‘CPEC could become another East India Company’ IF interests not protected

My bad provincial assemblies/MPAs (member provincial assemblies) select them .. Few seats are reserved for women,technocrats and minoroties...

Pakistans so called parliamentary system is more like a hybrid...
Essentially the PM is the all powerful but than again Zardari was a president and raja rental and Gillani were his puppets...

It's fuked up.. It's based on the British system but it isn't..

Yah there is no overall consistency to Pakistan democracy. It swings quite wildly between president and PM depending on which coup happened just before and how that changed things etc etc.

A few more peaceful transfers of power in a row should set things straight hopefully.

Hmm its different from India I suppose. Our upper house is elected by the individual state parliaments (MLAs) in proportion to their populations + up to 12 civilian worthies elected by the President directly.

Why doesn't Pakistan adopt a unicameral (lower house only) system if the upper house has no real function?
It's just like our Rajya Sabha, elected state representatives elect them.

What being said matters most not the ones who are saying. We need to protect our interests first. We have made blunders in past by not protecting our interests first and see where we are now. Its about the time that we pursue our interests not emotions.

Instead of blanked statement, try to be objective about the statement.

To hell with the content, it is the same lobby who has deprived us from dams.

The same lobby, who is financed by certain foreign countries / interest groups and hence project their PoV. Pakistan's interest is not something that is on their minds when they do this propaganda.

DAWN used to be very respectful paper, until it was overtaken by Sehgals / Manshas and then staffed with all those NGO sponsored "Hussain Haqqanis".

The biggest plus of CPEC is that it is NOT just services related, instead is a massive mesh of infrastructure (roads, seaport, dry ports, economic zones, industrial areas) which is there to stay no matter what happens between China and Pakistan. So all the talks about 'all eggs in one basket' and 'East India company' are not worthy of consideration that could undermine the CPEC itself

However, I totally agree with the line 'National interests must be safeguarded' in terms of being watchful while awarding contracts for building of infrastructure, leasing any lands, awarding any allied contracts for mining, drilling etc.

DAWN deliberates give importance to anti CPEC rant. You can find tons of such news in DAWN only.

jal to tum bahut rahe hogge jo pakistan me china ke tawassul se 51 billion dollars ki sarmayakaaree aa rahee hai aur ek tareekhe defaee aur iklaakhee tarkkee pe mushtamill mansooba mustaqbill me kamyaab hone jaa raha hai .. jalte raho :coffee:
:-)

CPEC in current financial form is big disaster for Pakistan.

Musharraf is war criminal, tyrant but he is a patriot (of Paksiatn) . He also concerned over CPEC.

CPEC is favoring heavily china,
1. the interest rate are high,
2. Chinese worker are working so job is stolen from Pakistan (china did same in Africa)
3. RoI (Return of investment) asked by china is high.

What Pakistan get:
1. Infratsructure at very high cost.
2. Some commentators are saying Poiliticians have got big cut in deal
What Pakistan actually gets is

• Energy crisis resolved - That we were not expecting even in 2040
  • Dams finally built which will help in water storage, prevention of floods and cheap electricity
  • Excellent road infrastructure of Motorways and Highways across Pakistan with multiple alternative routes for strategic purposes
  • Carving out the deserts of Balochistan to link with rest of the country from various routes and finally connecting and bringing it on par with rest of the country.
  • Creating millions of jobs in countless Industrial zones, road management, ports and energy projects
  • Few billion dollars of tax each year for using the same infrastructure built by the Chinese (depending on the volume of trade of course)

Just a few benefits out of many

And your comments as an Indian aren't. Don't worry, some back-benchers are just trying to extort the government for more attention and money. CPEC is a great opportunity for Pakistan.

Also, why do you as an Indian care so much? I see you on every CPEC thread. You seem to be obsessed. Kindly focus on India and let us worry about Pakistan.

I was going to give you a sarcastic reply, but it looks like Mods are giving warning on even Sarcasm :(

And now I see this loan-based format being chest-thumped by others in the region.

Anyway I will wait and see how it all materialises down the road...what works and what fails....and hope people in power learn well from both.

Do give a link to all this discussion about CPEC

CPEC could not become an other east India company but it will be definitely a big source of corruption for Pakistani politicians.

CPEC is bigger problem for cheap enemies of Pakistan.
Like they successfully stopped construction of new dams specially Kalabagh through corrupt politicians, they would go many steps further to stop CPEC projects.
Why you people fear to discuss any problems about cpec?? You should understand one thing that CPEC is more important to China than Pakistan.. It is just business.. There is no need to bent your knees before the other party.. Both party should discuss internally about the advantage s & disadvantages.. Rising of these types of doubts only helps to think & study more about these type of project s..