Lt.Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa the new COAS - Lt.Gen Zubair Hayat new CJCSC.

Gen Ramday
Thank you sister.

Ok that's interesting, I wonder why potatoe sharif didn't pick someone who was already under his party's influence. Maybe he tried but general ramday quietly declined due pressure from the Corp commanders? :close_tema::what:

Thank you sister.

Ok that's interesting, I wonder why potatoe sharif didn't pick someone who was already under his party's influence. Maybe he tried but general ramday quietly declined due pressure from the Corp commanders? :close_tema::what:
You got it wrong, actually he picked him due to recent tension in LOC, Zubair hayat has good experience in this, and he excells in LOC related matters. We will benefit from his experience and to make sure peace on border. I think this is perfect choice.

No.... Gen Raheel sharif and army's choice was Gen Ashfaq Nadeem... Even Rauf klasra, who correctly told the name of Gen Qamar Bajwa, as COAS, in his prog few days ago, also mentioned in the same prog, tht military circles favored Gen Ashfaq Nadeem, and Rauf klasra, also said tht i want to tell Gen Raheel Sharif tht i can bet, aap likh kar rakh lein..Nawaz Sharif kabhi bhi aap ki marzi ka next chief nahi banayein ge... Even all other analysts were also saying tht Gen Raheel Sharif/army wanted Gen Ishfaq Nadeem

We will see in time. he is our commander in cheif , the sipha-e-salar, we all need to get behind him. we may have to go to war, imposed or othwrwise, with Hindu terrorist regime in India, under his leadership.

@ 20.00
he explains appointment of COAS....2014 sit in by PTI.

Special on Pakistan New ARMY Chief..

Pakistan: Lt Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa named new army chief
  • 6 hours ago
  • From the sectionAsia
_92674870_mediaitem92674869.jpg
Image copyrightAFP
Image captionCanadian-trained Gen Bajwa has commanded the elite X Corps
Pakistan has named Lt Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa as the country's new army chief.

Canadian-trained and an officer for 35 years, he will take over one of the most powerful roles in the country on Tuesday.

He will succeed the popular Gen Raheel Sharif, who is retiring after a three-year stint during which he is credited with improving security.

Gen Bajwa has commanded the elite X Corps, responsible for the area along the ceasefire line in disputed Kashmir.

Raheel Sharif: The army chief who ruled without a coup

He was chosen over the highest ranking contender, the army's Chief of General Staff, Lt Gen Zubair Hayat, who was previously responsible for the security of the country's nuclear programme.

Ground offensive
Gen Bajwa currently serves as the Inspector-General Training and Evaluation, a post Gen Sharif held before he was promoted.

Months after he was appointed, the outgoing army chief launched a ground offensive to clear the Waziristan region of militant sanctuaries, dramatically reducing attacks in the north of the country.

But Pakistan's powerful military still faces many challenges, with attacks continuing elsewhere and heightened tensions with India along the mutual de facto border in Kashmir.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-38118060

This is a good development in the country which shows a proper system working like it should.

Cyril Almeida wrote an article around this time last year arguing that Gen. Raheel Shrief would seek an extension citing different reasons. Indians if you noticed are also taken aback as they were not expecting Gen. Raheel Shrief to step down citing reasons of escalated tensions with India and their long touted that military in Pak is the top most authority.

But in the end they were both proven wrong. Stepping down of Gen Raheel Shrief shows that PM Nawaz Shrief is boss. It is very important for us to see and realize that. We have put a system in place and that system should work like a well oiled machine unhindered by domestic and foreign challenges.

Moving forward we should and will continue this trend of timely and peaceful transition of civilian and military offices. God speed.

@Musafir117 It's stupid that some are trying to portray him as controversial by stirring up anti Ahmadi bigotry, I don't agree with a lot of what @Zarvan says, but he is right, General sahab is not an Ahmadi. As for his distant relatives, so what? There are many people in Pakistan who either have distant Ahmadi relatives or friends or acquaintances who are Ahmadis.

We are Pakistanis too and live in this country, we die side by side defending this country alongside our Sunni, Shia, Christian, Sikh etc brothers. For God's sake, don't try to make the Army controversial, this is the only institution that unites this country.

On Topic: Best of luck to Lt.Gen Bajwa, may Allah ta'ala bless him and strengthen his hands against Pakistan's internal and external enemies. And for General Raheeb Sahab, may Allah Ta'ala bless him and give him an increase of everything for all the services rendered to the motherland.