpose.but still if u sell water then this will happen in dasht river delta slo.

‘Land erosion threatening Navy installations’

Please expand on your post----.
I did but donot know again it come back.just go to pirtucular page,where it is complete

Answer to UAE’s water security crisis could lie in Pakistan, says head of Geowash
AR-160109882.jpg&MaxW=300&imageVersion=default

Abdulla Al Shehi plans to connect a Pakistani river to the UAE through underground tunnels in an attempt to irrigate the emirates. Mona Al Marzooqi / The National
Naser Al Wasmi Jan 02, 2016
ABU DHABI // The answer to the UAE’s water shortage could lie in a pipeline from Pakistan, according to an Emirati businessman.

Abdulla Al Shehi, chief executive of Geowash, has written a paper suggesting an underground pipeline from Dasht, a river 500 kilometres away in Pakistan, to Fujairah.

“Technology is not a problem. We are at an advanced stage in engineering where it is possible politically as well. I don’t think there will be any problem. It is beneficial for both countries,” he said.

He said the Dasht River floods annually, which prompted the Pakistani government to empty the excess water through channels leading to the sea. That excess water, said Mr Al Shehi, could be put to use in the UAE.

The idea may sound far-fetched, but Mr Al Shehi is something of a specialist in saving water.

Since its inception, Mr Al Shehi has run Geowash, which washes a car using only four litres of water, compared to the 220 litres conventional cleaning takes.

Mr Al Shehi’s technique has allowed the company to save 500 million litres of water since 2008.

The pipeline, if built, would not be the longest – that honour belongs to Turkey’s 9,300km pipeline in the Harran Plain.

Nor will it be the most difficult feat of engineering. However, it would face other issues that Mr Al Shehi admitted.

“There will be an environmental impact. There might be a negative effect, which I think is minor,” he said.

“However, the benefits in saving water from desalination and the amount of biological life it will spur will offset the effects.”

However, for Professor Hussein Amery, who wrote a book titled Arab Water Security, the concept of creating a pipeline is fraught with political issues.

“I won’t discuss the economics of engineering challenges. I am suspicious of a project of this sort, because let me remind you that Qatar and Kuwait both have explored importing water from south-west Iran,” he said.

The problem with creating cross-country pipelines, he said, was that it created a security situation where a nation is dependent on a neighbour – described by Prof Amery as “hydro-dependency”.

“Gulf-Pakistani relations are different than Gulf-Irani relations. I am totally aware of that, but the engineering would be challenging and difficult considering the terrain,” he said.

He said that the political and technological hurdles can be overcome, but even then, the idea still would not be efficient.

“We use a very small amount of water in our homes in the Gulf states,” he said.

“Anywhere between 70 to 80 per cent goes to agriculture.

“It’s much cheaper and much more efficient to have the Pakistanis grow wheat and feed cows, then export the food [than import the water and grow food locally].”

Furthermore, he said, the UAE relies heavily on a very energy-intensive water source.

“The biggest threat is that it [the UAE] is hyper-arid and it doesn’t have any permanent water source, which created the reliance on desalination technology, as such it has become the destiny for the Emirates and other Gulf states,” he said.

Dr Ahmad Belhoul, chief executive of Masdar, said although it is investing heavily in researching renewable energy to provide energy to desalination plants, he welcomed new ideas, especially as the year of innovation comes to a close.

“I think that the very spirit of creating a company like Masdar is to encourage people to come up with ideas, some which are very practical and others more ambitious,” he said. “Either way, it warms my heart that Emiratis and expats alike are thinking proactively of solutions.
Answer to UAE’s water security crisis could lie in Pakistan, says head of Geowash | The National
So in short we will have the option of exporting our floods sounds good to me :D
Last but not least in gwadar only dam is empty now.and still city has to expand rapidly next 10 years.so gawadar is gonna use that watet.chapter close. Ankara Kaur Dam: Gwadar’s water supply tapers off to a trickle - The Express Tribune

