Shahzeb Khan murder: Parents pardon culprits 'in the name of Allah'

Hahaha.. This happen always whenever strong landlords traps.. I witnessed a similar case in Mehran University

No need to bash islam, islam gives you choice of choosing qisaas and diyya for killer if he asks for it. Its upon you what to do with killer. In this particular case the family of shahazaib should have stayed with death sentence and should have rejected blood money.

They should have demanded damages + death sentence. The case is not about Islamic laws in my opinion it is once again a triumph for the upper super rich class that they can get away with anything.

Why should the parents have the power to do this? Why isn't murder considered a crime that society has to punish, rather than leave it to the family?

It is.

Proper charge has not been applied here.

Whither justice?: For friends, Shahzeb died today

602155-ShahzebKhan-1378752283-126-640x480.jpg

By Our CorrespondentPublished: September 10, 2013
Share this articlePrint this page Email

“Shahzeb was shot to death last year but today is the day that I feel he has actually died.”
The 20-year-old’s dejected and heartbroken friend, Umer Mukhtar, told The Express Tribune on Monday. Umer and thousands of other people were part of a wide movement seeking justice for the murder of Shahzeb Khan. The movement, which began on social media, spilled onto the streets and the city witnessed its youth taking to the streets to demand the arrest of Shahrukh Jatoi, who was convicted by the Anti-Terrorism Courts on June 7.

These young activists – who had celebrated Shahrukh’s conviction as a success of their struggles – were upset to hear that Shahzeb’s family decided to pardon the criminals. “All our efforts for our friend have ended in vain. I feel crushed,” said Umer.

The Facebook page ‘In Memory of Shahzeb Khan’ that has over 170,000 members, was created by Umer two days after the murder took place on December 25, 2012. He also organised a total of 18 protests seeking Shahrukh’s arrest. Eleven of these protests were held in Pakistan while the rest were organised in UK, US and other countries.
“If the family had to do this, we would have never organised the first protest,” said the young man. The Supreme Court had taken suo motu notice merely 36 hours after this first protest. “Everyone knew that the criminals were influential so why did Shahzeb’s family bow down to pressure at this stage.”

The friend admitted he feels embarrassed to face others. “People are accusing us of taking money,” he said, adding angrily that the case witnesses and Shahzeb’s close friends were never taken into confidence. “We risked our lives and went ahead with the case. Who would protect us from the killers once they are out?” Another disappointed friend, who took part in every demonstration, believes that no one would come out on the streets again and scream for justice.
One of Shahzeb’s neighbours in Country Club Apartments, Ali Rahman, was angry but he felt justice was done to some extent as the murderers were caught and sentenced. “They are convicted murders and no one can take that from them.”
Even some relatives are struggling with this development. Shahzeb’s paternal aunt, Anila, said it was wrong of her brother, Aurangzeb, to pardon the killers. “We wanted the killers to be hanged not let loose on the streets again.”
Politician Nabil Gabol, who is also Shahzeb’s uncle, expressed his anger on Twitter. It was a shameful act by the Shahzeb family to forgive the murderers, he said, adding that the family did it for money.

Meanwhile, Express News anchorperson Shahzeb Khanzada, who was on the forefront of the media campaigm, admitted he was utterly disgusted with the decision.

#Justice4Shahzeb trending
Meanwhile, the hashtag ‘Justice4Shahzeb’ was trending once again but, this time, people were venting their frustration and not demanding justice. A user, Javeria, said that she would never take part in any campaign while Basit Azeem pointed out that “no political or any other kind of pressure is worth forgiving a son’s death.”

According to sources privy to the matter, a deal of Rs 80 crore was finalised between Shahzeb’s family and the convicted families in Dubai. Some news channels even claimed that two politicians played an important role in finalising the deal.
For a normal life
Meanwhile, Shahzeb’s mother Ambreen explained the decision to pardon the culprits was taken to ‘normalise’ the lives of others. “We wanted Shahzeb’s friends and others who took part in the campaign to have normal lives,” she said, in Express News’ show ‘To The Point’. “Some of them don’t go to their universities while others have bodyguards for their protection.”

In this situation, Ambreen felt this was the right decision. “I am ready to face my son on the Day of Judgment.”
Published in The Express Tribune, September 10th, 2013.

Beghairat people... heard on tv tht the family took money.. 15-20 crore rs.

The blood money/diyat clause should be removed...

80 Corer to be precise!!
Disgusted by the way things unfolded. Now the family moves to Australia and lives happily ever after.

This should not have happened! Do this means that anyone with enough money and political links/pressure can go on and kill anyone as they can pay later on and get free!! :hitwall:

What more do you expect when murder cases will remain pending for several months or years? :pissed:

No need to bash islam, islam gives you choice of choosing qisaas and diyya for killer if he asks for it. Its upon you what to do with killer. In this particular case the family of shahazaib should have stayed with death sentence and should have rejected blood money.

no one bashing Islam, the option of diyat is open with free will only.. I dont see any free will, just like the ramond davis case.

