Altaf Hussain demands army take control of Karachi's administration

ok for a minute let's suppose we bring in Army!

THEN WHAT? what do we expect the Army to come & do?

this is a question I hope someone can answer! Army will come in & target who? and how will army judge targets to be fair or be political in nature?

Lawlessness: Karachi traders demands deployment of army, threaten strike on Nov 8

Submitted by PPI News Agency on October 19, 2012 – 10:27 am

Karachi: The business representatives of the city have decided to give strike call on November 8, 2012 in protest against the worsening law and order situation in Karachi.

Addressing a cr press conference here at Federation House the acting President Federation of Pakistan Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FPCCI), Haroon Rashid along with former President S M Muneer threatened to shut down the entire city on November 8, if the government failed taking serious action against unstoppable target killing, extortion and terrorism by various elements including some of them belonged to the ruling coalition parties.

Haroon said that the civil administration has been failed miserably to take any action against the criminals and terrorists while police and rangers have expressed their inability to control the situation as in case of arrest of the criminals the bigwigs of coalition parties get them released without any action against them. “The situation has now become so horrible that the terrorists are now quoting their cell numbers openly to the victims and making challenge that no one could take action against them”, he said adding that over 350 representatives of majority of the trade and industrial associations besides representatives of shutter-power in Karachi have now earnestly demanded in the meeting to call Pakistan Army under Constitution’s Article 245 to carry out operation against the culprits in Karachi.

He said that Pakistan Army is legally authorized under the constitution to take control of any area which is deemed necessary and restore peace. “If Army operation is carried out in Swat against terrorists why not in Karachi”, he questioned. Karachi generates 70 per cent of the country’s revenue and more important than any other part of the country as it feeds entire country and contributes towards defence budget, he said.

S M Muneer said that the business community has not only decided to take extreme action but has demanded of the Army Chief to carry out operation in Karachi to restore law and order. “We are not against the democracy but calling army to restore peace when situation gets out of control in any part of country, it’s appropriate under constitution”, Meneer said.

He called for all business factions in the country including Karachi Chamber of Commerce and Industry to get united and act on one point agenda that is restoration of law and order.

He said that industrialists were already facing power and gas crisis in the city besides law and order situation and now water crisis has emerged in Karachi as water tankers have gone to strike from today. Factories are closing down in such a situation and export target would not even touch $23billion as against target of $30 billion. He said that entire economy of the country is sinking fast and in such a scenario extreme action has become necessary now. He also announced to hold all Pakistan Businessmen Convention in Lahore to further decided line of action.

Lawlessness: Karachi traders demands deployment of army, threaten strike on Nov 8 | Pakistan Press International

@pkuser2k12

ok for a minute let's suppose we bring in Army!

THEN WHAT? what do we expect the Army to come & do?

this is a question I hope someone can answer! Army will come in & target who? and how will army judge targets to be fair or be political in nature?

Ok ... let people die ... You are not suffering but people of Karachi .................

Killing spree

By Editorial Published: August 26, 2013
Share this articlePrint this page Email

In the violent melting pot that is Karachi, law enforcers need to be more proactive. PHOTO: FILE
The killing of 12 people in various parts of Karachi on August 25 once again reflects the incompetence of our law-enforcement agencies and a total absence of the governments’ unit.
Given the violent protests in Bhakkar, the law-enforcement agencies should have made sure there were no fallouts to that conflict in Karachi. Nevertheless, the law enforcers failed to anticipate that local branches of these sectarian groups can target their rivals in the city and once again cause a bloodbath.
The killing spree began on August 24 when a Pakistan Sunni Tehreek sector in charge was kidnapped and later found dead. The next day, the Majlis-e-Wahdatul Muslimeen (MWM) and the Ahle Sunnat Wal Jamaat held separate protests to blame each other for the clashes in Bhakkar.
The MWM blamed the Punjab police for supporting banned outfits and the banned Sipah-e-Sahaba for orchestrating violence against Shias. Meanwhile, the ASWJ spokesperson, Maulana Abdul Saeed Farooqi, spoke vociferously against his rival group, accusing it of killing more than 400 of its activists. Soon after his speech, when he was returning from the protest, Farooqi was gunned down and died on his way to hospital.
In the violent melting pot that is Karachi, law enforcers need to be more proactive. They should have foreseen that the Bhakkar clashes would have consequences in other parts of the country and should have taken necessary steps to make sure things did not get out of hand. They could have, for example, not allowed the two groups to organise protests where their respective leaders made inflammatory statements.
What is interesting to note is that no other city in the country faced such severe consequences. The fact that so many diverse ethnicities, religious groups and sectarian minorities call this city home means there is an increasing number of hands trying to grasp the city’s resources. Here, it is not only individual men who head to Karachi with dreams of making it big, but it is also organised groups, such as political parties, trying to maximise their gains. In the end, violence in this city yields profits — both financial and political — for these ‘entrepreneurs’, and it is high time the government took action to make this unfeasible.
Published in The Express Tribune, August 27th, 2013.

