Pak Army to grow by 180,000; Change to offensive posture?

Indeed we shall if that is the price need to be paid for our freedom.

But we don't have to. The economy is way better now.

Never underestimate my nation! Zaroorat pari tou Pakistan 20 crore ki fauj bhi deploy kar sakta.hai.

Of course it can.

I thought we were discussing a little more than deployment. However, no doubt you know better.

Although the news is not making noise on PDF, it very much should. Pakistan Army has quietly increased the number of officers it inducts in PMA Kakul by 33%. Usually that is done when you are planning to increase your military's size.

It is a slow process of course. It will take at least 5-10 years to implement this change as it inducts an extra battalion of officers each year, currently PMA trains 3 battalions of officers. That is a significant increase in size.

Why do you guys think Pak Army is increasing it's size?

Here are possible reasons:

1. The incoming troops might be deployed in three Strike Corps with offensive objectives in any future war.
2. These troops might be for a future Expeditionary Force with foreign deployment planned. The situation in middle east is becoming worse day by day, and we might deploy these soldiers to KSA or other battlefields in the Middle East.
3. Pakistan is forming a new branch of Army. With new deadly weapons like Nasr being inducted, Pak Fauj might need a new artillery corps with a very specific purpose in mind.
4. Might need extra troops to permanently secure our Eastern border with Afghanistan, as you may already know, currently Pakistan has deployed 150,000 soldiers in KPK and FATA. With these incoming troops, we can turn our focus back to our herbivorous neighbors.
5. The new troops may be used to secure CPEC. But i feel that is highly unlikely, the number of troops deployed by FC are sufficient.

Would like everyone's input on this.

The reason for construction of 4th Pak Btn is due to severe shortage of officers army is facing. The shortage is due to high offier loss in the operations accross the country and secondly, a new force is being developed for the protection of CPEC.

Where's the money?
Your comment in each and every thread is "uhhh, where's the money?"

Listen to me carefully and get it in your mind. Your people worry about the fight, let us worry about the money.

Basically , every loss of life is sad..

but dont you guys think even before this increase , the loss of officers in war times are always in the mind of planners as we train our officers to lead from the front always...

This increase is totally inline with the increase of issues in the whole world. things can easily escalate to become WW3 and Pak army cant just keep itself separated from these incidents ... They need more officers in case army start adding general public as a work force but officers takes time to develop and get experience in the field of war ... its a very good and calculated move...

The reason for construction of 4th Pak Btn is due to severe shortage of officers army is facing. The shortage is due to high offier loss in the operations accross the country and secondly, a new force is being developed for the protection of CPEC.
No for that 10 % increase would have been more than enough. 33 % rise clearly indicates we are increasing size of our Army.

For me we need a Army with 1100000 soldiers with 800000 placed in Pakistan and 300000 placed in KSA and middle east.
Agli dafa Angreezi try karna. Desi penay kay yahe maslay hotay hay..

Why should i "as a Pakistani, not muslim" care about Ksa or middle east ?
middle finger to middle east.
and if you wan't middle east, 20k soldiers will be enough fot that. but with some modern weapons (not type 56's)..

India by land is some 4.2 times larger then Pakistan, Still they only have some 1300-1400k active army. Something like 2.5 times of our's .. whereas they deployed more then half of that number's in Kashmir Only.
They have to Secure 13,888 Kilometers of Land border mainly consist of border with china and 7000 km's of coastal line.

On other hand You have to Secure only 7225 km long border mainly consist of "less militarized Afghanistan" and 1046 km long coastal line. and you wan't 1100000 army.

We don't need large Land based army. if you wan't to increase "increase machines (fighter jet's ,helicopters, fire power ,naval ships), and R&d".. just imagine 1100000 personnel's holding type 56 in there hands. does it make sense. ?
We have to increase Quality, not Quantity. and for God sake please someone with an approach to generals tell them to stop recruiting butman. Army should be to serve Nation, Not there daughters and Wives.

The sanctioned strength of active army is 550,000 by GOP and most likely it will increase in the times we live today and also the situation in middle east which is getting worse day by day. But the total sanctioned strength and actual strength of active army is not same, its more upward then 550k.

I think the world militaries are reducing their numbers a lot then why PA is increasing it? As there are drones, Helis, APC and other security systems on ground then why we need a huge army along with paramilitary all the time?

Pakistan needs to replenish , however lack of modern combat ready force on ground is reason for high number of foot soldiers

Forces lack basic combat armor and armored vehicles of good quality , and necessary day / night tools and weapons

I think we would be needing a 5 star then.

In reality---I think that there should be at least 5 HQ's---northern area---upper Punjab---lower Punjab----Sukkur / Panu aqil---Karachi---Gwadar / Quetta split
How many hq's we have right now? Can we have one named after me Shamain Command .

Some serious thought needs to be given to the failure in the reproductive rate which has crippled the armed forces, and to the responsibility for this strategic failure.

There is no crippling thing happening here. Secodly, i doubt its due to Wot, as it is pointed out by Sipah Salar. Lets say we lost 50 officers in last one year .... they can be easily replaced by a small increase in inductions, 33pc seems quite a hi percentage.

Someone said these are foot soldiers. Ididnt know officers are also called foot soldiers.

How many hq's we have right now? Can we have one named after me Shamain Command .

There is no crippling thing happening here. Secodly, i doubt its due to Wot, as it is pointed out by Sipah Salar. Lets say we lost 50 officers in last one year .... they can be easily replaced by a small increase in inductions, 33pc seems quite a hi percentage.

Someone said these are foot soldiers. Ididnt know officers are also called foot soldiers.

:omghaha:

Overdue. Sensible as hell. And allows focus on specific stretches of borders.

Actually, one part of me hopes that this will never happen.

Sir

I fail to see what purpose this will achieve. PA is already split up in North, South and Central Command each lead by a 3 Star General. Than you have different Corps that are again lead by 3 Star Generals whom directly report into their respective Commands.

I fail to see how adding additional HQ's will further streamline PA's Operations.

Sir

I fail to see what purpose this will achieve. PA is already split up in North, South and Central Command each lead by a 3 Star General. Than you have different Corps that are again lead by 3 Star Generals whom directly report into their respective Commands.

I fail to see how adding additional HQ's will further streamline PA's Operations.

I think @MastanKhan explained his logic a few posts before. This latest post fits right into the earlier one.