Tata Nano car catches fire in Sri Lanka

search for "nano car on fire" on youtube..........

Why stop there check Ferrari on Fire, Toyota on Fire, Honda on fire, Lamborgini on Fire etc and you will get videos.

---------- Post added at 08:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:55 AM ----------

We are not talking about a 600hp high-performance racing engines. This is a little 60hp 3-cylinder lawn mower that has a history of spontaneous combustion.

So according too you there is no problem for a million dollar car to go up in flames but you expect the cheapest car in the world to be rock solid.

^^^
Actually, yes. A heavily tuned engine like a heavily overclocked Intel 980 extreme can get fried, but I do not expect a $10 low power arm v7 phone chip to fry.

^^^
Actually, yes. A heavily tuned engine like a heavily overclocked Intel 980 extreme can get fried, but I do not expect a $10 low power arm v7 phone chip to fry.

Your reasoning defies logic.

It's called pushing the performance envelope. True racing engines don't even last 1,000 to 2,000 miles.
A combustible nano doesn't exactly push the performance extreme, does it?? Quite the opposite.

It's shocking and disgusting.. Tata will loose its Brand Image accross the globe... Hightime for TATA to make sure this cheap car should not destry so cheaply...

It's called pushing the performance envelope. True racing engines don't even last 1,000 to 2,000 miles.
A combustible nano doesn't exactly push the performance extreme, does it?? Quite the opposite.

When you said racing engines, you were referring to Ferrari/Lamborghini engines or F1 racing engines?.

If its Ferrari and its likes, then you will find many instances of instantaneous combustion of these cars and if its the latter they are not made for racing not for road..you are comparing apples with oranges.

I am not favoring Nano or advocating TATA but including SL incident there were about 6 instances of Nano catching fire.Number of deaths due to it...0, while braking problem in Toyota cost about 40 lives(including one entire family in US.Correct me if I am wrong). So give TATA and India a break, we are still infants when it comes to car manufacturing.

arey koi nahi yaar hota rehta hai ! Dont worry even i own a nano and it works well . @ lankans.... **** happens !!!

It's shocking and disgusting.. Tata will loose its Brand Image accross the globe... Hightime for TATA to make sure this cheap car should not destry so cheaply...
Yes. the best thing TATA can do now is a TOTAL RECALL of Nano's to fix the issue(s). I can't believe that a company the calibre of TATA cannot execute a small car Project sanely.
icon9.png
I am sure, TATA knows the issues which makes the Car "Spontaneous Combustion" Enabled ;) .
From, What I've heard, The Electricals and The Fibre Body are Culprits. The Battery is Placed Right Below the Drivers Seat. read in a cars BBS, Tata recalls Nanos privately to Authorized Service Stations and is giving a ECU firmware update! Now, I don't know if a ECU FW Update can resolve such an issue.:angry:

Nano Sales have dropped from 12000/month to just 1200 in August'11 .
Then, There are thousands who are satisfied with Nano. Tata and Bosch(collaboratively developed the Engine and related harnesses) have had figured out the issue perhaps long back. but, Tata is not a Honda or VW or even Hyundai to Recall and Fix the Cars on the Streets. Sad Indeed!

Tata Nano car catches fire in Sri Lanka

A budget taxi operator here has claimed that its new Tata Nano car caught fire, the first such case in Sri Lanka, although such incidents have been reported in India.

"The brand-new Tata Nano taxi engulfed in flames shortly after the driver dropped off a passenger in Colombo on Friday last week," Budget Taxi Operations Manager Suranga said.

Tata Motors, the maker of Nano-- touted as world''s cheapest car --could not be contacted for comments.

No immediate comment from the Tata agent in Colombo could be obtained.

"The driver felt very hot air coming out of the air conditioner vents. Then he saw smoke coming out of the rear (engine) compartment of the vehicle," Suranga said.

Budget Taxi, which operates a fleet 75 Nano cars, said no one was hurt but the vehicle was complete write off.

The cause of the fire has not been identified, a Budget Taxi spokesperson said.

More than five cases of Tata Nano catching fire were reported in India after its introduction last year.

The company in May 2010 had said that a probe into fire incidents by an expert team found no manufacturing defects and its ''people's car'' was "absolutely safe".

At the same time, the company had offered to conduct pre-emptive checks on all Nanos on the road.

tatanano.jpg

tata-nano-on-fire-shivranjani-crossroads-ahmedabad-2-march-2011.jpg

Tata Nano catches fire in Sri Lanka - *

You post good threads.The only problem is you think that rest of the people are as dumb as you.
The image that you have posted in OP is not the one that caught fire in Colombo today.It is a different picture which you thought you can use here in order to make your post look more realistic.
Just look at the URL of that picture...

Index of /wp-content/uploads/2011/03tata-nano-on-fire-shivranjani-crossroads-ahmedabad-2-march-2011.jpg

The very URL says that it is a picture of a Nano catching fire in Ahmedabad,2 March 2011.Reverse searching that image through Tineye will lead to entirely different sources.

What an idiot!!

You post good threads.The only problem is you think that rest of the people are as dumb as you.
The image that you have posted in OP is not the one that caught fire in Colombo today.It is a different picture which you thought you can use here in order to make your post look more realistic.

Index of /wp-content/uploads/2011/03tata-nano-on-fire-shivranjani-crossroads-ahmedabad-2-march-2011.jpg

The very URL says that it is a picture of a Nano catching fire in Ahmedabad,2 March 2011.Reverse searching that image through Tineye will lead to entirely different sources.

What an idiot!!

Original pics are there, I've posted them.

What an idiot!!

You are an idiot, anyone can understand that pictures are not connected to sri lankan nano car incident. I posted them just to a example. You are a mad man.

Don't buy NANo, buy Ferraro or some other car which don't catches fire. Simple.