Why it rains in Europe but not in Gulf

Shame on you man, Rain is send by Allah and you are telling all of us that is this because of that. Shameful crap you got here!!!! grow up

can you hear the newscasters and staff whistling....

Shame on you man, Rain is send by Allah and you are telling all of us that is this because of that. Shameful crap you got here!!!! grow up

cool down man! its just a light one.....don't take it serious.....I posted this in good spirit.....We all know who sends the rain and its none other Allah SWT.....pardon me if it hurted you...mod plz rename the thread

Speak for yourself, Dubai's heat gets this done

[video=metacafe;53171/weather_girl/]http://www.metacafe.com/watch/53171/weather_girl/[/video]

Sahara climate has been similar to Arabian peninsula. The climate of the Sahara has undergone enormous variation between wet and dry over the last few hundred thousand years. During the last glacial period, the Sahara was even bigger than it is today, extending south beyond its current boundaries. The end of the glacial period brought more rain to the Sahara, from about 8000 BC to 6000 BC, perhaps due to low pressure areas over the collapsing ice sheets to the north.

Once the ice sheets were gone, northern Sahara dried out, But in southern Sahara, the drying trend was soon counteracted by the monsoon, which brought rain further north than it does today. The monsoon is due to heating of air over the land during summer. The hot air rises and pulls in cool, wet air from the ocean, which causes rain. Thus, though it seems counterintuitive, the Sahara was wetter when it received more insolation in the summer. This was caused by a stronger tilt in Earth's axis of orbit than today, and perihelion occurred at the end of July.

By around 3400 BC, the monsoon retreated south to approximately where it is today, leading to the gradual desertification of the Sahara. The Sahara is now as dry as it was about 13,000 years ago. These conditions are responsible for what has been called the Sahara pump theory.

The Sahara has one of the harshest climates in the world. The prevailing north-easterly wind often causes the sand to form sand storms and dust devils. Half of the Sahara receives less than 20 mm (0.79 in) of rain per year, and the rest receives up to 10 cm (3.9 in) per year. The rainfall happens very rarely, but when it does it is usually torrential when it occurs after long dry periods, which can last for years.

The southern boundary of the Sahara, as measured by rainfall, was observed to both advance and retreat between 1980 and 1990. As a result of drought in the Sahel, the southern boundary moved south 130 kilometres (81 mi) overall during that period. Deforestation has also caused the Sahara to advance south in recent years[citation needed], as trees and bushes continue to be used as fuel source.

Recent signals indicate that the Sahara and surrounding regions are greening due to increased rainfall. Satellites show extensive regreening of the Sahel between 1982 and 2002, and in both Eastern and Western Sahara a more than 20 year long trend of increased grazing areas and flourishing trees and shrubs has been observed by climate scientist Stefan Kröpelin.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sahara

Sab Tharkiyon ko naya topic mil gaya hai..aur kuch mazhab ke rakhwale bhi aa gaye hain.. I hope this thread will go long...lolzz

hahahahaha..............some great one is said.....Jahan bhee daikho larki.....foran ban jao tharki :p

bump

found this thread after long time.... quite entertaining one

Lol came into this thread expecting some information regarding winds, and humidity etc etc, and then i see the videos, and yeah ive been on this thread for the past 5 minutes or so now ... :P