Ancient Heritage Sight being Demolished in Peshawar to pave way for Commercial Plaza

I knew somebody will quote Babri in my context.
bro any sane person will condemn demolition of any mosque or temple etc.
Demolition of Babri was a sad incident and i hate those who did and and like wise many temples, around 40,000 have been demolished since Mughal era so you cant blame other community nor i can blame muslims or anyone else.
TAALI EK HAATH SE NAHI BAJTI
I have too many Muslim friends and have been to mosques and goes there regularly, 200 metre behind my home and i must tell you i find peace there so it's not a matter of Hindu-Muslim. it's about how you look at things.

People need to change not a community, all gods only teach to love others.
Peace :)
I understand what your saying - but if this Temple has no use - then it isnt a temple at all. KPK government would have never demolished this if worshipers visit the area.

Who said anything about asking Europeans? You created a thread on ancient heritage site. Please verify the credentials of this building. Ancient = what is the age of this building? When was it built? Heritage = what history associated with this building makes it heritage? Any evidence of who built it? Any historical event of any significance which can be associated or relevant to this specific building?
Respected Sir,
The words "ancient" and "heritage" form the part of the News mentioned hereunder along with link. I cannot vouch for the authencity of this report though I relied on it assuming PTI and TOI are reliable sources.

regards
Ancient Hindu temple in Peshawar being 'secretly' demolished, say locals
PTI |Feb 23, 2016, 09.02 PM IST
51112612.jpg

The residents said the process started some 10 days and is going on without any hindrance.
PESHAWAR: An ancient Hindu temple in this northwestern Pakistani city is being demolished secretly in the name of repair with a commercial plaza set to come up on its land.

The ancient Hindu temple located in Karimpura in Peshawar's old city is being demolished in the name of repairs, several inhabitants of the area said.

They said the process started some 10 days and is going on without any hindrance.

"It is a pity that a criminal act of pulling down a heritage structure has been launched. The building is being knocked down clandestinely to erect a commercial plaza on the site," a resident said.

"There is no action from any of the government departments which are supposed to protect such buildings," the resident said.

Another resident said it was a double-criminal act.

"On the one hand an ancient building is being demolished while on the other a commercial plaza is set to be constructed on its land in a purely residential area," he told The News.

Residents have questioned the silence of the relevant government departments over the entire episode.

They deplored the inaction of government authorities in the wake of the the demolition of the heritage building.

There is no action by the Evacuee Trust Property Board (ETPB), Auqaf Department dealing with the non-Muslim properties and the Archaeology Department — the departments tasked with protecting such properties.

"Either these departments are a partner in the crime or they are negligent," a resident said.

Demanding an immediate halt to the demolition process, the residents asked ETPB Chairman Saddique-ul-Farooq to order a probe into the issue to bring to justice the government officials whose negligence or tacit approval had put in danger the ancient Hindu temple.

The Civil Society members, in a statement, said this is a painful story in all major cities of Pakistan where speculative land mafia in collusion with lower-tier government officials and police get away with destroying Pakistan's precious heritage.

The government is reduced to being a silent spectator in this demolition, they said.

Ancient Hindu temple in Peshawar being 'secretly' demolished, say locals - Times of India

No, think again. Masjid is likely not abandoned in Pakistan, yet they are demolished or relocated if required. It's common sense. I happen to know this is a big problem in India where people can erect a temple illegally to encroach on land and then it becomes impossible to remove it because of religious sensitivity. Point here is not whether it can be demolished or not due to religious sentiment. Point is whether this building holds any historical value? It appears it doesn't. So it has to go. There are no Hindus in the area who are using it (as is evident from its condition). Unless someone can provide any evidence of its historical value.

It's pretty lame to compare tomb of an emperor with an unknown abandoned temple built less than a century ago. For obvious reasons you are bringing in religious element into this discussion. When it comes to preserving heritage we are no worse than our neighbours. A little better perhaps.

Only one Hindu temple of historic value exists in Pakistan. Katas Raj temple. It too was abandoned by Hindu community despite there was no communal violence in the area during partition and they were assured by Muslim community of protection. So much so that they were sent off by Muslims at the train station and two communities parted bearing no ill will for each other. Here see this temple as it stands today.
View attachment 295352

You see any damage? It was maintained and recently renovated. Even visited by L.K. Advani who receives water from this pond every year (as per Hindu mythology pond was created by tears of Shiva on the death of her wife). Nobody from India cared about. Nobody in Pakistan attacked or damaged it. For decades it stood there unguarded and unattended. Nobody cared from India or even Hindus in Pakistan. But since it was built some 1000 years ago, it was looked after and preserved by archaeological department of Pakistan. Occasionally it is visited by Yatris from India and they are always welcome to visit this place.

Temple in your OP holds no such value nor is visited by anyone apparently. One can not just award status of heritage based on religious sentiment alone. Unless you can share with us some details of its origins and history.
I understand whaG your saying - but if this Temple has no use - then it isnt a temple at all. KPK government would have never demolished this if worshipers visit the area.
Will your reaction would be the same if a mosque was demolished in India? God forbid something like this happens again but will your reaction?
Ask yourself within.

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star...how i wonder....
During Construction Masjids do shift from one place to another its so much common that it wont become healdines of that Magnitude....Yes it is Right Masjids in Pakistan do have followers so gov wont hesitate to allot some other piece of land
In above situation you can raise question about KPK Gov sincearity about old left worshipping place but atleast dont conclude that Judgement...we deliberately trying to demolish such places for Political gain
One thing more...I once traveled on Bike from Islamabad to Peshawar (in 2006) with my friend ..Peshawar is about 300 km away from Islamabad...i enjoyed my Journey by staying on many places on the way that include .... Kabul River, Indus river, Mountains, Pleasent atmosphere and many many ancient RELICS on the way (not much famous) but they do exist
some we visited (bcoz time was short) some we wont.....point is maybe Government in above case have no other option except to demolish it :cray:as we all know city is growing many many folds now a days
Okay okay.
Calm.down bruh

Will your reaction would be the same if a mosque was demolished in India? God forbid something like this happens again but will your reaction?
Ask yourself within.

