The dark chapter:1971 tragedy

Yes, these small steps as you mention are important. But you also admit that these small steps fall short of solving much greater problems, so the dire consequences may be inevitable, given that working on a softer image without the substance to back it up can go only so far and not further.
Meray bhai,
Let us be clear.Pakistani awam is very dheet.We are born with such problems.These problems are making us stronger,if you look at the positive aspect,because we learn,every time to play a game to understand a game.We are today able to critically think.
I assure you,Pakistan will not split up.However,our generation may be destroyed,following to the events of birth of stronger progeny with greater mindsets.This is our theme,and we must face it.India's enmity and even her hatred is Allah's belssing for us because hum ko chabik chahiye tarqqi k liye.If there would be no india,then we would have never imagined to become a nuclear state.(now Indians could think:I created powerpuff Pakistan :lol:)
So,we will always face threats,if able to eliminate one,then newer will be raised,b/c these threats makes us strong.Bangladesh was separated b/c it was never meant to be our part.
Regards

@Slav Defence
I do not see any point of opening this thread. 1971-debacle has been discussed like a thousand times already on this forum and elsewhere. And the reasons for it have been outlined by you in the OP:

Yahya hoped to reach a compromise with Mujib-ur-Rehman in January 1971, he had hoped to persuade him not to form the next government and not to make changes the constitution through newly formed assembly, limiting power of the central government. Mujib-ur-Rehman reached an agreement with other parties on sharing the power. On March 1, 1971, Yahya Khan, who earlier had referred to Mujib as the "future prime minister of Pakistan," dissolved his civilian cabinet and declared an indefinite postponement of the National Assembly.
This was still not the last nail in the coffin for East Pakistan.

Yahya had sent the army to ‘keep order’. Awami League was banned. Yahya claimed that Mujib was claiming to declare independence. Fears further increased. On March 26, Yahya Khan outlawed the Awami League, banned political activity, and re imposed press censorship in both wings. Because of these strictures, people in the West Wing remained uninformed about the crackdown in the east and tended to discount reports appearing in the international press as an Indian conspiracy. Yahya ordered the Pakistan Army to take control of East Pakistan.
Yahya was behaving just like today's Egyptian General Abdel Fattah el-Sisi. Banning the most popular political party in Pakistan by the military happened to be the last nail in the coffin for East Pakistan.

The measure was supported by all parties in the West Pakistan and Bhutto claimed it that ‘Pakistan had been saved’.The reality was different rather than being saved, millions of Bengali refugees were fleeing across to India and civil war was now inevitable.
Bhutto's party hasn't changed a bit since those good old propaganda days.

The basis of a society is the language it speaks and since Bengali was spoken by the majority (spoken by 56% of Pakistanis), it was an important part of the nation of Pakistan and no doubt it should have been made the national language.
And then what? West Pakistanis would still not be able to speak or use this 'alien' language anyway.... Bengali was as alien for West Pakistanis as Urdu was alien for East Pakistanis. There was no need for 'two' national languages when neither could ever be used on the national level anyway.

Choosing Urdu as the only national language sparked extensive protests and was one of the things that lead to the feelings of hostility with the nation of Pakistan.
The real hostility was socio-political and economic. Bengali language movement was only a part of the greater struggle.

Economic disparity grew as the nation grew older. West Pakistan was taking advantage of all the development funds and the Budget was tilted in favor of the West Pakistan.
And since the loss of East Pakistan, this new exploitive role has been taken over by Punjab. And then we wonder why Karachites, Balochis etc want to separate from Pakistan, blaming on Indian conspiracy.

The Bengalis believed that the earning from their trade in Jute was also mostly spent in West Pakistan which was true in most senses. This became visible by time as Bengalis got poorer by time and West Pakistan took advantage of all the development.
Sheikh Mujeeb once said about newly developed capital of Pakistan, Islamabad: "Mujhe Iss Shehar Say Patson (Jute) Ki Khushboo Aai."

Indians are our enemies, they are always finding weaknesses to exploit us, while showing a peaceful exterior at all times. They are a country with a devious, anti Pakistani government and military and they will try in all instances to break up in any way possible. Even the issues of East Pakistan were given fire by India, and now we see India trying the same in Baluchistan.
This is just loads of BS. Breaking up Pakistan would mean our nukes getting less secure as they might as well end up in the hands of anti-Indian terrorist groups. Why would India wish to destabilize Pakistan, a nuclear armed state, and then commit a national suicide?

