Defence Budget likely to see 10 percent hke to $56 bn

Monday, January 30, 2017
By: ET

Source Link: CLICK HERE

The defence sector has been in the limelight since the NDA government came to power, and going by Street estimates, it will be one of top priority sectors in this forthcoming Budget 2017-18.

Most brokerage firms tracking the sector expect up to 10 per cent increase in allocation towards defence capex, which will be used for modernisation, procurement of technology and equipment, which would be beneficial for stocks like BEMLBSE 0.11 % and BEL.

The defence capex has been under pressure due to varied reasons, but the government has stepped up local manufacturing and modernisation efforts under the ‘Make in India’ campaign. The hope is that capex will gather pace from 2017.

“Jane’s Defense Budget Report by IHS Markit forecasts India to re-emerge as a key growth market for defence suppliers over the next three years,” Angel Broking said in a report.

“The capital outlay towards core defence services, which currently stands at Rs 78,586 crore, could increase 10 per cent in the forthcoming Budget. However, the challenge for the defence ministry is not Budget allocation, but execution,” it said.

The standing committee’s examination of past defence budgets revealed that the government’s ability to spend has come under pressure repeatedly. The defence ministry has surrendered about Rs 35,000 crore from its capital allocation for the previous four years.

India ranks fourth in the list of top 10 defence spenders in the world, according to an annual Jane's Defense Budgets Report. In the light of a rise in geopolitical tensions, there is a possibility of an increase in India’s defence Budget this year from $50.7 billion in 2016.

“We expect over 7 per cent increase in the defence capex, owning to the defence modernisation initiative, emerging security environment, fleet modernisation drive and large quantum of projects cleared by DAC,” brokerage India Nivesh said in a report.

“Defence capex has seen a 9-15 per cent under-utilisation during FY2013-16. We expect more favourable announcements for the MSME sector to encourage participation and widen the defence eco-system in the country,” it said.

The government should incentivise forming defence clusters by making modified special incentive package scheme. The move will be positive for foreign original equipment manufacturers for setting up plants through JVs in India.

The India Defense Technology fund should be raised to Rs 10 billion from current Rs 1 billion in 2016. It will benefit SME players and encourage R&D initiatives, experts said.
http://www.defencenews.in/article/Defence-Budget-likely-to-see-10-percent-hke-to-$56-bn-250198

lol after loan... small budget according to you, still soldiers ka phaet bhara hota hey aur koshi say kaam b kartay hain na kay rotay hain kay daal pani jesi hey.. khanay ko kuch nahe milta.... senior abuse kartay hain bla bla ... :lol:

Gen Kiyani got how many medals for Aboattabad? :lol: Your Army eat so much that all the military aid from US, China are not enough , still take most of your GDP while Pakistan is in worst condition in terms of HDI in SAARC. Even Nepal is doing better than you.

56 billion dollar defense budget, this is huge. Even you will pass rich country like Saudi arabia,.

Who voted the so called Anti national khangress in?

Pakistani citizens or Indian citizens?

I knew your month you were born in = April.
Now I know even the date!
Lol

You dynasty slaves should go and get some life along with ur Gappu.

https://twitter.com/i/videos/tweet/826225586309734402
You dynasty slaves should go and get some life along with ur Gappu.

moronhindus.png

Lol, I don't know from where does the author digs these figures from , from his rear ? Most likely !

India s Defence budget this time was 38 billion USD, as 10% hike means , ~42 billion USD.

Go to indiabudget.nic.in and do some fact checking before dissing others.

Including defense pensions the outlay for 2016-17 was USD 50.6 bn.

Anyway the hike of 10% means nothing since we have no idea what portion of that is earmarked for capital outlay, how much to provide for increased revenue expenditure on account of seventh pay commission, OROP, etc. In 2016-17 capital outlay actually decreased despite a 10% hike in overall budget.

45% of India's defense spending goes towards salaries and pensions v 30% in the US.

Go to indiabudget.nic.in and do some fact checking before dissing others.

Including defense pensions the outlay for 2016-17 was USD 50.6 bn.

