A Shudra defeated the Mughals and the British in 18th century

ghaja

New Recruit

DSCN9933.JPG

Mahadaji Shinde was a Maratha ruler of the state of Gwalior in central India. Mahadaji was instrumental in resurrecting Maratha power in North India after the Third Battle of Panipat in 1761, and rose to become a trusted lieutenant of the Peshwa, leader of the Maratha Empire. During his reign, Gwalior became the leading state in the Maratha Empire and one of the foremost military powers in India. Between 1745 and 1761, Mahadji fought in around 50 wars, including those in Malwa, Rajputana, Bundelkhand, Brij, Doab, Rohilkhand, Delhi, Kunjpur, and in the Battle of Panipat. Among the campaigns which Mahadji assisted, the notable ones include the ones at Chandravati Ganj (1746), Fatehabad (1746), Badi Sadri (1747), Marwar (1747), and Himat Nagar (1748)
The army of Malharrao Holkar joined the Shinde army to bring all the Rajput states under Maratha control and force them to accept Maratha suzerainty, as directed by the Peshwa. Under this campaign, several city states were added to the Maratha Empire such as Medtya, Ratangarh, Lalgarh, Bikaner, Laswari, Lachhmangarh, Kumher and Deeg and the states with territory of Jaipur and Jodhpur agreed to become vassals of the Maratha Empire.
Mathura which was under Mughal rule was conquered by Mahadji in 1755 where he reconstructed various old temples and established a centre for Sanskrit learning. In January 1758, Mahadji established Gwalior as his headquarters.
When the Maratha army crossed the Narmada river in February 1770, the Jat king Nawal Singh of Bharatpur opposed them. However, in the battle on 6 April 1770 Mahadji defeated him and Maratha supremacy over the North was re-established.
In early 1771, ten years after the collapse of Maratha supremacy in North India following the Third Battle of Panipat, Mahadji recaptured Delhi, and installed Shah Alam II as the puppet ruler on the Mughal throne in January 1772.
Mahadji ruled the Punjab and Sikh sardars and other rulers of the cis-Sutlej region paid tributes to him.
In January 1779, the forces of British troops under command of Col. Egerton marched towards Pune. The Maratha army was commanded by Mahadji Shinde and Tukojirao Holkar. Mahadji slowed down the British march by firing from above a hill and sent forces under Jiwbadada Bakshi and Lakhbaji to cut off its supply lines by burning food and fodder. When they found out about this, the British halted at Talegaon near Pune. The Maratha cavalry harassed the British from all sides and applying a scorched earth policy, burnt farmland and poisoned wells. The British began to withdraw from Talegaon in the middle of the night, but the Marathas attacked, forcing them to halt at Wadgaon, where the British force was surrounded on 12 January 1779.
On 16 January, the British signed the Treaty of Wadgaon that forced the Bombay government to relinquish all territories acquired by East India Company in western India since 1773 which included Sashti (Salsette), Thane, and the entire Gujarat region. The British were also made to pay Rs. 41,000 as an indemnity to the army of Mahadji.

Maratha's policy to fight against Rajputs is one of the major blunders and their one of the major reason to lost the Battle of Panipat.

That could have been highlighted without bringing caste into the picture. I found the insertion unsettling.
well bhai why bother about those whoes remarks dont carry any weight /any value "kawwe ke kain kain karne se gaiyya nahi mara karti"

I object to these references to a pernicious social evil in principle.

becuase paksitanies want to belittle indian and there achievements agaisnt so called muslim mughals and there white masters
you can not deny the face the Muslims ruled india more than 800 Years , they defeated the Hindu rajas maharajas and local warlords and the decline of Muslim rulers was a result of influence of hindu ranis in their haram. who divert their attention from battlefield towards haram. and mehfil of shabab wa sharab.

Its a positive development that some of you Indians end up praising a "low cast" Hindus to stand up to Pakistanis' comments on forum
well with deu respect jana ji we all indians as a nation dont differnciate or discriminate in giving equal opportunities to growth and self progress if a person is able and competent enough on basis of relegeon , caste or language and thats why despite india having thousands of languages , religeons, castes is still one and all indians feel proud about being indians and have faith in owr goverment while the same cant be said about land of the pure not even remotelly..think about it

:what: NVM

you can not deny the face the Muslims ruled india more than 800 Years , they defeated the Hindu rajas maharajas and local warlords and the decline of Muslim rulers was a result of influence of hindu ranis in their haram. who divert their attention from battlefield towards haram. and mehfil of shabab wa sharab.
he he he he and your proud about the fact that your ancesstors ruled , raped and discriminated and penalised hindus while that was past and it has gone long back look at present now look at you being the so called thekedars of ummah but no umah raises there voice about the cruelty of USA and allies on your nation you are still in such a pity full state that your so called "freinds not masters" rape your "khudmukhtari&ghairat" on daily basis by drone attacks withowt your permission and kill your soldiers and abuse your govt in every possible manner on world stage as well your own country ...and your establishment dances like a rakkaassa in front of them to get wepons and monitarry aid from world bank and IMF ......he he he he he waht a dillusioned race/nation pakistan and pakistanies are