Okay okay.
Calm.down bruh
My reaction? I would have no reaction; if the Mosque is abandoned, not used and just sits there - then please go ahead and demolish it.

Haha, I like how you said that so easily.
Itna aasaan hota toh bhai ladai Hi nahi hoti Hindustan-pakistan ke beech itne saalo se.
Angrez chale gaye dushmani Chodd gaye :')
Anyways take care :)

If building is not used and has no caretaker or funding for upkeep , make sense to demolish

If someone can sponsor the care , and designate 2-3 Crore per year for maintenance etc

Gov should use the funds to fund schools that have no chairs and water

Someone talked about Humaiyun, it reminded me old golden days when we had our emperorship. Jaidi has special attachment with ancient places like Lahore and Delhi Fort. He feels presence of souls of his forefathers there. You may ask who is Jaidi? I IS JAIDI. These heritage sites bring tears in my eyes.

Khuda puche ga angrezon se

If its not much significant and not in use by Hindus than there's no problem in making a plaza there for commercial purposes. Guys if we don't leave hand written records by computerized records and say that our ancestors used to keep hand written records than we can't grow and every country in the world destroyed ancient buildings to make downtowns/central cities so I don't see any problem in it

Humayun's Tomb In Delhi which does not have any significance for modern Indians, is being visited by Foreigners in large numbers as a UNESCO heritage site. It lies on the Most prime land in New Delhi but still it is well kept and is show cased as a important tourist spot.
:: Humayun Tomb ::

Home-Tourist Places- Humayun's Tomb
print.jpg

increase.jpg

decrease.jpg
humayun_banner.jpg

Humayun's Tomb

Nizamuddin,

Mathura Road
Metro Station:JLN Stadium
Open:Daily
Timings:Sunrise to sunset
Entry Fee:
rupee.jpg
10 (Indians),
rupee.jpg
250 (foreigners)
Photography Charges:Nil
(`25 for video filming)

Located near the crossing of Mathura road andLodhi road, this magnificent garden tomb is the first substantial example ofMughal architecturein India.

humayun_tomb.jpg

It was built in 1565 A.D. nine years after the death of Humayun, by his senior widow Bega Begam. Inside the walled enclosure the most notable features are the garden squares (chaharbagh) with pathways water channels, centrally located well proportional mausoleum topped by double dome.
There are several graves of Mughal rulers located inside the walled enclosure and from here in 1857 A.D; Lieutenant Hudson had captured the last Mughal emperorBahadur Shah II.

In what way are you saying that our history is not connected to us??? If they were invaders that does not mean they did not contribute to our society in any way. They ruled us for more than 1000 years and many many generations have lived and died in our country. They are part and parcel of diversity of India.

Our palaces, tombs, forts, mosques, gardens and many heritage sites are the legacy of mogul rulers. Just in Hyderabad where I live we may have a few hundred historic and heritage sites. Most of them are maintained by the state government and waqf boards.

Sorry to learn this news. Can UNESCO do something as they protect sites by giving them heritage status ?

In what way are you saying that our history is not connected to us??? If they were invaders that does not mean they did not contribute to our society in any way. They ruled us for more than 1000 years and many many generations have lived and died in our country. They are part and parcel of diversity of India.

Our palaces, tombs, forts, mosques, gardens and many heritage sites are the legacy of mogul rulers. Just in Hyderabad where I live we may have a few hundred historic and heritage sites. Most of them are maintained by the state government and waqf boards.
I have put forward my views in the post #11 and #23.

I not only appreciate your views but generally agree with most of them.

View attachment 295226
‘Ancient Hindu temple in Peshawar being secretly demolished’
An ancient Hindu temple in the northwestern Pakistan city of Peshawar is being secretly demolished so that a commercial plaza can come up in its place, local residents have alleged.

The temple at Karimpura in Peshawar’s old quarters is being demolished in the name of repairs, residents of the area said. The process began 10 days ago and is going on without any hindrance, they said.

“It is a pity that a criminal act of pulling down a heritage structure has been launched. The building is being knocked down clandestinely to erect a commercial plaza on the site,” an unnamed resident was quoted as saying by PTI.

“There is no action from any of the government departments which are supposed to protect such buildings,” the resident said.

Residents questioned the silence of government departments on the episode. They also deplored the inaction of authorities. There has been no action by the Evacuee Trust Property Board and Auqaf Department, which deal with non-Muslim properties, and the Archaeology Department.

Four organisations working to protect cultural heritage have urged the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa government to save the temple. The Sarhad Conservation Network, Frontier Heritage Trust, Institute of Architects Pakistan and Karwan Jirga said in a statement on Tuesday the demolition of the temple at Mohallah Wangri Garan was a reminder of how menacing and strong the market forces had become everywhere, the Dawn newspaper reported.

The organisations hoped the provincial government would stop flagrant negligence and violation by authorities instead of being reduced to a silent spectator.

The bodies recalled the Peshawar’s deputy commissioner’s announcement that there would be a blanket application of Section 144 to all heritage sites in the walled city and hoped the temple could be the first test case of conservation for the heritage committee.

Courtesy Hindustan Times
‘Ancient Hindu temple in Peshawar being secretly demolished’

Naya Pakistan in making