Pakistan to get 5,600MW electricity under CPEC

If you are working in a country with Electricity problem you need to invest in Power plants to at least fullfill your own need . My question is how much of the mention electricity will be used For mainly Chinese activities like Gwadar Port ?
I would think that only the board members from the two nations in-charge of CPEC project would know this.

Edit: nevermind it has been better answered in post #6

With hard investments comes soft control, if any day chinese or any 3rd country rules your engery, infrastructure and your agriculture, they can make you bend your back to there wishes and demands. US has done this to many countries.
Come on don't be so cynical, but anyway, I'm sure everyone here appreciates your serious concern for the safety of Pakistan. :yes4:

i agree to some extent like they want to keep a check on UAE and Arabs and even India by reaching the Arabian sea and by building a military base on Gawadar port and 40 years is a seriously long time... like i said China is Doing pure business here and Pakistan need energy everything come up with a price
Exactly. Nothing is coming free. There is a price tag with everything + interest on top. @Viny

556716_309616875851694_1981739213_n.jpg

Although it sounds very positive development for Pakistan's power crises, but the way things are shaping up, its should concern every pakistani, how an external goverment is taking up power and infra sectors in its control. This is very very dangerous, its like giving your neck in others hand.

Power, energy, health and food should be directly in nation's control.
Agreed but it is not like that. They are investing in it. Definitely they want to have a check on their investment. Don't you have any foreign investors in energy sector or any other infra structure in India?

It is in nations control. Kindly enlighten us how these sectors will be in chinese control?

Agreed but it is not like that. They are investing in it. Definitely they want to have a check on their investment. Don't you have any foreign investors in energy sector or any other infra structure in India?

Ideally investments in such sector should invite participation of multiple countries.
Secondly no 100% direct investment should be allowed, rather 51% local and 49% mnc investment should be there at max, so that not only the local economy develops, but a controlling stake is in hands of locals. Once the industry is well controled by local players, then economy should be further opened up. Exclusive resource access rights should not be given.

Ideally investments in such sector should invite participation of multiple countries.
Secondly no 100% direct investment should be allowed, rather 51% local and 49% mnc investment should be there at max, so that not only the local economy develops, but a controlling stake is in hands of locals. Once the industry is well controled by local players, then economy should be further opened up. Exclusive resource access rights should not be given.
Good points. China is not being given any exclusive ownership. They are participating as an investor. The local share will increase over time. China's sole objective is to access the Gawader port so its exports can increase.

In absence of any other competitor and partner in business, its kind of exclusive ownership.
A JV ensures that local participate and learn the in's and out of the business. Without that it would be very very tough to raise the local participating, as neither local has expertise nor the money. And on top of that they would have to compete with a very well established player which has all the required muscles. Local share cannot be increased over the time when a monopolistic market which is built by a external government, who considers it as high risk investment. Thus in those situations its necessary for investor to have high gains too, be it economical, be it political or be it regional.

It would be very naive to think China's sole objective is Gawader port of exports. In current era, one can win countries without firing a single bullet too, via economics and digital tools.

IPP. Now if that is the case, a day is not far when gold will be cheaper than electricity.

This aint working. I m telling you now. This is going to create more problems. The way the power structure is around buying electricity from IPPs, its going to be an extremely expensive electricity. I hope I m wrong.

Pakistan needs cheap electricity. Cheap electricity only comes from indigenous resources. Coal projects will be expensive to begin with but will be very cheap in a long run.

While Vietnam is planning to hit exports of $300 billion by 2020, we cant even think to cross $50 billion by then. Its such a shame for a big country like Pakistan is stuck in basic problems like law and order and power generation.

Thar & Balochistan province can be home to world largest solar energy projects, Pakistan needs Kalabagh & Bhasha dam & Pakistan needs more Nuclear power plants. Our Northern Areas can be home to world largest Wind Mill energy projects, all we need is some sincere work.

800px-HussainDawood1.JPG

Born 1943
Bantava, Gujrat, India
Nationality Pakistani
Education Northwestern University, USA,
Sheffield University, UK
Children Azmeh Dawood
Shahzada Dawood
Sabrina Dawood
Abdus Samad Dawood
Parent(s) Ahmed Dawood, Mariam Dawood
Awards Order of Merit of the Italian Republic (2009)

Hussain Dawood (Urdu: حسین داؤد‎) (born 1943) is a Pakistani industrialist, educationist and philanthropist, with origins from Bantva, Gujarat in western India. He is the Chairman of Dawood Hercules Corporation Limited. He is also the Chairman of Engro Corporation Limited, Hub Power Company Limited, Pakistan Poverty Alleviation Fund[9][10] and The Dawood Foundation.

His social activities include Chairmanship of the International Advisory Council of the Cradle to Cradle Institute in San Francisco, Karachi Education Initiative’s Karachi School for Business & Leadership. He also serves as a Member of the Government of Pakistan Education Task Force, Director of the Pakistan Business Council, Pakistan Centre for Philanthropy, Beaconhouse National University and is a Global Charter Member of The Indus Entrepreneurs (TiE).

He is the Honorary Consul of Italy in Lahore and was conferred the award “Ufficiale Ordine al Merito della Repubblica Italiana (Order of Merit of the Italian Republic)” by the Italian Government. Mr. Dawood is an MBA from the Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, USA, and a graduate in Metallurgy from Sheffield University, UK.

Hussain Dawood - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Itne dawood he inki country main Aur ye log bolte he Hamare pass Dawood Nai he ...!!!

Indeed i searched on google when your hum watan answered me .

Itne dawood he inki country main Aur ye log bolte he Hamare pass Dawood Nai he ...!!!

wo dawood Ibrahim ka bolte hain wese to behad dawood hain... 1 to mere ghar k brabar me rehta use utha lo :D

Secondly no 100% direct investment should be allowed, rather 51% local and 49% mnc investment should be there at max, so that not only the local economy develops, but a controlling stake is in hands of locals. Once the industry is well controlled by local players, then economy should be further opened up. Exclusive resource access rights should not be given.

NEW DELHI/MUMBAI (Reuters) - India's $100 billion push into solar energy over the next decade will be driven by foreign players as UN-competitive local manufacturers fall by the wayside, no longer protected by government restrictions on the sector.

The money pouring into India's solar industry is likely to be soaked up by foreign-organized projects such as one run by China's Trina Solar - not the country's own solar panel manufacturers.

India, in contrast to Chinese and German efforts to protect local producers, has scrapped most restrictions on where equipment that turns sunshine into energy is bought. Last year, it dropped an anti-dumping duty on panel import.

Maharishi Solar, It stopped producing solar panels a few years back as it could not compete with foreign manufacturers, primarily Chinese. Shrivastava said import panels are as much as 45 percent cheaper thanks to subsidies in their home countries and lower borrowing costs.

Conclusion
Chinese investments in Pakistan are bad, but same Chinese money invested in India is good. :smitten:

tum log koi sadharan dawood mango to hum zaroor deen gay tum jo dawood mangty ho wo sala kahan se layeen hum ?

Bhai , sadharan cheez main maja nai ata ........ Pyaar se mang rhe he de do na special wala dawood plz .

While Vietnam is planning to hit exports of $300 billion by 2020, we cant even think to cross $50 billion by then. Its such a shame for a big country like Pakistan is stuck in basic problems like law and order and power generation.

Pakistan will be lucky to cross even $30 billion.....