ashok321
First of all, congratulations for ‘governing’ the nation for three years now.
I would like you to know that I was one amongst the “thirty-one percent voters” who believed in your promise of ushering in Achhe Din and voted for the BJP in the Indian general election of 2014.
By the way, I still believe in those promises, and I am eagerly waiting for Rs 15 lakh which are yet to be credited to my bank account – a promise you made to each individual of the country, before the same election. Remember?
While BJP did come into power, the money didn’t.
And, that’s not the only thing that the citizens of the country are waiting for.
Promises made, but results awaited!
When the NDA was elected to power, little did we know that this political party will also be the one that promises to tread the tightrope, but would fail to keep the vows. Three years at the Centre, here’s what we got to see under your party’s “rule”.
Petrol Prices
On 26 May, 2014, when your party came into governance, the price of Indian basket of crude oil was $108.05 per barrel. After three years, as on 16 May, 2017, the same basket stands at a price of $51.12 per barrel. More than 50% decline in the prices of crude oil, but has this steep fall in the price of oil, been passed on to the end consumers? No.
While on June 25, 2014, the price of petrol in Delhi was INR 71.56, on May 16, 2017, it stood at INR 65.53. Well yes! The citizens didn’t even get 10% reduction in the prices of petrol since 2014. Kudos to the BJP government, indeed!
I hope, Modi ji that you remember this tweet, which you posted when the UPA government was at the Centre:
Back then, you seemed to be too troubled about the burden that increased petrol prices were putting on Gujarat. I wonder if, today, you are worried about the entire nation in the same way as you were worried about Gujarat in 2012. Not that you are, but just wondering!
Inflation
Despite being one of the biggest critics of inflation, you Mr. Modi, did let us down with the food inflation that we have to see under your regime. In 2015, when the prices of pulses went through the ceiling to break five-year records in some parts of the country, the citizens were at the receiving end.
For an instance, tur or arhar dal as we know it, was being sold at INR 75 per kg in February, 2014. A year later, the price of this commodity climbed sharply when it was sold at Rs 180 per kg in October, 2015.
Today as well, the very same dal is being sold in the price bracket of about Rs 85-110 per kg.
Not much impressed by your food inflation control, Sir.
Still waiting for Achhe Din.
Rupee Depreciation
Mr. Modi, there was a time when I used to be one of your fans, and, as a fan, I loved many of your tweets when the UPA was in power. One of my favourites was this one, when you compared the UPA government with the Rupee:
You tweeted this in 2013. Then the NDA government came into power and the currency levels which were 58.59 on 26 May, 2014, reached an all-time high of 68.80 levels in February, 2016.
On 18 May, 2017, the US Dollar-Indian Rupee rate stands tall at 64.371 levels.
Are you sure the NDA hasn’t taken over the UPA government’s position and entered into a competition with the Rupee, the same competition of – “who will tumble down more”?
I believe it has. Please clarify.
Unemployment
How can we forget your guarantee of growth and more jobs, Modi ji? ‘Job creation’ – another promise that you made with the citizens of the country didn’t make an appearance in reality. The labour bureau’s records reveal the truth with the employment rate being at 8-year low.
While the UPA government gave the country over 10 lakh new jobs in 2009, all that the nation could get under NDA government is a despondent performance in job creation with just 1.55 lakh jobs created in 2015 and 2.31 lakh in 2016.
And, with the recent speculations of IT giants like IBM, Wipro, Infosys, Cognizant and Tech Mahindra set to lay off thousands of employees in India, the picture of unemployment is not going to improve in the near future.
Economy
I am sure that being the Prime Minister of India, you do realise Mr. Modi that we are far from being called a progressing nation, thanks to the dwindling economy that NDA has given to us.
With just 5 percent bank credit growth in 2016-17, which is the slowest rate in the last 60 years, we are yet to see the results that you promised. And, with India’s Gross Fixed Capital Formation rate at current prices in terms of GDP, falling from 31.2 percent in 2013-14 to 26.9 percent in 2016-17, we don’t really have very high expectations left with the current government.