Hard to believe sir, as much as i want and love peace. It is a known fact that India has worked tirelessly to damage Pakistan, in anyway it can. Hard truth. 1971 being prime example , even to this date in Baluchistan, FATA. Supporting and arming militants. One can only remain optimistic that relations between Pakistan and India normalize.
Have a nice day.
Sorry. I was not clear. India and Pakistan both want to hurt the other. If Pakistan stays in a state of flux, it means peace in India. If Pakistan is stable and also if she is on the verge of collapse, on either cases it bodes ill for us.

Why would India wish to destabilize Pakistan, a nuclear armed state, and then commit a national suicide?
Personally its in my interest if Pak is strong enough to protect its existence, but weak enough to not engage India in excess.

...... just like tuberculosis helps a body builder.

Seriously. This is the same old thinking that has led down this disastrous path, gustaakhi maaf, Sir.

yes,just like ''over dominance'' of alleles of sickle-cell anemia, which provides immunity against malaria in heterozygous state.
whether you accept it or reject it,this is the bitter truth.Either change your careless attitude towards challenges or be hyper like rest.

regards

I tell you:
1)Assuring implementation of equal minority rights.
2)For God-sake,stop playing politics on ethnic and religious basis
3)Keep a very sharp eye at current mujeeb (you-know-who)
4)Larger provinces must be further divided so that rest provinces stop sensing insecurity that larger provinces are getting all share.
5)Greater budget is required for less developed provinces such as KPK etc
6)Areas such as gilgit Baltistan requires greater investment and clear identity,as they demand.
7)The situation of karachi,recalls us of insecurity of past Bangladeshis,as a consequence of which they are sticking themselves to MQM.Just yesterday @syedali73 had posted an amazing article on this.Sir,if our regime would have used their mind then AH or Zardari were never able to throw shit at army like that.The power of politician are their subject's insecurity and fear of being engulfed by unknown enemy/hidden.So,again instead of asking London to help,they must assure people of karachi that their rights are safe,to muhajirs that they are safe and they will not ended up being dhobi ka kutta,na bharat ka na Pakistan ka,sorry harsh words but it is indeed bitter truth.
8)Again,I would like you all to pay attention over less develouped provinces such as Baluchistan and areas such as gilgit,malaknand etc.They are patriots. Instaed that Mr.Shareef is wasting millions on metro bus,it is far better to initiate development projects in there.
9)Pakistan needs to to make strict policy towards India and neutral policy in case of world.
10)Media campaign,showing positive sides,beauty of Pakistan,instead of always showing warfare and terrorism,time to shed off this curse.

regards
Syedali73 is utterly wrong. The bengalis did more for the creation of Pakistan than any Punjabi or sindhi or a baloch. And Bengali nationalism was synonymous with Indian nationalism. Sarat Bose was the only prominent Hindu who wanted an independent Bengal. All the rest voted overwhelmingly to partition Bengal. The Bengali nationalism that you point out here was a factor only from the 60s and that too only in Bangladesh. West Bengal does not have any exclusive nationalism.
interesting

yes,just like ''over dominance'' sickle-cell anemia, which provides immunity against malaria in heterozygous state.
whether you accept it or reject it,this is the bitter truth.Either change your careless attitude towards challenges or be hyper like rest.

regards

The truth of the matter is that problems sap a nation's strength, and failing to formulate effective responses that resolve those problems only leads to bigger issues that are even harder to resolve.

The article goes to the heart of the matter: how to forge national unity. We were not able to do that in 1971, and we have not been able to do that in the four decades since. What about national identity? Again, as you have shown, Pakistan has not been able to rise above its manufactured anti-India identity in any of its parameters. Our foreign, defense and economic policies are held hostage to this bedrock notion that continues to hold back the country. Not only that, we have failed to provide ourselves the economic dividend that having a nuclear umbrella had the potential to generate.

Now couple that basic failure with all the issues common to many other developing nations: lack of social development, rising economic pressures, scarcity of natural resources, rampant corruption, and one can see that what I describe is the bitter truth, not the sanitized version that you are trying to propagate.