02_20.gif

100 bato ki ek baat operation is required! ab chahy is mai kesi ka fiada ho ya na ho karachi ki Awam ka faida or Poray Pakistan ka fiada eisi mai hai...

The demand is okay but I would be vary of the person who is demanding this. Altaf Hussain, the same guy with 3576 cases against him before the NRO forgave all... is it that guy asking for military action against political parties military mafias?

I would not trust Altaf Hussains motives. He is a mass murderer and has turned Karachi into a city of daily killings.

100 bato ki ek baat operation is required! ab chahy is mai kesi ka fiada ho ya na ho karachi ki Awam ka faida or Poray Pakistan ka fiada eisi mai hai...

you and your contradictory statements in siasat.pk and defense.pk

The demand is okay but I would be vary of the person who is demanding this. Altaf Hussain, the same guy with 3576 cases against him before the NRO forgave all... is it that guy asking for military action against political parties military mafias?

I would not trust Altaf Hussains motives. He is a mass murderer and has turned Karachi into a city of daily killings.

This demand is not actually from AH ... Infact this is popular demand of people of Karachi who vote for MQM ... So its MQM's responsibility to put it before authorities ... Traders of Karachi demanded one year ago ............

you and your contradictory statements in siasat.pk and defense.pk

Its 0k year he is also Karachite & wants betterment of Karachi ... And this is his right to keep different political ideology ... But I believe this is a good guy ...........

@ice_man: Instead of moving left, right and centre, answer my previous post in a sensible manner and answer the questions that I have asked. Argue logically and not like uneducated fools.

abaay roti auratt sub say ziyada royegaa ALTAF mota kofta!

just wait & see if operation is done in Karachi! the biggest cry women on tv will be Altaf!

and please explain how situation NOW is worse compared to last 5 years? when MQM was in power? last 5 years 100s of people got killed but uss waqt khayal nahi ayaa?

Kutte ki dum terhi ki terhi hi rehti hai!! And then it does not matter how many times one may have explained the difference of being an insignificant part of power and being power itself!

MQM blames Army for political victimization in 90s ONLY BECAUSE MQM terrorists were targeted! now when the same situation will repeat in Karachi won't other parties cry?

Since you haven't lost anyone in any operation, you would have no idea what happened in the 90's! I was just a teenager back then and remember how my parents were concerned day in and day out when we had to go to college or for tuition on whether we would safely return or not! That's what happened in the 90's! Over 15 THOUSAND were executed in extra judicial murders, were they all 'terrorists'???

Can you answer 2 simple questions:

1) What actually was the terrorism in Karachi before the 90's?
2) What was the reason for the Military operation in Sindh in the 90's?

the only thing for Karachi s seal it and deweaponise it! but that ALSO MQM cries about!

MQM ****** nahi hai ke pehle Karachi walon ko nehatta kerwade aur dosron ke rehem o karam pe beth jaye!! Why not eliminate the sources of origin of these illegal weapons before any deweaponization or registration drive??? Is mei bhi tum log kia chahate ho, hum ko maloom hai.

MQM kaay drama kabhi nahi khatam houngaay! this is just political point scoring tactics & boredom of MQM because they miss the nostalgic days of Mushi era when they were in power!

When they were in power, Karachi was a restful place. There weren't so many cases of murders and tortures and bhatta khori and what not during Musharraf's days while MQM did actually have some power. Aur aaj ka haal yeh hai ke dehaat ke jahil ganwar log PPP ko vote de ke shehar walon ke sar pe bethna chahate hain woh bhi weapons ke zor pe.

dont burst in to flames now and calm down i know peoples aman committee ANP mafia and the worst of all MQM target killing and bhata khor association

you are fooling no one in time when army is engaged in east and western boarder mqm is calling them in Karachi

now that is pathetic

MQM is in to bhatta khori?? That alone tells me how aware you are of actualities. You are not only delusional, you are extremely paranoid too.