With over two and a half million industrial workers losing their jobs in the first two months of demonetisation that you announced on November 8, 2016, we still have no information about the black money that this drive actually helped the government in recovering.
Will you ever care to share the details of this “achievement” of yours, Mr. Modi?
Swachh Bharat Mission (SBM)
This high-voltage sanitation campaign was certainly a brilliant initiative there. But, did it really stand by its mission? Be it the national capital Delhi or Uttar Pradesh, Punjab and Bihar, there is hardly any progress made in these states when it comes to realising proper sanitation. We can still see tonnes of plastic or hazardous waste being dumped in these cities, and the situation of public toilets showed little to no improvement even after 2.5 years have passed since the launch of this mission.
Beti Bachao Beti Padhao
The Beti Bachao Beti Padhao Scheme (BBBPS) is another big step that your government started, but failed to do justice with. This cause to protect and educate the girl child is indeed commendable, but the results aren’t.
Even though the official website of the scheme shares several success stories, focusing on achievements in states like Punjab and Haryana, the Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG) state reports on Social, General and Economic Sectors (Non-Public Sector Undertakings) on BBBPS beg to differ.
As per these reports, there are many districts in Haryana and Punjab, where the sex ratio has worsened.
In December, 2015, Haryana’s Panipat had the sex ratio of 892 against the target of 902. But, the situation, instead of improving, further declined when the ratio dropped to 881 in March, 2016. And, this is just one example of the government’s Beti Bachao Beti Padhao Scheme’s “real achievements”.
Defence
To be honest, all your claims of “Desh Badal Raha Hai, Aage Badh Raha Hai” seem like plain rhetoric, Modi ji. Though, you made us believe in your aspirations of Transforming India, the reality has something else to say. The tragic truth is that the nation is transforming, but not growing. Instead, it is festering.
The country’s failure to build its defence industry is a striking example of this stagnation that it has been encircled by. Unfortunately, even today, when millions of tax payers contribute their hard-earned money in the hope of living in a better nation, the situation hasn’t changed.
I think you are aware of the fact that India tops the list of all those 155 countries which imported major weapons in 2012-16. And, it is the largest importer of major arms in 2012-16, accounting for 13 percent of the global imports.
As a matter of fact, from 2007-11 and 2012-16, the country’s imports have increased by 43 percent.
I want to know when your government will wake up from the slumber and help the country lower this dependency on imported weapons.
Dear PM, why don’t you just stop your foreign junkets, and think of building your own nation instead? It’s about time you did that!
International relations
China:
Mr. Modi, do you remember these words: “The world is divided in two camps. One camp believes in expansionist policies, while the other believes in development.”?
I hope you do, because these were the very words which miffed China and since then there has been no looking back, be it about the war of words over the north-eastern Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh, or the China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC), that have affected the bilateral relations adversely.
At a time when you are ‘planning’ to make India a ‘superpower’, disturbing relations with one of the Asian giants isn’t what will make the nation progress.
Pakistan:
Dear Modi ji, I also want to congratulate you on having a 56-inch chest. It is not that common, you know! But, I want to ask, what have you done so far in tackling the issues with Pakistan, apart from boasting about your 56-inch chest?
And, no, giving surprise visits to meet and greet the neighbouring country’s PM on his birthday doesn’t count as an achievement. Sorry!
I can clearly recall that before the 2014 polls, you said that Pakistan would never dare to attack Indian soldiers, if the BJP is in power.
Well, a reality check – in just past two weeks, Pakistan has made eight ceasefire violations in Jammu and Kashmir. If figures are to be believed then at least one incident of ceasefire violation by Pakistan eventuated daily along the LoC in Jammu and Kashmir in 2015 and 2016, making 23 security personnel sacrifice their lives, but the PM of the nation seems to be undisturbed. Aren’t you?
Do you remember the following tweets, Mr. Modi?
Of course, you don’t! Otherwise how could you just blatantly ignore those 405 violations that Pak did along the Line of Control in 2015, and 449 times in 2016? Your lack of having a clear policy or direction in dealing with Pakistan shows your failure of walking the talk Mr. Modi, as always!