Not in the name of allah in the name of money would be a better title.

MORAL OF THE STORY:
agar koi aap ki behen ko chere to usko cherne do, kiunke agar aap ne usko roka to wo aap ko GOLI mare ga phir pakra bhi nahi jaye ga agar pakra gaya to saza bhi nahi hogi aur agar khuda na khwasta saza ho gayi to Islam ke naam per choot jaye ga, jis behen ko usne chera tha phir uski Price lagaye ga aur phir Aap ki behen ko khareed lega jaisa aik tawaif ke saath sex k bad aap usko pay karte hain...
Jis behen ke liye aap GOLI khayenge wo aap ke marne k baad aap ki mout ka paisa legi aur phir aish kare gi....
So Allow all Shahrukh to do whatever they want, If you dont like to see what is happening with your sister then leave the place...
Infact you can or should ask All shahrukh to give you some money for the CHERAM CHAR...to become a Dalal.....

Pardon for Shahzeb killers triggers debate

Print
KARACHI: The pardon of a business tycoon’s son and his three accomplices on Monday in the Shahzeb murder case by the family of the deceased has triggered a debate as the legal fraternity believed that under the law the convicts could not be exonerated in this manner, but religious scholars did not find the move in clash with any clause of Shariah.

The lawyers recognised Section 309 (waiver of qisas in qatl-i-amd) of the Pakistan Penal Code, but they believed that it could not favour Shahrukh Jatoi, Siraj Talpur, Sajjad Talpur and Ghulam Murtaza Lashari because they were convicted under the Anti-terrorism Act.

“The accused were tried by an anti-terrorism court because they were charged under Section 7-A of the ATA,” said Muhammad Farooq, a Sindh High Court lawyer with expertise in criminal cases.He said the accused could have been pardoned by the aggrieved family if they were tried under the PPC, but they were convicted under the ATA for a non-compoundable offence.

Mr Farooq said the defence lawyer should have convinced the appellate court that his clients should not be tried under the ATA because it was a simple murder case. Had the appellant bench been satisfied, Section 7-A of the ATA could have been removed from the charge sheet and the accused tried by a regular court.

“Under the ATA, terrorism is not an offence against an individual or a family, but a crime against society and the state,” he said.

Khawaja Naveed Ahmed, Advocate, said the aggrieved family could only pardon the convicts if the case was tried under the PPC.

He said that in case of pardon by the deceased family, the punishment would become invalid only under the PPC, but it would stay unaffected if it was handed down under the ATA.

But Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman did not see the Shahzeb family’s pardon contrary to the teachings of Islam and Sharia. Islamic law allowed the aggrieved family to settle the dispute with the accused under three conditions.

“First, the aggrieved party can ask the state to execute the accused if he or she is found guilty. Second, they can compromise with the guilty party after receiving a certain amount of money, which is not fixed in Islam. Third, they can pardon the convicts in the name of Allah. I think they (Shahzeb’s family) went for the third option,” he said.

He, however, said that it was a responsibility of the state to ensure that there was no pressure on the aggrieved family and no unlawful means were involved.

DEAL?: Unconfirmed reports of a multi-million rupee deal between the aggrieved family and the convicts went viral on social and broadcast media.

One TV channel claimed that the Jatois had paid about Rs350 million as compensation to the family of Shahzeb. It also said that the aggrieved family had planned to settle abroad.

But Shahzeb’s mother denied these reports and said that a ‘malicious campaign’ had been launched against her family by certain elements.

“We have forgiven the killers of our son only in the name of Allah,” Ambreen Khan was quoted as saying by another TV channel. “We have not received even a penny and we all are here in Pakistan.

We can even produce our passports which have no visa stamps of any country.

hey guys, we don`t even know what conditions and circumstances are their parents in?
there must be some reason for why they succumb. otherwise no parent even can see his child being beaten let leave the murder.

but one thing is damn sure that is they have been threatened.

I don't agree ... On June 13 her mother said 'Agar Allah ne hamaray dil mai dal diya tau hum usay muaff kar saktey hain' This shows they had already decided ... And some news are there that before sentence they had agreed to take Rs. 190 million but after sentence they rejected the deal and now they agreed to take Rs. 300 million ... Remember his father is a policeman and you know very well about our policeman ... They can't refuse the offer of Rs. 30 then how could he refuses Rs. 300 million ...........

well nabil gabol who was important part of this case said, they had not been pressurized/threatened

They were just offered ...........

we all tend to forget the circumstances of the family ...and remember islam allows such compensation and an acceptance of it ... there is always a chance that the culprit may behave in future... but i have to accept that islamic scholars should decide the implications of such a case on society at large bcz the message to the masses in a nutshell is ' if u hav money u can kill someone and get away with it scot free though with some economic impairment' ... I fully endorse the family's decision to accept money ...none of us ghairatmand will be there to support or look after the family ... so its their decision and they must hav looked to the future ...

They have right to accept blood money but why did they play with emotions of whole nation just to increase price of their son's blood ... Why had they accepted blood money in the beginning of this case....??