Russia snubs India; cancels navy, army war games

India's size is what makes its overall GDP higher. Its growth prospects dont really matter since Russian technology is more effective for developing countries. Stability isn't a guarantee of anything. For example, stable India refused the Russian MiG-35 deal when it seemed like the most likely choice.

Pakistan opens up more markets through its ports and is important for Russia's security. Those two alone make it a more useful ally than a transactional on and off one.

Mig 35 seemed like the most likely choice.. ?? :rofl: Keep running mate.. keep running..

IMO, its all going good for India..it will make us self- dependent and more determined about our future goal...since 80's and 90's India changed her course alot....we r in the position to make a choice for our ambition..nt lyk others bending on knee and begging for everything even one hour lunch at moscow and washington....and this tells whole story..first time a country "India" rejects high tech machines from two giants of defence industry US and Russia..enough to say what india is now and what it will be in future......

and as far as strategic ally...we r not war monger...we want peace across globe...so ekla chalo re bhai ..after few decades world country will make all effort to have strategic relationship with india...JAI HIND

Its clear that Russia now only sees India as a destination for its military products than a strategic ally. With the support for Pakistan, watch for Russia to start support Pakistan in any future India/Pakistan conflict. I wonder if India is smart enough to make strategic allies to ensure its security.

I wonder how much of that is the actual effort of the brain.

Russia has a long way to develop.
It should get out of its Soviet era mindset, and stop thinking of arms as the only source of export.
It should open up its markets go into diverse production.
Reason it felt the pinch was, because of to much dependence on arm sales, and it responded by snubbing the military exercises.
For the true India Russia friendship to flourish, there should be more of Russian involvement in other High Tech fields, other than Nuclear and military.

BTW snubbing one another is a way of India Russia fighting/loving. They will make up soon, be friends till another round of snub.

The Indo-Russian relations have seen the ups and downs but overall they have been good.

Much of this is posturing by Russia, I think it will be managed.

We have been hearing from the Pakistanis about Russian tilt for several years now, the results on the ground are pretty thin. India has deep relations with them and they are only growing.

Russia also has a deep distrust of China due to the technology theft issues. Also the role of Pakistan in the cold war and Afghanistan (where 12000 Russian soldiers died along with millions of Afghans while the Pakistani generals made a lot of money) is not forgotten. Their interests are totally opposite in Afghanistan as well.

Most likely Pakistan is used as a leverage to pressurize India to give priority to their weapons while India uses other levers to get better deals with them.

I wonder how much of that is the actual effort of the brain.

When its so obvious, it don't take too much effort. However, if the mind is closed, the whole world of effort wouldn't produce any results.

Russia has a long way to develop.
It should get out of its Soviet era mindset, and stop thinking of arms as the only source of export.
It should open up its markets go into diverse production.
Reason it felt the pinch was, because of to much dependence on arm sales, and it responded by snubbing the military exercises.
For the true India Russia friendship to flourish, there should be more of Russian involvement in other High Tech fields, other than Nuclear and military.

Shaant Bhim shaant, neeti ko samjho. :lol:

Mig 35 seemed like the most likely choice.. ?? :rofl: Keep running mate.. keep running..

you can read all the comments where indians were droning on and on about the thrust vectoring on the MiG-35 and radar.

that's not important however. the russian officials were sure MiG-35 would win the deal. I bet they had customized it to meet India's needs.

"MOSCOW: The MiG-35 fighters offered to India by Russia under New Delhi's USD 10 billion global tender for acquisition of 126 medium multi-role je
ts has an edge over rivals including US F-16s and F-18s, a top aviation industry official here claimed."

MiG-35 has edge over rivals in Indian fighter tender: Official - Economic Times

Any way you wish to look at this, this was a giant backstab by the indians. but everyone knew it would occur ironically.

Kahe ka backstab. This is part and parcel of business. Nothing much will happen.

you can read all the comments where indians were droning on and on about the thrust vectoring on the MiG-35 and radar.

that's not important however. the russian officials were sure MiG-35 would win the deal. I bet they had customized it to meet India's needs.

"MOSCOW: The MiG-35 fighters offered to India by Russia under New Delhi's USD 10 billion global tender for acquisition of 126 medium multi-role je
ts has an edge over rivals including US F-16s and F-18s, a top aviation industry official here claimed."

MiG-35 has edge over rivals in Indian fighter tender: Official - Economic Times

Any way you wish to look at this, this was a giant backstab by the indians. but everyone knew it would occur ironically.

Bhai, MIG-35 pasand nahi aaya to nahi khareeda, Hame bhi free mein mil rahe hote to le lete. Ab dosti ke naam pe JF17 kharid le kya??

They can get India's large market anyway. Regardless of whether they are friendly or not.

For example, China and India are not friendly, but China still has a huge trade surplus with India.

Yeah and if we keep on getting the short end of the stick.....remember tariffs can be imposed.....who is going to get hurt more India or China? Who makes more money? I want you to understand most Chinese products are viewed in India as very inferior....but the reason it sells is due to purely economics, its damn cheap. We understand once our industries are destroyed, the Chinese companies will jack up the price.