Kashmir:
The ‘heaven on earth’, our very own Kashmir has been fighting hard with separatists and your BJP government formed an alliance with the PDP government, who is known for siding with separatists.
What for? Just so that you can achieve your mission of a Congress-mukt Bharat? You might as well do that, but at what cost? At the cost of innocent Kashmiris losing their lives, or at the cost of our nation’s soldiers being brutally beheaded over and over again?
I know that you want to maintain your silence on the Kashmir issue, but I fail to understand why? The situation in the Valley was never this petrifying, not even in the 1990s when armed resistance attained its zenith.
Why does the government at the Centre or in the state fail to implement any clear policy to handle the alienation in Kashmir? Why this shallowness, Mr. Modi? Aren’t you the PM of the nation? When are you going to give Kashmir the peace that is long-due?
Because, if you do, then that will be the “real achievement” of the NDA government – and, you can trust millions of Indians on this!
Naxal Attacks:
Under your bold and brave government’s rule Mr. Modi, there have been 342 incidents of Naxalite-Maoist insurgencies in states like Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal in the past three years. Around 344 civilians and 210 security forces lost their lives to these incidents.
Still, I couldn’t crack the reason of this complacency that is sneaking in the nation’s anti-Naxal policy. Can you please help?
Results actually delivered!
Aadhar:
I must convey my heartiest congratulations to the NDA government in making Aadhar, India’s largest identity scheme, a success. But, then how can I forget the uproar made by the BJP about the same Aadhar when it was in opposition?
Here’s a look at a tweet that you made Modi ji, when your government wasn’t at the Centre.
So, will you still call it a political gimmick, or should we say that your government’s achievement in making Aadhar a success is a political gimmick now?
GST:
Another “big achievement” of the NDA government was when in 2016, the GST Amendment Bill was passed with a unanimous verdict in the Rajya Sabha. But, do you really want to take the credit of the bill all alone, Mr. Modi?
Did you forget that before coming to power, it was the BJP-led Opposition which stopped the then UPA government from passing the GST Bill, claiming that it would weaken states?
I hope it is strengthening the very same states, now that your government is in power.
Politics by money and muscle power
In your quest to achieve a Congress-mukt Bharat, your government has resorted to all sorts of tactics. You brilliantly snatched Manipur and Goa from the Congress where the party had more seats, and similar manoeuvres in Arunachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand revealed how your government is really transforming India.
Complete unrest in the country
With three years in power, your government has given us more than what we asked for, Sir. Today, as we see it, there is an unrest verywhere, engulfing the nation.
The civil society has been latched, and institutions like Supreme Court, the CBI, the Election Commission of India, and many other autonomous bodies are in a state of utter chaos.
What for? To build a strong nation? Isn’t it a fallacy, Mr. Modi?
By breaking educational institutions, your government is slandering the principles on which Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, and Rabindranath Tagore built the nation. The social fabric of the nation is being destroyed, but you seem to be unaffected by this fact.
The entire nation has never seen as much communal polarisation, as your government has made us witness in the past three years. We should, in fact, applaud Congress for keeping the country united for 70 years, while all that the NDA government has done is to divide us in the name of religion. And, we have had enough!
I request you Mr. Modi, that please stop exploiting Lord Ram for politics. He is not RSS’ or BJP’s or NDA’s property. You need to stop becoming his contractor.
Hinduism is a religion which has survived for many, many centuries and will continue to do so, even when you, Sir, or your government isn’t there.
I am a devout Hindu. But, I don’t want a Hindu Rashtra. I love my Mother India with all my heart and soul, but never in my dreams would I want the country’s division again. All that I want is a safe, secure and united India for the future generations to be proud of.
Hope your government can give us that.
राष्ट्र निर्माण की एक ही पूँजी, संभव वहीं जहाँ एकता गूँजी ।
Sincerely,
Sadhavi Khosla
(Citizen of India)
Jai Hindi!
