IAF’S ‘OP RAHAT’: A Mammoth task well done

janon

..:: India Strategic ::. IAF: IAF’S ‘OP RAHAT’: A Mammoth task well done

img_3027i.jpg

NEW DELHI: Much has been written (and said) about the combined armed forces and civilian disaster relief and rescue operations in the wake of the worst flash floods that hit northern portions of Uttarakhand – better known as the ‘Dev Bhoomi’ (Land of the Gods) with India’s major pilgrimage destinations such as Kedarnath, Badrinath, Gangotri, Yamnotri etc, located there – which took a toll of over 10,000 dead, and a greater number missing. But, while the operations have been well chronicled there has been a gap in understanding the way these were conceptualised, planned and executed.

India Strategic covered the worst natural calamity to have hit Uttarakhand in mid-June and subsequent rescue and relief efforts as its front page story in the July Issue where it was noted that the entire air operations were led, controlled and coordinated by the Indian air Force (IAF) code-named ‘Op Rahat’(meaning Relief). The statistical figures of the rescue and relief operations were indeed awe-inspiring. Though published figures vary a bit from one another, sources told India Strategic that by the time Op Rahat was officially called off in July 1st week, the IAF alone had flown around 2,500 sorties, airlifting a total of 21,000 people – mostly stranded pilgrims and displaced locals from their destroyed homes and villages – and, air-dropping/landing about 400 tonnes of relief material and equipment; laying claim on it being the biggest peacetime rescue operation in the world by any air force using helicopters.

img_3027ii.jpg

It was the IAF’s Western Air Command – under whose jurisdiction the calamity-struck areas fell – that promptly responded to the requests of the states’ civilian authorities by creating a full-fledged ‘Task Force’ on June 16 and hand-picked Air Commodore Rajesh Isser as the Task Force Commander to plan and conduct ‘Op Rahat’. Op Rahat may have been a peacetime operation but it was planned in a war like fashion and conducted with equal efficiency and in a highly professional manner.

Sarsawa Air Force Station near Saharanpur, a predominantly rotary wing base and its relative proximity to the affected areas in Uttarakhand made it a natural choice to be selected as the hub-centre for the conduct of ‘Op Rahat’, with helicopters converging from Bhatinda and Hindon air force bases. It also became the temporary HQ for the Task Force Commander. The relief operations started almost immediately and within three days i.e. by June 19, the number of aircraft deployed for the operations had risen to 20 which included eight Mi-17 variants, 10 ALHs (Advanced Light Helicopters), one An-32 transport aircraft and one Avro HS-748. However, keeping in view the enormity of the task, the number of aircraft deployed more than doubled – peaking to 43 that included 23 Mi-17 variants (Mi-17, Mi-17 1V and Mi-17 V5), 11 HAL ALHs including helicopters of the famous Sarang display team, one Cheetah, one Mi-26 heavy-lift helicopter, two C-130J Super Hercules Special Operations aircraft plus three An-32, one HS-748 and one IL-76 transport aircraft.

img_3027iii.jpg

The aim of the task force was well defined i.e., to get the job done as soon as possible and ensure evacuation of everybody who had survived the disaster. This was aptly reflected in the Air Chief NAK Browne’s announcement on June 24, when he said, “Our helicopter rotors will not stop churning till such time we get each one of you out. Do not lose hope and hang in there.”

img_3027iv.jpg

And, to do what was required, ‘mantra’ of the Task Force Commander was innovative and daring leadership at all levels of the command chain. For example, Sarsawa though nearest established air force base from the scene of tragedy, was still pretty far and going there every time for refueling was hampering operations, cutting the number of sorties drastically. It was therefore decided to set up two FARPs (Forward Area Refueling Points) at Dharasu and Gauchar, respectively. How, it was done – by employing the Mi-26 heavy-lift helicopter to airlift a bowser each to the two FARPs and using the C-130Js to land on the two difficult ALGs and decanting fuel from their own integral tanks into the bowsers for further refueling of the helicopters – has been covered in detail in the earlier Issue. Suffice to say here that it was a glowing example of innovative thinking to boost operations.

How they had to come up with instant solutions and innovations for the rescue operations is best described in the words of Air Commodore Isser himself, “for instance, weather was a major concern. We had to be sure about weather predictions.

img_3027v.jpg

So, apart from Met department reports, we also used our aircraft C-130J on daily sorties, utilising its Electro-Optic Infrared sensors to prepare reports. This allowed us to assess accurate weather conditions in all the valleys. We had to winch down specialists where helicopters couldn’t even approach. We also saved people from such places by winching them up. For example, a Gujarati couple in a gorge would have died of dehydration in a few hours (but were rescue will time through winching). About 4,500 critical cases were rescued from Chatti and Gaurikund.”

Air Commodore Isser is presently in command of the IAF’s highest permanent air base at Leh to cover air operations in Ladakh including the Siachen Glacier. Being a helicopter pilot himself with an illustrious service record, he was the obvious choice to lead the ‘Op Rahat’

Task Force. And as he himself says, “Past experiences of being involved with Tsunami rescue operations in 2004, the Andhra Pradesh flood disaster in 2009 and the Ladakh flash floods in 2010 came in handy now.”
But, there is no substitute to daring leadership, innovative thinking and team work to successfully accomplish any task, as exemplified (see box).