No ,as upstream in general musharaf period,dam is constructed,due to which down stream population is depended on that water for irrigation purpose,and it is not all season flowing river,when you google you see increase of green feilds alond the dasht down stream,sencond tunnel is made the it will made land erosion
‘Land erosion threatening Navy installations’
Its better they invest in road network as part of cpec underwater/underground tunnels from gawadar to oman or uae or from ommara to oman.contains railway lines as well as oil gas pipe lines ,as a package,or connect by bridges.what ever is do able

Is advice say behtar hy invite them to rule Pakistan
Bhai flood ko zaya karnay say acha hay flood ko bech do

Bhayya myray term land erosin ,if you know then you not say this,because of dams construction now arabia sea is eating our lands in sindh,sea need some persentage of river water,and also flash floods to,before the dams construction sea was giving land,now year by year it is covering land.so if we sale extra water ,we lose land ,only posibility is contruct the wall against sea.which will give you land but it will kill the fishing industry,so every thing is interlink,its natural cycle.dash river is try river ,it do not have glashiers which flow whole year,it is just rain water,and upstream there is mirani dam,which almost hold most of the water and then the locals use the rest for irrigation.all in alll that project will kill the land scape,sea will cover the land,fishing will also die.whole pasni gawadar fishermens will face trouble.even if you solve everything.then dasht river will be the only key source for gwadar future residence.so it is not possible.or you will again buy same water from uae.as we import cotton after exporting in previous years.

Why are we wasting fresh water and then crying wolf over our irrigation needs?

Water management is a disaster in Pakistan. My wife hails from Chitral and we go every year to this serene place to visit family. Chitral like many other places in Pakistan is blessed with tons of clean water flowing down from the world's most beautiful hills and mountains. German scientists did research on this glacial water. They were gobsmacked to find out how clean this water is. According to the researchers the water could be bottled straight away for consumption with minimal filtering. Instead, this water is wasted and ends up in rivers. Guess what, the government of Pakistan is virtually nonexistent in places where tons of clean water could be harvested and supplied across the country. These people cry foul about a lack of clean drinking water, yet so much of it ends up being wasted. The last time I heard, some Americans were bottling and exporting the same water to their country.

We seem to have a lot of water which we find no use of so exporting it to uae aint such a bad idea
Dear first provide water to Tharparkar and cholistan areas then think about exporting it. :disagree:

Dasht to dasht dariya bhi nah choray hum nay...
Behr e arab mein bicha diyay pipe hum nay.
Do pipe cholistan aur tharparkar mein bhi.:agree:

Why not a pipeline near the delta region where the indus merges with the sea?
Errr, Indus takes silt into the sea, silt is nutrient rich and these nutrients are consumed by the fish, thus making them large in size and healthier, remove the water carrying silt, and one manages to destroy the entire fishing industry of the Sindh coast.

Not the entire coast but only around parts of thatta that too could be negotiated by requesting them to compensate the fishermen of that region and the pipeline wont send all the water to uae but only a small portion of it

Dear first provide water to Tharparkar and cholistan areas then think about exporting it. :disagree:

Do pipe cholistan aur tharparkar mein bhi.:agree:
Ppp is against it

Not the entire coast but only around parts of thatta that too could be negotiated by requesting them to compensate the fishermen of that region and the pipeline wont send all the water to uae but only a small portion of it

Ppp is against it

Fishing industry is a huge chunk of our economy, there's no way we can sustain giving so much to the fishermen, the best way is to build huge reservoirs, and use them to give excessive flood water to UAE.

AR-160109882.jpg&MaxW=300&imageVersion=default

Abdulla Al Shehi plans to connect a Pakistani river to the UAE through underground tunnels in an attempt to irrigate the emirates. Mona Al Marzooqi / The National
Naser Al Wasmi Jan 02, 2016
ABU DHABI // The answer to the UAE’s water shortage could lie in a pipeline from Pakistan, according to an Emirati businessman.

Abdulla Al Shehi, chief executive of Geowash, has written a paper suggesting an underground pipeline from Dasht, a river 500 kilometres away in Pakistan, to Fujairah.

“Technology is not a problem. We are at an advanced stage in engineering where it is possible politically as well. I don’t think there will be any problem. It is beneficial for both countries,” he said.