Anyway the hike of 10% means nothing since we have no idea what portion of that is earmarked for capital outlay, how much to provide for increased revenue expenditure on account of seventh pay commission, OROP, etc. In 2016-17 capital outlay actually decreased despite a 10% hike in overall budget.

45% of India's defense spending goes towards salaries and pensions v 30% in the US.

Lol.

Go check your facts. Because mine are correct and strong.

The author of this article has zero knowledge about what he is writing or is a foreign national trying to paint wrong picture of India.

The 2015-16 Defence Budget was 2.58 Lakh Crore INR.

Convert it to USD, its just a little over 38 billion USD !

The defence budget of 2015-16 should not be seen as along with that of OROP.

OROP was something different.

Anyway the budget is tomorrow , it will tell you truth.

56 billion dollar defense budget, this is huge. Even you will pass rich country like Saudi arabia,.

False figures.

Tomorrow is the budget , you will get the correct figures.

The 2015-16 Defence Budget was 2.58 Lakh Crore INR.

I'm having a hard time deciding which is worse - your accounting skills or your analytical skills.

Defense budget = capex outlay + revenue outlay

capex outlay = amounts earmarked for procurement of new weapons systems as per committed contracts + exigencies

revenue outlay = salaries + pensions + provisioning for OROP benefits and seventh pay commission benefits.

The figure of Rs 2.58 lakh crore excludes defense pensions. If that is included the amount is Rs. 3.4 lakh crore which is about USD 50.5 bn (or 51.5 depending on the exchange rate used).

Here's a link in simple English that you might understand (indiabudget.nic - the official site would be hard).

http://indianexpress.com/article/business/budget/budget-2016-finance-minister-arun-jaitely/

The defence budget of 2015-16 should not be seen as along with that of OROP. OROP was something different.

Why not? OROP is a financial commitment and any amounts used to pay those commitments is going to have to come from somewhere. We certainly cannot call those amounts 'health budget'.

Please do not hesitate to post back if you have trouble understanding my post.

U have serious problem with history kid. Go read the books who kept his mouth and back shut while Indian Airforce pounding ur solders in Kargil. U sacrificed poor people . And we train many best sukois operating nations for many years. Our fleet strength is huge in what ever comparison u can count on . Keep saying these stuff so you won't get upset and get retard of helplessness of the reality.

One fool abpve said "Just wait for 5 years you will see" I think this kid got brainwashed by JF17 fan boys and it block420 of Chinese. But you forgetting Each and every year Indian Airforce getting Upgraded with the best technology available all around the world. We are looking at 200+ F16/18/Gripin along with 120 Tejas,more rafale ,more Su30 MKI . Our own AMCA MK2 FGFA/PakFa . Lol wait for 5 years you will be like North Korea and we will be like Russia in Airforce firepower.

Good luck with your greatest of all fighters jet invention called F16 PAF . PAF because except you no one give such important to F16 . All either have F18 ,F15 F35 as Front line fighters if they want decent security in air.u just wait for someone to throw what ever they used .

Beta G,

Let me correct you.

"Indian Airforce pounding ur solders in Kargil"

Can you give a single proof of your air force pounding our soldiers? If you want I can give you proof of your 2 fighter jets and 1 attack helicopter shot down by Pakistan.

Your own general who was part of kargil war accepted Indian defeat.

Jf-17 is far far better than that crap tejas which is still under development and your huge fleet is still not enough to defeat us. Indian air force has the worst trained pilots, they can't compete in air to air combat.

"We are looking at 200+ F16/18/Gripin along with 120 Tejas,more rafale ,more Su30 MKI . Our own AMCA MK2 FGFA/PakFa . Lol wait for 5 years you will be like North Korea and we will be like Russia in Airforce firepower."

There is big difference in looking for and having, so when you will have these fighter jets than talk to me kid.
In 5 years we will still be here and Pakistan will maintain a balance of power in South Asia and will keep on destroying your Akhand Bharat ideology, kid.

The same russian airforce power which Pakistan confronted when they were in Afghanistan?? Pakistan Air Force has a history of combat, you can see it in Soviet-Afghan Confrontation, Arab-Israel war, Yom Kippur war, 1965 war, 1971 war and Indian air force has always failed and has no success history in combat.