The dark chapter:1971 tragedy

bangladesh.jpg

Wajsal

This is one of a group of photos that have become famous depicting Razakars being bayoneted to death on 16 -17 Dec 1971. Kader Siddiqui whose men were supposed to have been involved, says these bayoneted people are Razakars handed over to his outfit by Bihari women. They would rape Bihari women. Siddiqui therefore ordered these gruesome elimination.

What else he would have said? that men under his command were cold blooded murderers?

Didn't KS kill some of these men himself?

Why is there no mention of the systematic killing of Bengali intellectuals by the supporters of the unified Pakistani state? Is that not a cause too? And what happened to Operation Searchlight? If you really want to do a piece of writing, why not state that too?

The killings of social led Bangali intellectuals happened after Pak had lost the war... And interviews of the survivors specifically claim the men who abudicted them were Bangalis !

The truth of the matter is that problems sap a nation's strength, and failing to formulate effective responses that resolve those problems only leads to bigger issues that are even harder to resolve.

The article goes to the heart of the matter: how to forge national unity. We were not able to do that in 1971, and we have not been able to do that in the four decades since. What about national identity? Again, as you have shown, Pakistan has not been able to rise above its manufactured anti-India identity in any of its parameters. Our foreign, defense and economic policies are held hostage to this bedrock notion that continues to hold back the country. Not only that, we have failed to provide ourselves the economic dividend that having a nuclear umbrella had the potential to generate.

Now couple that basic failure with all the issues common to many other developing nations: lack of social development, rising economic pressures, scarcity of natural resources, rampant corruption, and one can see that what I describe is the bitter truth, not the sanitized version that you are trying to propagate.
I not propagating anything,please do not manipulate. I am simply making you realize to wake up and accept that this world is not U-topia .Do not expect things to be turned out to be favourable everytime especially when your nation has damn careless attitude.
At the same time,I am trying to pull you out of this hopelessness that we have terrible end.You always deny anything positive, show negative side and then claim that we are doomed(sher aya,sher aya analogy).You have closed your one eye and seeing only single side of coin while I am trying to sort out ways in such situation. You are rejecting every positive aspect while we are seeking positiveness even though in worse darkness.
(Yeh aap ki marzi hai k glass adha bhara dekhein ya adha khali hone per matum keratin:) )
Regards

@WebMaster @TankMan @Gufi @WAJsal @Horus @Irfan Baloch @syed ali haider @syedali73 @Last Hope @Icarus @RASHID MEHMOOD @asad71 @Secur @jaibi @nihojin and others....

We represent you proudly, a collaborative team effort for Pakistan Defence

Regards

Sir direct indian involvement in war started by March when idian troops in "lungis" were fighting Pak troops inside East Pakistan.

Muktis had also started attacking Pakistani businesses,shops,west Pakistanis,the siege of continental hotel... Heck even the comilla ? Garrison was laid seige by them -- just a few meters from the garrisons gates the muktis had set up their own post.. This was happening before the launch of operation search light!

The killings at Jessore,Premium mill,New bihari colony,the attacks and Seige of Ghazipore ordinance factory(and killings of west pakistanis),cresent mill massacre etx etx ... Apart from the massacre of Weat Pakistani soldiers,officers and their families at East Pakistan Rifles HQ,Garrisons etc ... This was happening !

Sir direct indian involvement in war started by March when idian troops in "lungis" were fighting Pak troops inside East Pakistan.

Muktis had also started attacking Pakistani businesses,shops,west Pakistanis,the siege of continental hotel... Heck even the comilla ? Garrison was laid seige by them -- just a few meters from the garrisons gates the muktis had set up their own post.. This was happening before the launch of operation search light!

The killings at Jessore,Premium mill,New bihari colony,the attacks and Seige of Ghazipore ordinance factory(and killings of west pakistanis),cresent mill massacre etx etx ... Apart from the massacre of Weat Pakistani soldiers,officers and their families at East Pakistan Rifles HQ,Garrisons etc ... This was happening !
Bhai,
We have collected heaps of such articles earlier,thanks to @Last Hope's critical approach.However,since para already went long,therefore I have aborted this idea further, to add anything.
Regards