He said the Dasht River floods annually, which prompted the Pakistani government to empty the excess water through channels leading to the sea. That excess water, said Mr Al Shehi, could be put to use in the UAE.

The idea may sound far-fetched, but Mr Al Shehi is something of a specialist in saving water.

Since its inception, Mr Al Shehi has run Geowash, which washes a car using only four litres of water, compared to the 220 litres conventional cleaning takes.

Mr Al Shehi’s technique has allowed the company to save 500 million litres of water since 2008.

The pipeline, if built, would not be the longest – that honour belongs to Turkey’s 9,300km pipeline in the Harran Plain.

Nor will it be the most difficult feat of engineering. However, it would face other issues that Mr Al Shehi admitted.

“There will be an environmental impact. There might be a negative effect, which I think is minor,” he said.

“However, the benefits in saving water from desalination and the amount of biological life it will spur will offset the effects.”

However, for Professor Hussein Amery, who wrote a book titled Arab Water Security, the concept of creating a pipeline is fraught with political issues.

“I won’t discuss the economics of engineering challenges. I am suspicious of a project of this sort, because let me remind you that Qatar and Kuwait both have explored importing water from south-west Iran,” he said.

The problem with creating cross-country pipelines, he said, was that it created a security situation where a nation is dependent on a neighbour – described by Prof Amery as “hydro-dependency”.

“Gulf-Pakistani relations are different than Gulf-Irani relations. I am totally aware of that, but the engineering would be challenging and difficult considering the terrain,” he said.

He said that the political and technological hurdles can be overcome, but even then, the idea still would not be efficient.

“We use a very small amount of water in our homes in the Gulf states,” he said.

“Anywhere between 70 to 80 per cent goes to agriculture.

“It’s much cheaper and much more efficient to have the Pakistanis grow wheat and feed cows, then export the food [than import the water and grow food locally].”

Furthermore, he said, the UAE relies heavily on a very energy-intensive water source.

“The biggest threat is that it [the UAE] is hyper-arid and it doesn’t have any permanent water source, which created the reliance on desalination technology, as such it has become the destiny for the Emirates and other Gulf states,” he said.

Dr Ahmad Belhoul, chief executive of Masdar, said although it is investing heavily in researching renewable energy to provide energy to desalination plants, he welcomed new ideas, especially as the year of innovation comes to a close.

“I think that the very spirit of creating a company like Masdar is to encourage people to come up with ideas, some which are very practical and others more ambitious,” he said. “Either way, it warms my heart that Emiratis and expats alike are thinking proactively of solutions.
Answer to UAE’s water security crisis could lie in Pakistan, says head of Geowash | The National
So in short we will have the option of exporting our floods sounds good to me :D
@MaarKhoor @DESERT FIGHTER @Ammara Chaudhry @WAJsal @DesertFox97 @haviZsultan

Thanks you and we are not interested. Please get water from the countries where you are investing heavily

Why would UAE import water from Pakistan when they are surrounded by water? Seawater desalination might be expensive right now but UAE uses that a lot already and as with any current technology time will make water desalination cheaper and more effective.

UAE is a relatively small country with only 10 million people or so to provide for. They will be fine. One of the most wealthy and developed Muslim nations out there and one of the most developed nations as a whole. Very clever leadership.

A long time brotherly ally and friend of Egypt too.

Why would UAE import water from Pakistan when they are surrounded by water? Seawater desalination might be expensive right now but UAE uses that a lot already and as with any current technology time will make water desalination cheaper and more effective.

We're talking about irrigation purposes. You know much it costs to desalinate seawater? It doesn't make sense to use desalinated seawater for irrigation purposes. A pipeline may not be cheap, but a hell lot cheaper than desalinating seawater.

I am not sure about that. You have to remember that technology is changing quickly and that seawater desalination is the future for a lot of countries not building pipelines that export fresh water. Once mobile phones costed a fortune now everyone (almost) can afford them.

Same will eventually happen with seawater desalination.

Also UAE is a extremely rich country and they only have to support 10 million people or so.

Anyway I don't think that this news will happen.