An open letter to PM
First of all, congratulations for ‘governing’ the nation for three years now.
I would like you to know that I was one amongst the “thirty-one percent voters” who believed in your promise of ushering in Achhe Din and voted for the BJP in the Indian general election of 2014.
By the way, I still believe in those promises, and I am eagerly waiting for Rs 15 lakh which are yet to be credited to my bank account – a promise you made to each individual of the country, before the same election. Remember?
While BJP did come into power, the money didn’t.
And, that’s not the only thing that the citizens of the country are waiting for.
Promises made, but results awaited!
When the NDA was elected to power, little did we know that this political party will also be the one that promises to tread the tightrope, but would fail to keep the vows. Three years at the Centre, here’s what we got to see under your party’s “rule”.
Petrol Prices
On 26 May, 2014, when your party came into governance, the price of Indian basket of crude oil was $108.05 per barrel. After three years, as on 16 May, 2017, the same basket stands at a price of $51.12 per barrel. More than 50% decline in the prices of crude oil, but has this steep fall in the price of oil, been passed on to the end consumers? No.
While on June 25, 2014, the price of petrol in Delhi was INR 71.56, on May 16, 2017, it stood at INR 65.53. Well yes! The citizens didn’t even get 10% reduction in the prices of petrol since 2014. Kudos to the BJP government, indeed!
I hope, Modi ji that you remember this tweet, which you posted when the UPA government was at the Centre:
Back then, you seemed to be too troubled about the burden that increased petrol prices were putting on Gujarat. I wonder if, today, you are worried about the entire nation in the same way as you were worried about Gujarat in 2012. Not that you are, but just wondering!
Inflation
Despite being one of the biggest critics of inflation, you Mr. Modi, did let us down with the food inflation that we have to see under your regime. In 2015, when the prices of pulses went through the ceiling to break five-year records in some parts of the country, the citizens were at the receiving end.
For an instance, tur or arhar dal as we know it, was being sold at INR 75 per kg in February, 2014. A year later, the price of this commodity climbed sharply when it was sold at Rs 180 per kg in October, 2015.
Today as well, the very same dal is being sold in the price bracket of about Rs 85-110 per kg.
Not much impressed by your food inflation control, Sir.
Still waiting for Achhe Din.
Rupee Depreciation
Mr. Modi, there was a time when I used to be one of your fans, and, as a fan, I loved many of your tweets when the UPA was in power. One of my favourites was this one, when you compared the UPA government with the Rupee:
You tweeted this in 2013. Then the NDA government came into power and the currency levels which were 58.59 on 26 May, 2014, reached an all-time high of 68.80 levels in February, 2016.
On 18 May, 2017, the US Dollar-Indian Rupee rate stands tall at 64.371 levels.
Are you sure the NDA hasn’t taken over the UPA government’s position and entered into a competition with the Rupee, the same competition of – “who will tumble down more”?
I believe it has. Please clarify.
Unemployment
How can we forget your guarantee of growth and more jobs, Modi ji? ‘Job creation’ – another promise that you made with the citizens of the country didn’t make an appearance in reality. The labour bureau’s records reveal the truth with the employment rate being at 8-year low.
While the UPA government gave the country over 10 lakh new jobs in 2009, all that the nation could get under NDA government is a despondent performance in job creation with just 1.55 lakh jobs created in 2015 and 2.31 lakh in 2016.
And, with the recent speculations of IT giants like IBM, Wipro, Infosys, Cognizant and Tech Mahindra set to lay off thousands of employees in India, the picture of unemployment is not going to improve in the near future.
Economy
I am sure that being the Prime Minister of India, you do realise Mr. Modi that we are far from being called a progressing nation, thanks to the dwindling economy that NDA has given to us.
With just 5 percent bank credit growth in 2016-17, which is the slowest rate in the last 60 years, we are yet to see the results that you promised. And, with India’s Gross Fixed Capital Formation rate at current prices in terms of GDP, falling from 31.2 percent in 2013-14 to 26.9 percent in 2016-17, we don’t really have very high expectations left with the current government.
