Extreme Flood in Indus tributaries - 100s Die

Indeed they have done great work and are saving many people that would have died if it was left to the govt. Its the institution that we trust the most and gives us a peace of mind seeing them. Amazing stuff.

One brave soldier lost his life during the Aid operation saving a family. Truly you are a shaheed and stand no lower than your peers who died fighting for both of you were doing your duty of saving people and their lives. I salute you and those that are doing these operations!!!

10646629_10152362937387963_140202562495531346_n.jpg

10350515_364752583674953_929171583675782533_n.jpg

10645213_365052456978299_5967545518403071893_n.jpg

10694353_715192675217223_1842120024074377377_o.jpg

Rain in Peshawar : Ye Imran Khan to hai hi Na-ehal is ne kuch kia hi nahi KPK mein

Rain in Lahore: Dekho bhai ab rain to natural disaster hai na is mein Govt ka kya kusoor

No Politics in this thread, please.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Flood Warnings

GOVERNMENT OF PAKISTAN

PAKISTAN METEOROLOGICAL DEPARTMENT

FLOOD FORECASTING DIVISION

46-JAIL ROAD LAHORE

Sr.No.:14

Dated:Saturday, September 06, 2014

SIGNIFICANT FLOOD FORECAST FOR RIVER CHENAB AT MARALA, KHANKI & QADIRABAD

River Chenab at Marala is likely to cross 9,00,000 Cusecs Exceptionally High Flood Level during 1800 PST of 06-09-2014 to 0600 PST of 07-09-2014.

River Chenab at Khanki is likely to cross 9,00,000 Cusecs Exceptionally High Flood Level during 0400 PST of 07-09-2014 to 1800 PST of 07-09-2014.

River Chenab at Qadirabad is also likely to cross 9,00,000 Cusecs Exceptionally High Flood Level during 1000 PST of 07-09-2014 to 0100 PST of 08-09-2014.

All the concerned authorities of Gujrat, Faisalabad, Narowal, Mandi Bahauddin, Gujranwala & Sialkot Districts are requested to take necessary precautionary measures to avoid any loss of life and property.

Time of issue: 14:40 PST

MUHAMMAD RIAZ

Chief Meteorologist

FFD, Lahore

042-99200139, 99205367

Distribution:

1. Chief Minister, Punjab.
  2. Federal Minister, Water & Power, Islamabad.
  3. Chairman NDMA, Islamabad.
  4. D.G. Engineers, Eng. Directorate GHQ, Rawalpindi.
  5. Chairman, Federal Flood Commission, Islamabad.
  6. Chief Secretary, Punjab
  7. Secretary, Irrigation, Punjab.
  8. Chief Engineer Irrigation Punjab.
  9. Secretary, Aviation Division, Islamabad.
  10. Secretary, Ministry of Water & Power, Islamabad.
  11. PDMA’S (D.G’S, All Provinces & AJK).
  12. All other concerned
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Apart from this above, there are rumors of extraordinary discharge from dams in Indian-held Kashmir. Some sources are claiming discharge in excess of design limits of barrages on Chenab. I hope these are just rumors.

The government should forget Dharna thing and focus solely on flood situation. Ch. Nisar ought to be fired if he does not drop his personal issues immediately, irrespective of hurt he feels at the hands of Aitzaz Ahsan.

Some selfish people have been breaking embankments in Punjab to relieve the pressure of floods on themselves and thus endangering many others in order to save financial loss to themselves. IG Punjab has ordered arrest of such people, but I do not know if police can be effective in this situation. I hope police is not still busy in Islamabad.

This is exactly why Pakistan needs to "work with India" on Chenab Valley Hydel projects in Jammu and Kashmir instead of throwing spanner in the works every single time.

I hope there is no loss of life.

@Chak Bamu is not there some communication mechanism between India and pakistan to inform about release of water...

There is, but it gives us very little time. This thing was discussed a while back too. The thing to do would be to have relevant hydro-metric data available on-line and on real-time basis. If information from the Rim stations was available, we might have more time. But even so, Himalayan rivers are abrupt, fast, and destructive. There can seldom ever be enough time in any case. We just need to do better. Time = lives saved.

Those very same people against whom the dharna is going on are accountable but still people will ignore them and say we have to save democracy or this is a natural disaster. For almost 7 years PML-N is in Punjab, is it too much to ask that please make dams, better sewage systems etc ?

This is not a political thread. Make a relevant observation, or say nothing at all. Any party can spend 100 years in power and still not be able to control floods.

Paksitan can not make a dam on Chenab. If we can do so, do tell where? If you can not do so, please clear out.

9 Lakh cusecs is very high flood level.

Does anybody know the standard water level in cusecs ?

So we can understand the gravity of the situation better.

There is, but it gives us very little time. This thing was discussed a while back too. The thing to do would be to have relevant hydro-metric data available on-line and on real-time basis. If information from the Rim stations was available, we might have more time. But even so, Himalayan rivers are abrupt, fast, and destructive. There can seldom ever be enough time in any case. We just need to do better. Time = lives saved.
may be.. that will be a good CBM..
there is always a suspicion on the country upstream that controls water... a flood in assam was blamed on china and another recent one in bihar/UP was blamed on nepal by some Indians..

9 Lakh cusecs is very high flood level.

Does anybody know the standard water level in cusecs ?

So we can understand the gravity of the situation better.

Water level does not apply to Himalayan rivers once they enter the plains.

The greatest flood in Chenab occurred in 1957 at 11 lac cusecs, which is the design limit of the installations on Chenab river. Even Indus has not crossed this level where it enters plains. In 2010 flood, maximum discharge of Indus at Chashma was 10,39K cusecs.

Interesting data of peak floods is here: Flood page

OK, everyone - can we NOT talk about politics in this thread, unless it has a direct bearing on the flood situation?

Political Rants and Posts of No Value removed.

Any more political content will cause warnings to be issued and posters to be thread banned.

Paksitan can not make a dam on Chenab. If we can do so, do tell where? If you can not do so, please clear out.

it is not the question of whether we can do it or we cannot make a dam on chenab

If the officials were sincere in solving the issues there are many countries who have working projects on how handle floods better than us, but would they learn from them? it won't solve the issue 100% but it would solve a big portion of it.

The situation is going to get worse considering there are huge floods in Kashmir.