Karachi will remain hostage to PPP ruling? What is in it for us? What's our future in this province/country? TV Anchor to PSP Mustafa Kamal

Before MQM's rise in mid-80s, my family supported Jamaat e Islami. Most Urdu Speakers were either supporting JI or JUP (Noorani) or even PPP. But by mid 1980s, all these parties were discredited in the eyes of the Urdu Speakers. The social and political suffocation under Zia's rule gave rise to MQM and, except for a tiny foothold of PPP, the urban Sindh voted for MQM.

BTW, Jamaat e Islami is a comparatively decent political party. Corruption free, holds internal elections, non-ethnic, and generally follows the rules of political conduct better than any other significant political party in Pakistan. But ideologically, they can be too harsh. Their student wing used to beat up co-educational activities in educational institutions of Karachi and they had other extreme measures like banning partying on Clifton beach for New Year Eve etc. They were also violent in enforcing 'Islamic' rules. Some of you might think I am too harsh on JI but in my opinion extremism and suffocation destroys a country's youth. Having said that, I think the current version of JI is not as extreme as it used to be.
MQM destroyed the Urdu speaking community by taking away the Pen from its youth and replacing it with guns. JI is just like the same extremist sauce with JI being mild , TLP being medium and TTP being Hot.

Karachites are so frustrated with PPP that tgey voted for PPP in last election. Dilemma of Pakistanis jo apni khud paish kartay hain phir complain kartay hai. There is no hope for karachi other than it being decalred Federal teritory or a seperate province. Rural Sindh is made up of worst kind of jahils and they are literally willing slaves of PPP. For that you merely need to see thar bi election where PPP candidate won at a place where people are starving and not a single health unit.

Just saw a video from a vlogger that travelled to Hydrabad. Place is filthy with litter everywhere.

Sindh Govt is doing it deliberately to turn opinion of public away from MQM/PTI. Nothing will change until interior sindh decides to have some shame and kick out PPP waderas and Pirs.

STFU man. You speak nonsense

Come back when you can talk on facts
Truth hurts but it is..what is..
Wait till u see karachi nalas..it was horrible
Sindh Govt is doing it deliberately to turn opinion of public away from MQM/PTI. Nothing will change until interior sindh decides to have some shame and kick out PPP waderas and Pirs.
Karachi/hyderabad will have 50% seats but problem is karachi votes on ethnic lines of sindhi mahjir and pushtoon causing vote bank divide
PPPP gets 15-20% sindhi seats and with interior sindh always form a govt

Unless karachi votes on their own nothing will change

MQM destroyed the Urdu speaking community by taking away the Pen from its youth and replacing it with guns. JI is just like the same extremist sauce with JI being mild , TLP being medium and TTP being Hot.

You are living in the 90s, friend. MQM faced two major operations from the Establishment of Pakistan and that destroyed the militant wing of MQM--and good for Pakistan, BTW.
MQM is now a shadow of its former self, just like PPP and PMLN are. Massively supported parties reduced to nothing, as of now at least. You might not know that MQM was forced to support PTI after the 2018 elections. From an account, the leadership of MQM was literally coerced by the security establishment of Pakistan to vote for PTI or else... According to journalist Haroon Rasheed, MQM leadership was made to sit on floor until they agreed to accept the 2018 elections results and support PTI.cAnyway, the militant wing of MQM has been long gone. And so are the militant wings of PPP, Punjabi, Pakhtoon parties in Karachi--gone.

You see: Every insurgency has a life of its own. It begins, arises, gets to its peak and then dies out. Some take a long time but in case of Karachi, they arose and died in less than 30-40 years. As I said above, the issues in Karachi are basically issues of governance.

You are living in the 90s, friend. MQM faced two major operations from the Establishment of Pakistan and that destroyed the militant wing of MQM--and good for Pakistan, BTW.
MQM is now a shadow of its former self, just like PPP and PMLN are. Massively supported parties reduced to nothing, as of now at least. You might not know that MQM was forced to support PTI after the 2018 elections. From an account, the leadership of MQM was literally coerced by the security establishment of Pakistan to vote for PTI or else... According to journalist Haroon Rasheed, MQM leadership was made to sit on floor until they agreed to accept the 2018 elections results and support PTI.cAnyway, the militant wing of MQM has been long gone. And so are the militant wings of PPP, Punjabi, Pakhtoon parties in Karachi--gone.

You see: Every insurgency has a life of its own. It begins, arises, gets to its peak and then dies out. Some take a long time but in case of Karachi, they arose and died in less than 30-40 years. As I said above, the issues in Karachi are basically issues of governance.

Incorrect.

MQM lost support not because of the pressure by security establishment but rather its own people lost faith in it.

When you attack and loot the very same people you are supposed to protect , you will lose all your support leading to open annihilations by your opponents. Mind you , muhajir folks absorbed and fought against multiple attacks and operations conducted by establishment and sindhi nationalists and despite that , they would return back with a heavy support and mandate throughout many years.

MQM lost its victim position in the eyes of muhajir people when it stopped furthering the interests of muhajir people.

Mind you , our people have lost 25k of their own in their fight against establishment and sindhi terrorists. MQM just need to convince muhajir people that it would never attack and try to loot muhajir people and would fight ruthlessly to further their interest...... If MQM can do that , they can be back in business without any help of the establishment.

Its due to 2 factors

First factor is the emergence of Punjabi in the desi scene. No disrespect, but out of all Punjabi diaspora I have met, only Sikhs can speak Punjabi fluently. I have never met a Muslim or Hindu Punjabi that could. All of the top songs and rappers are Punjabi. AP Dhillon, Sidhu Moosewala, Ezu, etc. It is quite remarkable how Punjabi has become #1. As a result, this leads people to try to self internalize, and in the process they end up chauvinist

Second factor is that some of it is reactionary due to Afghan/PTM/BLA antics. Their rhetoric is sometimes picked up and regurgitated back towards those groups.

Obviously anyone in Pakistan and all of the Pakjabi diaspora I know, they aren't ethno nationalist one bit.

Its actually crazy how ethno nats have been in their lowest point. However, with the recent setback for Imran Khan and with frustrations brewing in Sindh, troubles may happen.

Ethonats are at their lowest point?? You mean its been worse than this?

Karachites are so frustrated with PPP that tgey voted for PPP in last election. Dilemma of Pakistanis jo apni khud paish kartay hain phir complain kartay hai.

Karachiites didn't vote PPP....

If you are referring to Qadir MandoKhel win - he won due to apparently Pushtoon pocket of population.

PPP never won in Karachi except in few pockets.