POF is working on a new assault rifle, to replace the reliable and long-serving G-3 - Chairman POF

And what about the trials? @balixd yaar kia chakkar hai?
Honestly speaking, no idea yar.....i had the updated info as long as weapons were at kharian, since they cmoved them to PoF, there is only one update about six vendor coming........but i dont have solid contact with pof......i tried to check with one guy from fb but he refused to give any info.......so this will be like shooting the dark......

That is a question which I also want to ask that why HK-417 was not invited for tests

We are not going for indeginous rifle project . Head of POF was referring to Gun trials going on not some indegenious work
Why not you ask concerned person for some sense they might get after your saying

Suggestions should be welcomed always and concerned authorities if don't think we are right we need solid rejection why it's rejected or not invited

In USA they do anything new they bring scientists soldiers sensible guys who ask questions of every aspect of that thing when passed all tests in field and questions they induct it

Why not you ask concerned person for some sense they might get after your saying

Suggestions should be welcomed always and concerned authorities if don't think we are right we need solid rejection why it's rejected or not invited

In USA they do anything new they bring scientists soldiers sensible guys who ask questions of every aspect of that thing when passed all tests in field and questions they induct it
It's soldiers who are testing and they would give final output after which it Gun would be selected

An Italian delegation just visited the Ministry of Defence Production, I would be surprised if Beretta wasn't brought up in the discussion. In the end, we should go for the vendor that gives us the best rifle at the best price with the best transfer of technology and commercial access (e.g. offsets, re-sale, etc) as possible.

It's soldiers who are testing and they would give final output after which it Gun would be selected
Kindly please do mention that they are testing these in test ranges and are taking these guns through various defined tests so that there are no confusions. :)

1. G-3 in the West and AK-47 in the East were brought in to replace 303s and the useless US M1. G-3 is indeed a most reliable weapon. The only issue heard from end users was the weight. Its MG version perhaps remain unmatched.
2. A rifleman can shoot on target unaided reliably up to 300 yards. That's a limitation with the human eye. Consider also that a Mongol warrior on horseback could shoot arrows at a rate that would put the bolt action rifle to shame. And the Mongol was able to shoot his arrow on target from his horse on gallop.
3. That preamble to emphasize that modern warfare requires more investment in hi-tech weapons rather than basic infantry rifle. I am sure PA commanders have weighed the pros and cons under the financial constrain Pakistan is reported to be facing.

I personally use G3 it has good range but very heavy to operate Pakistan Army need light machine gun like M4 SCAR H AK 47

Pakistan is testing FN SCAR and 4 other Guns and I think FN SCAR would win the trials

Does our military allow our soldiers and officers to modify their service weapons according to their preferences.
Moreover do they allow to camo paint their rifles like desert brown for better concealment.

ISLAMABAD: Saudia Arabia is the largest importer of Pakistani arms, and has purchased small and medium conventional weaponry worth millions of USD, the National Assembly Defence Production Committee was informed on Friday.

The committee was being briefed at Parliament House by Lt Gen Omar Mahmood Hayat, chairman Pakistan Ordinance Factories (POF).

“During the current fiscal year, POF has secured export order worth $81 million, and Saudi Arabia remains the biggest importer of arms and ammunition from Pakistan,” said Hayat.

Chairman POF also added that during the last decade, POF has introduced 72 new weaponry products without getting any financing from the government.

Hayat disclosed during the briefing that POF is working on a new assault rifle, to replace the reliable and long-serving G-3.

“Production of LSR sniper rifle has also been started at POF, with a unit cost $6500 compared to the import price of $12,500 per rifle.”

During the briefing, Hayat regretted that domestic security institutions are not placing orders with POF, and instead buy from third-party vendors.

“Only KPK police are procuring uniforms, arms and ammunition from the POF,” he said.

Despite a shortage of resources and trained manpower, POF is producing high quality weapons which are being sold to multiple countries, elaborated the POF chairman.

“POF is now focusing on exports, and a sales marketing and a display office is being established in UAE.”

The committee was also informed that Wah Brass mill is in the final stage of construction, and would be completed by next month.

Wah Brass Mill will be the largest in Asia, with a production capacity of 16 thousand tons, domestic consumption is two thousand tons. Extra capacity will be exported.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1256712/saudi-arabia-largest-importer-of-pakistani-arms

Their should be restriction on purchase of imported items by government agencies