With over two and a half million industrial workers losing their jobs in the first two months of demonetisation that you announced on November 8, 2016, we still have no information about the black money that this drive actually helped the government in recovering.
Will you ever care to share the details of this “achievement” of yours, Mr. Modi?
Swachh Bharat Mission (SBM)
This high-voltage sanitation campaign was certainly a brilliant initiative there. But, did it really stand by its mission? Be it the national capital Delhi or Uttar Pradesh, Punjab and Bihar, there is hardly any progress made in these states when it comes to realising proper sanitation. We can still see tonnes of plastic or hazardous waste being dumped in these cities, and the situation of public toilets showed little to no improvement even after 2.5 years have passed since the launch of this mission.
Beti Bachao Beti Padhao
The Beti Bachao Beti Padhao Scheme (BBBPS) is another big step that your government started, but failed to do justice with. This cause to protect and educate the girl child is indeed commendable, but the results aren’t.
Even though the official website of the scheme shares several success stories, focusing on achievements in states like Punjab and Haryana, the Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG) state reports on Social, General and Economic Sectors (Non-Public Sector Undertakings) on BBBPS beg to differ.
As per these reports, there are many districts in Haryana and Punjab, where the sex ratio has worsened.
In December, 2015, Haryana’s Panipat had the sex ratio of 892 against the target of 902. But, the situation, instead of improving, further declined when the ratio dropped to 881 in March, 2016. And, this is just one example of the government’s Beti Bachao Beti Padhao Scheme’s “real achievements”.
Defence
To be honest, all your claims of “Desh Badal Raha Hai, Aage Badh Raha Hai” seem like plain rhetoric, Modi ji. Though, you made us believe in your aspirations of Transforming India, the reality has something else to say. The tragic truth is that the nation is transforming, but not growing. Instead, it is festering.
The country’s failure to build its defence industry is a striking example of this stagnation that it has been encircled by. Unfortunately, even today, when millions of tax payers contribute their hard-earned money in the hope of living in a better nation, the situation hasn’t changed.
I think you are aware of the fact that India tops the list of all those 155 countries which imported major weapons in 2012-16. And, it is the largest importer of major arms in 2012-16, accounting for 13 percent of the global imports.
As a matter of fact, from 2007-11 and 2012-16, the country’s imports have increased by 43 percent.
I want to know when your government will wake up from the slumber and help the country lower this dependency on imported weapons.
Dear PM, why don’t you just stop your foreign junkets, and think of building your own nation instead? It’s about time you did that!
International relations
China:
Mr. Modi, do you remember these words: “The world is divided in two camps. One camp believes in expansionist policies, while the other believes in development.”?
I hope you do, because these were the very words which miffed China and since then there has been no looking back, be it about the war of words over the north-eastern Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh, or the China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC), that have affected the bilateral relations adversely.
At a time when you are ‘planning’ to make India a ‘superpower’, disturbing relations with one of the Asian giants isn’t what will make the nation progress.
Pakistan:
Dear Modi ji, I also want to congratulate you on having a 56-inch chest. It is not that common, you know! But, I want to ask, what have you done so far in tackling the issues with Pakistan, apart from boasting about your 56-inch chest?
And, no, giving surprise visits to meet and greet the neighbouring country’s PM on his birthday doesn’t count as an achievement. Sorry!
I can clearly recall that before the 2014 polls, you said that Pakistan would never dare to attack Indian soldiers, if the BJP is in power.
Well, a reality check – in just past two weeks, Pakistan has made eight ceasefire violations in Jammu and Kashmir. If figures are to be believed then at least one incident of ceasefire violation by Pakistan eventuated daily along the LoC in Jammu and Kashmir in 2015 and 2016, making 23 security personnel sacrifice their lives, but the PM of the nation seems to be undisturbed. Aren’t you?
Do you remember the following tweets, Mr. Modi?
Of course, you don’t! Otherwise how could you just blatantly ignore those 405 violations that Pak did along the Line of Control in 2015, and 449 times in 2016? Your lack of having a clear policy or direction in dealing with Pakistan shows your failure of walking the talk Mr. Modi, as always!