Little wonder, the IAF’s ‘OP Rahat’ has won praises from all quarters including the highest echelons in the Central and concerned States’ governments with the air warriors of the Task Force including their leader deservedly earning high accolades.

India Strategic on its part salutes the IAF and the entire ‘Op Rahat’ team for a job done brilliantly, no matter what the odds.

Editor’s Note: Even though the IAF has downgraded its helicopter operations in Uttarakhand after rescuing almost 21,000 people during ‘Op Rahat’, as many as 10 helicopters, including a Mi-26, Mi-17 V5, Mi-17 IV and Dhruv Advanced Lightweight Helicopters, are still deployed to carry bulky road-building equipment and relief material in support of the civil administration.

img_3027.jpg

@Aeronaut @Jungibaaz
please remove above posts as it is unnecessary and insulting remark .

it is only meant for trolling and to derail the thread
These are two of the biggest Pakistani trollers! But I'll eat my Mexican hat if their posts are removed. After all this is a Pakistani forum and they have the license to spew crap! Looks like the Mullahs out there are having a field day with the sheeple! :cheesy:

ur asking the wrong guys.....they support these kinda people,,,Purely Biased ,,,,

Yeah a wise advice the mods take care of 1 thing is,,,WE dont go so low,,,(infractions & bans),,,so let the pigs play in the mud,,we shouldnt get dirty...:smart:

If i get invisible after this post,,,u shud know i am been banned

We should maintain decorum ! Irrespective of the fact whether moderators are biased or not , we should play by the rules .

No need to degrade ourselves to reach out these trollers just to pay them in same coin .

As far as getting banned from forum is concerned , why do you care ? Are you getting banned from heaven ....

Anyway please try to maintain decency of language and thoughts .

all offensive posts should be removed irrespective of nationality of posters !

Brother this is my Fake account. Hence I can afford ban. If you are BANNED who will make life miserable by showing our achievements for Yings, Jamaatis and Al - Fukrs across border? Kindly edit your message.

Koi nai yaar ek or account ban jayega! Inko jawab to dena banta hai.

I wish they had also given right share to the martyred Indo-Tibetan personnels ,whose choppers crashed during the rescure

Indian Army..:toast_sign:

I wish they had also given right share to the martyred Indo-Tibetan personnels ,whose choppers crashed during the rescure

Indian Army..:toast_sign:

I thought only an IAF chopper and a private one crashed?

Salute to all IAF personnel who took part in this rescue Op

You mean to say that JF 17 that does Mach 1.6 with 81KN engine of 40 nos. :omghaha:

Lakh Lanat on your army.

New York: The Pakistani army is sexually assaulting minority women and using them as sex slaves, alleges the European Organization of Pakistani Minorities (EOPM), an NGO working for the rights of minorities in Pakistan.

In a prayer-cum-demonstration held at the UN, it said the Pakistani army is taking minority women away from their families, raping them and then using them as sex slaves.

Referring to the December attacks on Christians in Lahore, the organisation alleged that attacks on minorities in Pakistan were increasing.

Using a symbolic broken chair to highlight the plight of minorities in Pakistan, more than 100 women from different faiths lit candles at the prayer to highlight the plight of minority women allegedly being raped and killed by the Pakistani army.

Expressing concern over the plight of women of Balochistan and Gilgit Baltistan, the organisers said army officials are taking them to torture camps, raping them and then using them as sex slaves.

"One such case is of that Zarina Marri who is a 23-year-old school teacher from Quetta and is being used as a sex slave by the Pakistani Army," the EOPM said in a statement.

It said international observers and the media should be allowed free access to Balochistan and Gilgit Baltistan to meet families whose women members have disappeared and yet no police cases have been registered.

The organisation demanded that the UN organise a special session on the plight of Pakistani women.

According to the EOPM, religious minorities constitute much more than five percent - as claimed in Pakistani census - of Pakistan's 160 million population.

However, the census intentionally keeps minority population low to deny them greater representation, it said.

Christians, Sikhs, Hindus and other minorities are constant targets of attacks in Pakistan, it said, citing Minority Rights Group International, a watchdog organisation, which ranked Pakistan last year as, "the world's top country for major increases in threats to minorities since 2007".

Pakistan has also been listed seventh among the 10 most dangerous countries for minorities, after Somalia, Sudan, Afghanistan, Iraq, Myanmar and Congo.

Rape during the Bangladesh Liberation War - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Your Pakistani Army can only moan while we repeat 1971. Dogs they are.

Khud nange ho ...dosron k baary main kya bolty ho
images

images

Need some more

Army captain held for sexual misbehaviour with woman passenger - Indian Express
Congo sex scandal: 4 Indian Army men indicted - Video | The Times of India
Indian Army's shame: Accusations of 'sexual misconduct' at UN posting in Congo dents army's honour | Mail Online
Sex and the armed forces - The New Indian Express

Now go and die Morally :cheesy: