Pakistan Railways near Bankruptcy

when ever some things like this comes up , i wish all of us young (20-35) Pakistanies would go up to there parents or elders and say ..way to go you dumbasses .. great job voting for that fascist bhutoo .now ENJOY !!!!!!!!!!!1

Which one, father or daughter.

kill railway once forever these railways PIA STEEL MILLS are white elephants they suck our blood ang give us in return only corruption

Same thing is happening to PIA.

When you have idiots running the country, this shouldn't be a surprise now should it?

I am not bragging, but Pakistanis can learn a thing or two from Indians about managing railways...after all we have the 4th largest railway network in the world.

How much of that network was built pre-independence by the britishers?

IMO the only successful major capacity augmentation by Indians was performed in the early 50s when bits of North East were connected to the mainland.

Even after 60 years, we haven't been able to build a railway track to Kashmir. :tdown:

Thanks to DEMOCRATIC govt.

Democracy isn't the problem, its just the Pakistanis tend to vote/appoint people based on ethnicity,religion, region, feudal alliance-things that shouldn't matter when you vote versus merit and how well they will do their job- things that should matter when you vote. Democracy can work in Pakistan if you choose the right people!

IMO the only successful major capacity augmentation by Indians was performed in the early 50s when bits of North East were connected to the mainland.

Even after 60 years, we haven't been able to build a railway track to Kashmir. :tdown:

No, We did. There is already Station till Udhampur since decade. Kashmir/ Himachal Pradesh / Uttranchal/ North-East are full of mountains, So not Easy. But extended Railway Line till Baramulla is going on and will be completed in next few years. Srinagar Railway station is already there.

Democracy isn't the problem, its just the Pakistanis tend to vote/appoint people based on ethnicity,religion, region, feudal alliance-things that shouldn't matter when you vote versus merit and how well they will do their job- things that should matter when you vote. Democracy can work in Pakistan if you choose the right people!

Democracy is useless in country like Pakistan where literacy rate is negligible, mean a person who can write his name / read newspaper is considered as literate. Aur yaar yeh humaray elections, 80 million regd. voters, 30-35% turn out means 25 - 30 million log who cast their votes, they elect Jahils. These jahils cannot have vision to run the country, they will continue to support their chacha mama taaya, by giving them chances of corruption in these kind of Giants incl. Railway, PIA, PS, etc.

You know recently the millions of Rs. loss PR just suffered bcaz of 'clean' bid process of scrap sales.

Democracy is useless in country like Pakistan where literacy rate is negligible, mean a person who can write his name / read newspaper is considered as literate. Aur yaar yeh humaray elections, 80 million regd. voters, 30-35% turn out means 25 - 30 million log who cast their votes, they elect Jahils. These jahils cannot have vision to run the country, they will continue to support their chacha mama taaya, by giving them chances of corruption in these kind of Giants incl. Railway, PIA, PS, etc.

You know recently the millions of Rs. loss PR just suffered bcaz of 'clean' bid process of scrap sales.

What you say is true!

Maybe we need someone who will be of a firm hand and clean out of Pakistan's messes- corruption, religious extremism, etc etc even if it is a dictator. We had Musharraf who was like that in some ways but I don't see anyone right now who can take on that job!

The very fact that IR is a totally self sufficient railway manufacturing most of its rolling stock and giving cheap affordable transportation to 25 million Indians daily is a fact that every Indian can be proud of. In addition in hauls 2.5 million tons of freight daily and give job to 16 lakh people making it the largest employer in the world. IR helps in saving fuel by keeping thousands of trucks and buses off the road and save national exchequer precious foreign exchange.

As far capacity augmentation goes, please don't forget the fact that laying railway tracks is a very expensive affair. I heard that it costs around 10 crore rupees to lay just one km of track , the cost will increase if there is tunnels or bridges on the way.You cannot make such an investment if it does not make economic sense.

As for Kashmir pls refer post#56 of Galaxy