Tejas induction only by mid-2014

sudhir007

Tejas induction only by mid-2014

India’s ''pride,'' the light combat aircraft (LCA) Tejas, will only be inducted into the Indian Air Force (IAF) in mid-2014, as the aircraft, about which the IAF had expressed some dissatisfaction, is yet to get the second initial operational clearance (IOC-2).

Answering queries from the media after inaugurating a conference here, Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal N A K Browne said the IOC-2 is expected only by mid-2012 and the final operational clearance could be scheduled only two years after that.

Pointing out that there are some delays in its development, he said: “The delay is caused by the active monsoon during which not many flights could be undertaken. But there are also some technical issues that have to be resolved as we go along.”

It is noteworthy that his predecessor Air Chief Marshal P V Naik was very vocal about the shortcomings of Tejas. He had, in fact, said the aircraft had not yet reached the category its promoters claimed it was on the day it received the IOC and that it had a long way to go before his men are able to fly it.

Further, Browne said the IAF was keen on inducting two more Israeli Phalcon AWACS (airborne warning and control systems) with the same configuration with electronic suite as it has already spent a lot of money on the integration.

“The proposal has just come to us from IAI (Israel Aerospace Industries). We will examine it and forward it to the Ministry of Defence (MoD) for approval,” he said.

He also said the IAF hoped to conclude the contract for buying six more C-130J Super Hercules heavy-lift aircraft from Lockheed Martin by January. Stating that the trials have been completed for the 197 light helicopters that the armed forces want to buy, he said: “A trial report is being formulated now. Although the issue is being handled by the Army, we (IAF) would get 64 of those choppers.”

Browne on air base

Chief of Air Staff, Air Chief Marshal N A K Browne on Friday said that the re-activation of the Arunachal Pradesh airbase is aimed more at providing accessibility in the region and not at countering the Chinese, reports DHNS from Bangalore The airbase, which was closed two years ago was re-activated on Friday.

Hoping the issues to be sorted out before the time runs out. India must get this aircraft ready in time for the nation to flex its muscles and lift the Indigenous defense industry up in the air. Man I could have opted literature in my bachelors.

LOL tejas would be known as "A bird->A plane->A mirage-> which never came" nice tag line for teja ;)

We do allow a set pattern of induction of any platform like any good western air force unlike Chinese to induct first than test.

Joint failure-17 blunder islia jalti ban gaya kiyuki tumha to isa banana hi nahi pari balki J-7 ka copy kar laya aur dusro ko bachna chala hai kiyuki isma kuch bhi naya(secret) nahi hai islia to china na bhi isa nahi rakha apna pass

Post reported for being extremely immature and stupid. Too idiotic.

Tejas really take so much time......but.....after few years it will rule skies

sabr ka fal mitha hota hai.....

Dont start troll.. Tejas is way better than your JF17 Thunder blunder which are start falling down..
lol comparing tejas with JF-17 is like comparing grown up man(jf-17) with a fetus(teja).when your teja gets inducted then come here and do comparison till then go hide in your hole.

hahaha speaks a person who's country is on the verge of bankruptcy & has hoplessly produced a cheap quality JOINT FAILURE or shall we say a JOINT BLUNDER 17.:rofl:

Even the chinese are ashamed to induct this.:rofl:

respect to the dead pilot.

Post reported.

@Other Pakistanis

Don't answer such immature posts just report them. Thanks

By 2015, We will be operating 230 Sukhoi 30 MKI, 68 MIG29UPG, 45 MIG 29SMT, 51 MIRAGE M2K, 2 squadron of Rafale/Typhoon, 12 Tejas NMK1, 22 Apache Block III, 100-200 LCH/ALH and 300 odd ground attacker Jaguar,MIg27

So Relax, Tejas won' make any difference.

time which tejas had taken...will give advantages to Indian air force in FUTURE

FUTURE OF TEJAS IS BRIGHT......

AND ABOUT JF-17....IT IS CRASHING...BCOZ OF TECH............

hahaha speaks a person who's country is on the verge of bankruptcy & has hoplessly produced a cheap quality JOINT FAILURE or shall we say a JOINT BLUNDER 17.:rofl:

Even the chinese are ashamed to induct this.:rofl:

respect to the dead pilot.
accident happens only for ones who fly not the ones who sit idle in blast pen and show 100% accident proof stats.

All aircraft crash kid. Whether it is SU-30MKI or JF-17. It is too much for you guys to understand but at least make a try.

The aircraft is ready son, I dont think you have had the pleasure of reading the article. Isnt it written there that its delayed due to IAF's changing demands or dissatisfaction, ? Now do you really mean to say IAF would be happy with anything and everything, that it took almost 6 years to evaluate worlds best fighter jets in MMRCA. So the developments must happen until the IAF is confident of making it compliment the future additions Like PAK-FA , MMRCA etc etc.

Aircraft is fine son, the policy is a blunder. In a nation either the defense forces must give a complete idea so that the new to experience defense industries have a complete idea of what to make and plan it according till the last, or the defense industry must be well experienced and flourishing as to meet any growing demands of the customer. Here in India unfortunately the buyer and the seller are in the same level.. So the only thing which stands out is the so called "Technical Issues".

Trust me, everything is termed Technical until one fine day they crack it.

Please stay on the topic, that is LCA.

Report or ignore trolling.