Kashmir:
The ‘heaven on earth’, our very own Kashmir has been fighting hard with separatists and your BJP government formed an alliance with the PDP government, who is known for siding with separatists.
What for? Just so that you can achieve your mission of a Congress-mukt Bharat? You might as well do that, but at what cost? At the cost of innocent Kashmiris losing their lives, or at the cost of our nation’s soldiers being brutally beheaded over and over again?
I know that you want to maintain your silence on the Kashmir issue, but I fail to understand why? The situation in the Valley was never this petrifying, not even in the 1990s when armed resistance attained its zenith.
Why does the government at the Centre or in the state fail to implement any clear policy to handle the alienation in Kashmir? Why this shallowness, Mr. Modi? Aren’t you the PM of the nation? When are you going to give Kashmir the peace that is long-due?
Because, if you do, then that will be the “real achievement” of the NDA government – and, you can trust millions of Indians on this!
Naxal Attacks:
Under your bold and brave government’s rule Mr. Modi, there have been 342 incidents of Naxalite-Maoist insurgencies in states like Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal in the past three years. Around 344 civilians and 210 security forces lost their lives to these incidents.
Still, I couldn’t crack the reason of this complacency that is sneaking in the nation’s anti-Naxal policy. Can you please help?
Results actually delivered!
Aadhar:
I must convey my heartiest congratulations to the NDA government in making Aadhar, India’s largest identity scheme, a success. But, then how can I forget the uproar made by the BJP about the same Aadhar when it was in opposition?
Here’s a look at a tweet that you made Modi ji, when your government wasn’t at the Centre.
So, will you still call it a political gimmick, or should we say that your government’s achievement in making Aadhar a success is a political gimmick now?
GST:
Another “big achievement” of the NDA government was when in 2016, the GST Amendment Bill was passed with a unanimous verdict in the Rajya Sabha. But, do you really want to take the credit of the bill all alone, Mr. Modi?
Did you forget that before coming to power, it was the BJP-led Opposition which stopped the then UPA government from passing the GST Bill, claiming that it would weaken states?
I hope it is strengthening the very same states, now that your government is in power.
Politics by money and muscle power
In your quest to achieve a Congress-mukt Bharat, your government has resorted to all sorts of tactics. You brilliantly snatched Manipur and Goa from the Congress where the party had more seats, and similar manoeuvres in Arunachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand revealed how your government is really transforming India.
Complete unrest in the country
With three years in power, your government has given us more than what we asked for, Sir. Today, as we see it, there is an unrest verywhere, engulfing the nation.
The civil society has been latched, and institutions like Supreme Court, the CBI, the Election Commission of India, and many other autonomous bodies are in a state of utter chaos.
What for? To build a strong nation? Isn’t it a fallacy, Mr. Modi?
By breaking educational institutions, your government is slandering the principles on which Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, and Rabindranath Tagore built the nation. The social fabric of the nation is being destroyed, but you seem to be unaffected by this fact.
The entire nation has never seen as much communal polarisation, as your government has made us witness in the past three years. We should, in fact, applaud Congress for keeping the country united for 70 years, while all that the NDA government has done is to divide us in the name of religion. And, we have had enough!
I request you Mr. Modi, that please stop exploiting Lord Ram for politics. He is not RSS’ or BJP’s or NDA’s property. You need to stop becoming his contractor.
Hinduism is a religion which has survived for many, many centuries and will continue to do so, even when you, Sir, or your government isn’t there.
I am a devout Hindu. But, I don’t want a Hindu Rashtra. I love my Mother India with all my heart and soul, but never in my dreams would I want the country’s division again. All that I want is a safe, secure and united India for the future generations to be proud of.
Hope your government can give us that.
राष्ट्र निर्माण की एक ही पूँजी, संभव वहीं जहाँ एकता गूँजी ।
Sincerely,
Sadhavi Khosla
(Citizen of India)
Jai Hindi!
An open letter to PM